We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Town” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Timbertown Wauchope

Timbertown Wauchope
Oxley Highway, Wauchope, New South Wales 2446, Australia
02 6586 1940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Wauchope
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ghost Town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited Timbertown on Tuesday last week, and to say I was disappointed was an understatement. The place was deserted, there were no one in period clothing or any horse carriers etc. The whip cracking was performed by a metal welder, who had no idea how to use it correctly, not his fault of course. So here's the biggie, if the place cannot provide and put on the staff due to cost savings due to out of seasons, then why charge the family full price entry fee, this should have been halved. I feel ripped off.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    16
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Timbertown Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent family venue, good value, restaurant reasonably priced and kids loved the steam train as well as the mini train.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My kids love it !!! Its great to show them how it was in the olden days they loved the ride on the train and enjoyed watching th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great for children to visit an step back in time great value and i believe a must see for our kids to apreciate what they have today !!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I understand that new owners have taken over so maybe it will improve. (there were 2 attractions due to open over the next 12 months) However, at the moment I wouldn't bother with it.

Utterly boring with nothing much going on at all. May be the time of year, but there was 1 guy teaching whip cracking (who also did the bullock display). 3 shops - wallace store; winery/wood craft that wasn't much to rate and a CWA granny type store of home made wares.

The restaurant announced "Authentic Ploughmans Lunch". Excited we entered, only to find a plethora of un-interesting, probably frozen food - pie, hot chips, bangers and mash and that was about it. No fresh food whatsoever. This eatery could be turned around SO easily - offer some authentic damper, fresh salads, sandwiches (imagine a ploughmans sandwich of sourdough bread, corned beef, relish and cheese, or a platter of anti-pasta).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Step back in time fun for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a fantastic day at timbertown, my husband went we he was a little boy and was so excited to take his boys and was even more thrilled to find out it was better than he remembered. The people who run timbertown seem to be locals, we had a blast talking to them and they knew everything about timbertown past and present! Great day for the whole family, food, train rides, horse and cart, whip cracking heaps more i loved it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbertown Wauchope also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Wauchope, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Timbertown Wauchope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbertown Wauchope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.