We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coolangatta Whale Watch

Coolangatta Whale Watch
Alf Rush Memorial Drive, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2846, Australia
+61-07-55994104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Tweed Heads
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gold Coast Whale Watching Tours with Coolangatta Whale Watch, June to November, 7 days, 100% guaranteed whales or receive a full refund or another ticket, 100% success in seeing whales since 2006. Big safe boat, only 46 passengers, owned and operated by Tony and Carol with over 11 years experience. 3hr Tour, morning tea, commentary and loads of fun.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent the morning with these guys and saw plenty of whales,the ipod of about 15 whales close to our boat,stay saw whales breaching and spotted our first whale just after crossing the sand bar. They have a zoologist on board who explains about whales and there behavior. Also have a photographer who for a price will email you photos of whales on your trip. All up great day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    10
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! What a fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This trip made our holiday!

We were looking for something to do for the last day of our trip to the Gold Coast from KL and our daughters unanimously agreed on a Whale charter. Right from our arrival at the wharf we could tell that we were in excellent hands as Tony and his crew made us feel very welcome and the boat was very comfortable with plenty of shelter in case of unfavourable winter weather!

After the excitement of crossing the bar out to sea, we must have only been 10 mins from shore when we spotted a huge water spout which led us to 2 humpback whales frolicking their way up the coast towards their breeding grounds. They were incredibly active and very inquisitive and seemed to be showing off for the spectators! All the while we were treated to expert commentary from Nicky the zoologist who provided a myriad of fascinating facts relating to each whale and their habits. After a couple of hours, and with inclement weather looming, we headed back towards shore and encountered 2 other groups of whales as well as spotting at least 2 other groups in the distance. The last group that we encountered were particularly spectacular, spending time "mugging" the boat and rolling and jumping and returning over and over again to pass by the boat - the 3 hours flew by and with all the activity we felt that we could have spent the whole day out there - it was superb.

The trip was very well organised and not overcrowded so everyone had a great view - the muffins were very popular with my youngest daughter too !!

Once again, many thanks to Tony, Nicky and Steve the photographer for an excellent trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This You Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

June and Whales every where! When we booked we were assured of whale sightings but this trip was amazing. The most competent skipper, professional commentary by a whale expert,offers of the 6 best photos by a professional photographer, morning tea. 3 hours of total enjoyment an experience not to miss!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Playing with the whales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to the Coolangatta Whale Watch crew, beautiful trip out, supportive friendly staff and we saw nearly all possible whale activity possible following two pods up the coast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lots of whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great trip with the family, saw lots of whales and the water was very clear. The kids loved it, however you should take some sea-sickness tablets with you just in case. Some were provided on the boat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolangatta Whale Watch also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 

Been to Coolangatta Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolangatta Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.