We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolangatta Whale Watch

Coolangatta Whale Watch
Alf Rush Memorial Drive, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2846, Australia
+61-07-55994104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Tweed Heads
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gold Coast Whale Watching Tours with Coolangatta Whale Watch, June to November, 7 days, 100% guaranteed whales or receive a full refund or another ticket, 100% success in seeing whales since 2006. Big safe boat, only 46 passengers, owned and operated by Tony and Carol with over 11 years experience. 3hr Tour, morning tea, commentary and loads of fun.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What an amazing experience we had today! Weather and the sea was calm and lovely and whales aplenty we saw! What an experience getting 'mugged' by 3 whales! So close we could have reached out and touched them - one of those life 'wow' moments! The crew of the Coolangatta Whale Watch were friendly and helpful. Nicki the on board Zoologists commentary was so informative and interesting - she definately passed on some of her passion for these awesome creatures today! A special day

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    10
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Whales!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had an amazing time and the crew was very helpful rearranging our scheduled booking times. We got to see a few different pairs of whales breach. Humpback whales and some minkies came to visit us on the boat. The tour was not a rush to get out and see whales and go back, they did a good job taking it slow.

It was a little bit hard to find the place, since we were not from Australia. A little bit hard to get to also if you do not have you're own car, but regardless it was definitely worth the travel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had the best time!!! The skipper & crew were very helpful & informative. The day was beautiful & sunny. And we got mugged by 7 humpback whales. They just kept playing around the boat for ages. A wonderful day out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Splendid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I took my mum on this trip as she'd never been whale watching before, unfortunately the weather wasn't too great and water a bit choppy. We saw a couple of whales, not too many, everytime we saw a whale breaching we'd head over there and they'd stop! Just the luck of the draw I guess. Mum ended up making friends inside as it was cold and a bit warmer inside. Plus side is we saw a perfect rainbow. So for me that was quite exciting!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Lucky to have a beautiful sunny day and saw so many whales! Comprehensive commentary and terrific crew. Great experience!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolangatta Whale Watch also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 

Been to Coolangatta Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolangatta Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.