We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast to your Saves list
Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Stuart Street, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2485, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Anglesea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at these apartments during the national surf life saving championships.
They are in a great location, walking distance to beautiful beaches and lots of cafes and restaurants ,and within 30-45 minutes of theme parks.
It is not a resort as such, but serviced apartments, which means you don't get fresh towels daily (fresh towels are $8) unless you are staying for 7 days or more, and if you need extra washing powder, soap etc you have to pay for it.
The living area is spacious, but honestly, nothing special. The second room, which my daughter and I stayed in, had two single beds but was absolutely tiny. We had to move the bedside table out of the room so we could get in and out of bed. (See photos). Also, there was only netting on the window so you could see directly from the balcony into our room (see photos).
I presume the hotel was expensive because of the Surf Life Saving carnival? Anyway, I guess we pay a lot for accommodation in Australia, and even more in peak times. I would certainly shop around though, there is a lot of lovely accommodation along the beach in Coolangatta.

Room Tip: We paid extra for room on higher level but our only view was of the building opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were on the 4th floor and could see the beach and sea. There was a empty section in front (for now) so the view was great. A very roomy apartment and very stylish. Loved the indoor outdoor flow onto the balcony. I would stay here again. We really enjoyed our stay here,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed here twice now (both times in a 1 bedroom apartment) and have been impressed with this place on both occasions.

The kitchen is nice, with a large fridge, gas cooking, a decent oven, microwave and dishwasher. There is plenty of space to cook and prepare food. The utensils are a little bit sparse, and the pans very much on the small side (even when cooking just for one!), but it's enough to make do. Some of the utensils and pans were a bit dirty (probably left that way by the previous occupant), so it's a good idea to give everything a wash before you use it. And you'll need to buy your own dishwashing liquid because there is only a small packet supplied by the hotel, together with a small sponge, dishwashing cloth, and a couple of tea towels.

The bed is quite comfy, although the pillows are not the greatest (at least for me). If you like sleeping on your side or stomach, consider bringing your own pillow. The large built-in wardrobe within the bedroom was great and could easily fit my clothes and my partner's clothes (5 days' worth of clothes).

The couch in the living room is comfy and there is a decent selection of channels on Austar (including the sport channels and the movie channels). The chairs at the dinner table were also nice.

The bathroom is adequate, although it's nothing amazing. Nice sink, storage space in the medicine cabinet, big mirrors. The shower is also quite good, although you won't enjoy it much if you are tall. The shower head is fixed at a low level and cannot be moved upwards. I'm 5'10 and had to crouch a little bit to get underneath it. If you're taller than me, you'll need to crouch a lot more (or just stick to baths)! The fan in the bathroom also looked like it had not been cleaned in a while, and was caked in a thick covering of dust. It still did its job admirably in any case, though.

The room was air-conditioned and, from the first time I stayed here, I know that the cooling is quite good. However, the heating was not of the same standard. We must have had the heating on for 4 days straight with only the slightest improvement in temperature. If you get cold easily, bring your own heater if you come in winter (if you can) or bring extra warm clothes. This is not to say that the room was freezing, because it wasn't. We would just have liked it to be one or two degrees warmer than we were able to make it while running the air-con at the hotel's recommended temperature of 24 degrees (the room was definitely not that warm!).

The secure parking was also convenient, with some lifts down in the car park that can whiz you straight up to your level.

There is also a gym located on-site, although it's a separate entity to the hotel. They offer "discounts" to hotel guests, but if what they offer is a discount, I'd hate to hear what the full price is... You can use the gym on a casual basis for $15 per visit per person. You can only use the gym on this basis between 9am-12pm and 3pm-6pm. This is because you cannot enter or exit the gym without a staff member letting you in and a staff member is apparently only available for this task between those hours. $15 a visit is a bit steep to begin with, but with those hourly limitations, it's a down-right rip-off. A weekly pass was available for $60, which would be better value if you intended to use the gym once or twice a day for 7 days. You also got a security pass if you purchased this option, so you could come and go at any time without requiring a staff member to let you in. We gave the whole thing a miss. Just go for a run on the beach, which is only a couple of minutes walk away.

In terms of noise, this place is pretty quiet. We hardly heard any banging or noise from neighbours, nor much street noise or aircraft noise. It really is a very quiet place. It's even quite pleasant out on the balcony, which is probably the star feature of this place. Both times I have come here I have had a huge balcony with a decent view either out over the hinterland or over the nearby lake. There are massive glass fold-back doors, so you can open up the whole apartment and make the most of any nice breeze (or just generally enjoy feeling a bit more out in the elements). There is also a dining table out there, which was a nice touch.

In terms of location, this place is pretty good for the Coolangatta/Tweed Heads shopping/dining experience, such as it is. It's a short walk to the beach, a local Woolies and Coles (with attached bottle shops), Aldi, and a Centro with a moderate array of shops (mostly local brands, no real major chain outlets). There's quite a few cafes, bakeries, restaurants and pubs in the vicinity. Nothing particularly spectacular, but enough variety that there will probably be something to suit most people's taste.

All in all, this place is really good for what you pay and I would definitely stay here again. It's comfortable and the facilities are by and large of good quality. The location was very convenient. It was nice and quiet and for me that's hugely important. There's a few little things that let the place down a bit, but nothing major and certainly nothing extensive enough to stop me from coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week, the location was very handy for visiting family in Banora Point, but also only a short drive to the Gold Coast. Lovely view from balcony, however, our room was also across from the Twin Towns apartment balconies, where the residents were very noisy (some had a party that lasted from sundown to 4 a.m.) Otherwise, the room was quiet and the building secure. However, when I returned to the room to look for something before I left, and checked under the lounge, there was an incredible amount of detritus underneath, perhaps the cleaners should move the furniture a little more often. Also, if you are planning a stay here, bring your own supply of dishwashing liquid, washing powder, soap, etc., as you are only supplied with the minimum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for business and this is a big resort, the sort of place that I normally avoid.

However, this has to be one of the better big resort style hotels I've seen in Australia. Great location, great views and the area here is quite lovely and relaxing.

Great value apartments and very worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I should start by saying each apartment has different owners but the one I had was simply magnificent, the quality of the fit out was fantastic, great couch, comfy bed and I loved how the whole side of the glass wall folded back 4 times so it was like bringing the outside in. I loved the in-room cable box which I haven't seen elsewhere in Australia, being able to chose which channel to watch from a wide selection was great instead of the cheap option most hotels in Australia like to take where they use an analogue distribution system to send a couple of cable channels to the rooms. Overall I loved my stay, it was so comfortable it felt like being at home just with a beach and lot's of sunshine!, thanks so much!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a big balcony where the doors fold back so the entire wall opens to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay during the Surf Lifesaving Carnival. Room was clean & tidy.

The only downers were the extremely uncomfortable bed, the revolting recycle refuse cupboard on our particular floor & the pool area which was very slippery once you were only slightly wet.

I would stay here if travelling to the Gold Coast again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast

Address: 20 Stuart Street, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2485, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tweed Heads
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tweed Ultima is perfectly located in the heart of the Twin Towns of Tweed Heads and Coolangatta offering the very best as a holiday destination or corporate visit. Less than 200 metres from superb beaches, Tweed Ultima is within a short walk to boutique shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and entertainment. Our relaxed and comfortable Apartments host a large heated saltwater pool (winter only) and spa, on-site Cafe, BBQ area, Conference Centre, Public Day Spa & Gym (extra charges apply for Gym - special rates available for guests). Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday Tweed Ultima offers modern 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom self-contained Apartments with spacious living areas, gourmet kitchens and enclosed balconies. Tweed Ultima Apartments provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free Gold Coast Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast Hotel Tweed Heads

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.