We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuross Beach Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tuross Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuross Beach Holiday Park
83 Nelson Parade, Tuross Head, New South Wales 2537, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“What A View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The view from our beachfront unit was absolutely spectacular - just the beach and the ocean. The accommodation wasn't exactly five star but as we were only staying two nights we put up with it. There were some other small issues such as the towel rail was made of plastic and was broken so you couldn't actually hang a towel on it and you had to fiddle with the toilet flush as the water just kept on running otherwise. On the surface it seemed clean enough to me - I don't like to look too closely or I probably wouldn't stay anywhere. I agree with Carol L that these cabins do need a bit of TLC and updating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the cabins with a view and carpark below and found them comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Even though weather was cold when we went we could still enjoy fishing in front of cabins. There was no one around so enjoyed a quiet stay. We were a little disappointed that pool was closed and not heated in the cooler months.But other than that we were very happy ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently stayed in a beachfront unit on this magnificent site. I loved the view and the tranquillity of the location. Unfortunately the unit left a lot to be desired. The general level of cleanliness and maintenance was appalling. The electronic ignition on the gas stove was inoperable (in fact fell out in my hand and there was no other means to light the stove). Next option was a dirty frypan that needed cleaning prior to use. All of the taps leaked constantly. The bathroom was grimy and in need of a good clean. The main bedroom had sheets but no blankets on the bed, and the majority of blankets which were in the wardrobes were stained and dirty. The lounge cushions were stained and marked, and even when turned over were the same. These units are in need of a good annual "spring" clean and maintenance check. Prior to my visit I had the misfortune to speak with Geoff the so called "owner" of the park which indeed was a very unpleasant experience. I did however persevere with my preference for staying in the park (with some misgivings) as I love Tuross and the magic location of this park. However I was very disappointed with the overall cleanliness and obvious sloppy "take it or leave it" attitude. May be it is time for Eurobodalla Shire Council (the owners of the park) to lift their socks up and monitor just how this property is being managed by the lessee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Tuross Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
What caused this person to have such a bee in her bonnet is not known to us.

In regard to cleanliness, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our holiday units and the many favourable testimonials on our website attest to this. We were recently very highly commended for our park and unit cleanliness during the course of our annual star rating review by Triple A Tourism.

We give all of our holiday units a detailed spring clean, taking 2 days for each cabin, in the period from June to November each year. Blankets, lounge covers and curtains are washed during the spring clean process or when ever they are found to be dirty.

Our Beachfront units our not our newest units and are no longer “brand spanking”. They are, however, our most popular units because of their location on the beach.

This person did not report any problems to our reception during her stay.

Our business is a privately-owned business – not owned by the Council.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

toilets outdated and no disabled toilets which i found very strange as it was managed by the local council and only 1 block of toilets for whole caravan park. the position of park was magic but as a traveler with a disabled son i would not call in again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We're just back from a fabulous week at Tuross. We have stayed here on numerous occasions over a number of years, staying in all their various accommodation types. This time we had an elevated beach view unit which as the name suggests has wonderful views over the beach. The units are very clean and well equipped (each with their own outdoor barbeque). It's only a few minutes walk to a patrolled beach with reasonably good surf. Also only a 10 minute walk into town. Although the park was packed over the period we were there it's never noisy and has a great family feel to it with everyone seeming relaxed and friendly. If your looking for somewhere to relax and wind down on the south coast this is the place.

Room Tip: Units with a beach view are certainly worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here twice in the last year and loved it. We chose the beach house which is right on the beach, from the verandah you can see the beach. It is a peaceful caravan park, fairly small which is nice. Tuross Heads is a lovely place to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in Beachfront Cabin 1 and the location of these cabins is superb - the surf pounding no more than 100 metres from your balcony and the wide expanse of the estuary to ponder. It's the view you pay for here as the two bedroom cabin was utilitarian with its lamipanel walls, plastic chairs and small stained sofa. Our cabin reeked of cigarette smoke, the heater/ac fan was very noisy and the stove top wouldn’t light. Spring nights and mornings here are chilly and a bathroom heater would have been welcome. Although NSW school hols had ended, as "the ACT & Vic are still on hols", we were charged a pricey $170+ for two; there were plenty of vacancies here so it seemed a little greedy to charge this much for two people. Compared to similar, but more comfortable and better maintained accommodation we had experienced on our way up the coast from Melbourne-Sydney, this wasn't good value. Reception advised against purchasing wifi connection as the signal often drops out (we found the TV reception can also be patchy). They also assured us that there would be plenty of dining options nearby on a Monday night but, after an extended walk, we found every cafe was closed. The takeaway and the bottle shop at the shopping centre were the only places open unless you drove further afield. Self catering and staying here in the warmer months when you can spend more time outside the cabin is advised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Tuross Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Our Beachfront holiday units are now some years old and reflect the construction methods popular at the time of their installation. They are, however, our most popular units because of their location on the beach.

All of our units are non-smoking and, if any guest breaches this rule, we try to de-odorise the unit thoroughly and before it is occupied again.

Our shoulder period pricing, which applies in school holidays, includes 2 adults and 2 children and we offer significant discounts for stays of a week or more. We believe that our pricing is comparable with, and often cheaper than, other similar establishments, most of which do not offer such a fantastic location and view.

Our internet access is limited by Telstra’s poor infrastructure. We are hoping that the NBN will solve these problems.

The comments regarding TV reception are puzzling, as we have good reception of all the free-to-air digital channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuross Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuross Beach Holiday Park

Address: 83 Nelson Parade, Tuross Head, New South Wales 2537, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tuross Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Tuross Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuross Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tuross Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list