We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker

Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker
1 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
+61 2 6457 6844
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Snowy ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

On Saturday night of the snowyride we dined at the knickerbocker had a fantastic meal at a reasonable price and there was no problem when we didn't like where we we to be seated and got a table we liked . Service was excellent . We definitely will return next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKnickerbocker, Manager at Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Great to hear that you had an enjoyable evening with us. See you next Snowy Ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming restaurant in a superb spot of Thredbo. The perfect ambiance and menu choice plus the pot & shot for $7 makes it extremely appealing to go back. The dish I chose Beef cheeks marinated in red wine with assorted veggies & mash was mouth watering. With 4 people dining we had little problem in choosing from the menu. The desserts were to die for. Thank you Knickerbocker we will be back next Snowy Ride.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKnickerbocker, Manager at Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are really happy that you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again next Snowy Ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to Thredbo for the snowy ride and went on saturday night to the knickerbocker. This was our third time here and the food was great (albeit small menu) excellent service and reasonably priced . I had the pork belly and fiance had beef cheeks both great followed by desert which was great. We will definitely go back

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKnickerbocker, Manager at Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again next Snowy Ride ...or sooner!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Thredbo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After 5 nights & 5 dinners in Thredbo, we are definite that Knickerbocker is the best restaurant that we had the pleasure of indulging.

Second is Cascades, third is Berntis, fourth is Sante Churrasco, and a distant last is the Black Bear Inn.

We had the most amazing lamb pie at Knickerbockers as an Entree. followed by a mouthwatering Atlantic Salmon steak and a generous slab of Pork Belly with great crackling. Finished with mocca and a couple of macaroons.

Overall the reception, food & service were marvelous. Everyone seems to have a great time. We will return during our next visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKnickerbocker, Manager at Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thankyou so much for your great feedback. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to leave us such a great review! We hope to see you again at the Knickerbocker soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good meal, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently dined at Knickerbocker now under the direction of Jean-Michel Gerst. Three of us had a good meal but the highlight was the onion creme brulee starter which was absolutely divine. With the exception of the onion creme brulee we thought the food was good but not great - could not fault any of the dishes, but we were expecting more wow moments. Service was excellent - the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about both the food and wine. I would eat there again.

I think one drawback is that two of us faced the road and we were regularly blinded by car headlights as they made their way into the village and up past the restaurant. Don't know how you fix this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKnickerbocker, Manager at Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and service at the Knickerbocker. Yes the headlights from the cars are a problem - especially when on high beam!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.