We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker

Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker
1 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
+61 2 6457 6844
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
New South Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had dinner at the Knickerbocker in Thredbo last night and were very disappointed with the food, ambience and service. We were underwhelmed from the moment we entered the restaurant and were ignored by the staff. Our 7 pm reservation clearly put us at the end of the "feed the children cheap" sitting with a restaurant full of mums and kids busy with crayons and ipads, a massive television showing the Tour de France overhead. Not what we were expecting from our quick perusal of the website and venue prior to booking. The children's menu offered a child size portion of anything on the menu but when we attempted to order the beef from the main menu for our 10 year old, we were persuaded the kid's steak and chips was the same. Our daughter, who had been looking forward to her restaurant meal, was very disappointed to receive a very ordinary piece of steak and chips with a lettuce leaf to constitute a salad. The rest of the family ordered the salmon and the duck. The salmon was fishy and overcooked, the duck pretty average, a bit salty and no sauce. The servings were all pretty small. Ordinary, ordinary, ordinary, we left feeling they really couldn't be bothered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMKnickerbocker, Manager at Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your review. I am really sorry that you had a disappointing experience at our restaurant. Visiting during the school holidays can be a difficult time as we are extremely busy and the restaurant is often full of children. We do our best to manage these situations as best we can but sometimes these conditions can result in an unpleasant experience for some of our guests.
Although not an excuse, I would also like to point out that we were in the very early days of our operation at that time, having only been open for a month or two. And finding good staff in the winter is always a difficulty for many businesses in the snow.
I think that you would find that if you were to visit again, you would find that our levels of service have substantially improved and that we really can be bothered to look after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Venue is nicer than the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a lentil burger which arrived smothered in parsley (not listed on menu) which overwhelmed the flavour of the burger.

Kipfler wedges were only just cooked acceptably. Warm but uncooked inside.

Out of Weiss beer.

Warm Thai salad with duck was good
though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.