We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better with new management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bean and Grain Bakery

Bean and Grain Bakery
Thredbo Alpine Village, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
sydney
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Better with new management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Despite previous reviews, I think this bakery has improved a lot since changing hands. Particularly the service. Very upbeat and friendly.

The coffee is much faster coming out than it used to be and the pies are really good.

We needed to eat inside though because there were bees trying to eat the sauce of our pies. Weird stuff! Quite a few bees around Thredbo over Easter. They get March flies in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jindabyne, Australia
1 review
“Partisan Pasteries”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I walked out of the business this morning after being ignored in favour of the cute blond that walked in after me and then being gazumped by the next customer that walked through the door.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Austarlia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What happened ? - Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This little bakery used to be pretty good in years gone by, but we are tempted to ask What happened?? Our recent visit to the renamed Bean and Grain Bakery was terrible! Burnt bitter coffee, watery hot chocolate, fatty heavy slices and slow service. Be prepared to be ignored at the counter for a while even when no one else is being served! They even tried to charge me for our coffees twice when I went back to buy 2 slices to have with them. Took a few sips of the coffee but couldn't drink it. Left very disappointed. Will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great breakfast but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Delicious baked treats abound at this place and I think it has improved from last year - new owners as I understand. Coffee is pretty good but the place gets crowded so you can wait. I decided to eat in and try their breakfast - eggs benedict. The breakfast was delicious but a little slow in coming and also quite expensive compared to Sydney prices which was a bit of surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average food bad service rudest and inexperienced staff in thredbo!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The yank lady behind the counter is the rudest person there, she talks to you like you are nothing and whats with kids making coffee? $25 for a breakfast cooked by someone that looks like he is fresh out of jail! Over priced rubbish! Sundance in Jindabyne is far better, friendlier staff and better coffee!
You guys need to pick your act up if you wish to survive in thredbo! I wont be going back any time soon, will go to Altitude!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bean and Grain Bakery also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Bean and Grain Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bean and Grain Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.