We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Inn

Black Bear Inn
Diggings Trerrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent place to splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really loved the atmosphere and food was great - accommodating for the kids too! We ate there as a large group - two families and they really helped us to settle the kids in with colouring etc.. and us adults were able to enjoy the scrumptious food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    12
    10
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Utterly disappointed. Major revamp needed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After an exhausting yet exhilarating day at the ski slopes, this restaurant recommended by my hotel, was a disappointment. The staff were busy but friendly.
Ambience is poor. Dark & dinghy. Old & musty.
Had a glass of white (sauvignon blanc, NZ) & red wine (Pinot noir, Yarra valley). Both were bad. Not worth the AUD10 at all.
The Pot of Mussels was the only saving grace for this disastrous dinner. Fresh. Spicy. Delicious. We soaked up every drop of the stew with the small bread buns (which cost AUD 2 each).
My Chicken Involtini had a fillet that was too dry. And it was soaked in a ridiculously sweet red sauce! Can't finish this mess (AUD 29).
The 220g Eye Fillet cooked in a wild mushroom ragout was so-so at best (AUD 38).
A waste of my time.
Think food at a fast food joint would be better & far cheaper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Decent size meals with added possum entertainment. Kids meals were standard affairs but Adults meals were good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hearty winter food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had never tried food here before and made sure to include it into the itinerary this ski trip. Bookings are highly recommended as the premises is small and the popular during the winter skiing months. Food was absolutely delicious. We had the garlic prawns to share as a starter and it was delicious! In fact, the best garlic prawns i think i've had in a restaurant. They weren't greasy as i usually find them and full of flavour - highly recommend! My partner had the trio of schnitzel which was quite a large meal and looked divine. I had the vegetarian risotto. Meal sizes are very generous and perfect after a full day on the slopes! Couldn't complain about the meals we had here although the service was very satisfactory. We ordered our meal and a bottle of wine within the first 10 mins...45 mins later we were still sitting there with only a bottle of water and two glasses. I casually reminded the waiter of our wine and food order and it appeared to have been forgotten about. The staff were very apologetic and delivered us some schnapps, although i find it strange that i had to mention it to the waiter and it wasn't noticed sooner. Although this minor slip up, the delicious food compensated for the lengthy wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical North Queensland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We weren't really expecting much from the Black Bear, but in the end we were very pleasantly surprised. They operate a 2 sittings policy (maybe only on Saturdays?) at 5:45 and 7:45. While this may not suit some it does tend to mean that the family groups are done and dusted early so the later sitting is a rather more "adult" affair, which we liked.
Service was very friendly and efficient despite a very large group on other tables. The food was really good (all bar the bread which was really poor...don't bother with it. There's really no excuse for this as there is a perfectly good bakery just down the road and other restaurants in Thredbo have generally managed to provide good bread). Oysters were very good and the pork belly entree excellent (if a little large). My duck confit was the best I've had in a long time (and much better than the effort at Knickerbocker which is supposed to be the French restaurant in town) and the gnocchi is was served with were outstanding. Mussels were good (ever so slightly overcooked) and the entree size was plenty when paired with excellent frites. Our dessert (pear tart) was OK. A better than average wine list too. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Inn also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.