We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, expensive but great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagles Nest Restaurant

Eagles Nest Restaurant
On top of the mountain, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Hamburgers, Healthy
Description: Restaurant is at top of Chairlift from Thredbo
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant is at top of Chairlift from Thredbo
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Busy, expensive but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location, both for consumers and (I assume) the owners being the only port-of-call at the top of the chairlift. The food is really just bistro quality and overpriced on that basis alone. Though I suspect location also plays a part in the pricing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    7
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor quality - outrageous prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst dining experiences we have ever had (all 5 of us in our party agreed on that). Food is terrible and the prices are outrageous! $27 for a steak sandwich. Nachos for $23 were bland and watery, their aioli was tatere sauce with garlic (sent that back even though the staff assured me it was aioli - I beg to differ) - food was very poor quality for the prices they were charging. Best stick to scones, tea/coffee or one of their beers. We won't be eating up there again, particularly when one of the staff came to front of house and proceeded to use his fingernail to clean his teeth - we were repulsed and mentioned it to another staff member when we were settling the bill. Apparently it was not the chef as we had thought but their dish hand - still not acceptable in our books. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

How delightful to find this gem at the top of the chairlift. Staff were friendly and helpful and put up with my husband's tedious jokes! We had delicious scones and coffees etc before the walk and returned for awesome soup, etc afterwards. Views are sensational and prices are pretty good considering the remote location. We will come back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahmoor, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easter long weekend, Chris Issac concert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The views were fantastic, and it is the highest restaurant in Australia, but some of the wait staff were quiet rude unfortunately

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Bird's Eye View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great place for a 'pick me up' after your walk. It has the best view in the area.
The toilets are much appreciated after the long walk.
The staff are friendly without being pushy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagles Nest Restaurant also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Eagles Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagles Nest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.