We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What hapened ???” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Thredbo Village
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What hapened ???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This is my third stay in this hotel. It´s always going to be overpriced for what it is, simply because of location. The staff are friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean, however out dated. The food is average and overpriced. All I want to know is what the hell happened to the air conditioning this year ? If I´m paying top dollar for something that is what it is because it´s in Thredbo... I would like to eat dinner in your "fine dine" restaurant minus wearing my coat. While we are on the subject, let´s see if management can invest in some non-placebo heat lamps which are actually productive in keeping breakfast warm too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Iron tech,
It is very disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, with Thredbo being a 365 day leisure destination we do run into difficulties in summer when we get a cold snap and it snows in April, the hotel takes a little while to heat up, when you are next in Thredbo please call in and ask for me, would like the opportunity to talk to you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    72
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
70
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Been here before...ok place...slightly aged rooms all good.
I ate at their flagship restaurant last time...not too shabby.
Wife and i decided this time to eat at the bistro.
Bad mistake...bad mass produced schloff..eg my beef curry.
Three lumps of beef and four lumps of potatoes wth pre cooked microwaved dry rice for 18 bucks..really ????
Also noticed the whole place is barely heatet...people wear jackets inside every where.
Clearly a ploy by managment to save energy and money.
Not with me anymore gentlemen.
Will spend my money in the future some where better and so can you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Sinergy436
It is very disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, with Thredbo being a 365 day leisure destination we do run into difficulties in summer when we get a cold snap and it snows in April, the hotel takes a little while to heat up, and with regard to the curry dish $16 dollars , this is one of our most popular dishes and a favourite among the locals, sorry we have disappointed you, when you are next coming back into Thredbo please call in and ask for me, would like the opportunity to talk to you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for a weekend, on a special deal. Our room was on the third floor (upgrade from a queen size to king size), close to side door (access to shopping strip) and overlooking the pool and the chairlifts (the hotel is opposite the chairlifts in the heart of Thredbo Village). The room was decent for its size (king size bed fitted comfortably) and the bathroom (bathtub, not just shower) was good in size as well. There was a barfridge (stocked) and coffee/tea making facility. The check-in was quick and a small misunderstanding was cleared immediately. The breakfast restaurant (Cascade) staff were more friendly and very helpful. The breakfast selection (continental breakfast) was very well prepared, the selection of fruit yoghurt, juices, bread was great as well. Would recommend off-peak, but would think twice during winter, when rooms prices are at all time premium. My only 'fault' (and it is a minor one) was that our shower gel, shampoo and conditioner was not re-stocked when the rooms was cleaned.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to king-size room, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
EM NS, The staff receive great satisfaction in reading reviews that reflect their commitment to customer service and to making our guest stay one to remember.

The feedback about the house keeping is of great help, I will instruct our housekeeping supervisor to do follow up training with the team

Thank you for the wonderful feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here over Easter and can't really fault the Hotel. It is absolutely the best positioned accomodation in Thredbo and the included car parking was a godsend as parking is at a premium in Thredbo at any time. The room overlooked the pool and the main chairlift up the mountain. The view any time of the day up the mountain was gorgeous. The hotel is 'alpine themed' so lots of panelled wood work which isn't exactly the height of fashion, but it was all clean and comfortable. Negative about the room was simply the size of the bath. It was really only a children's bath which was a shame as the complimentary toiletories were just begging for a big bubble bath.

There was a private party being held in the Hotel Lounge during our stay and while that didn't impact us, the guests who moved outside by the pool area certainly did, so if weekend noise might bother you, ask for a room away from the pool.

The weekend was the end of March and very cool. The room heating was excellent and it was warm enough during the day to turn it off and open the windows for fresh air. There is free wifi in The Lounge area but we realised we had access to it in our room so that was a bonus.

The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The food in Cascades for the breakfast buffet was quite acceptable and regularly refreshed though it didn't change, so after 3 days we were a little over it. An omellete station on the Sunday morning would have been great though they did have a really nice innovation of shot glasses of fresh juices, smoothies or bircher muesli in different flavours each day.

This (like all of Threbo accom) has lots of stairs which might have an impact if you require assistance to get around. The Lounge has a fabulous gas fire that was perfect for sitting around with a drink and good book for half an hour.

Room Tip: Use the pool area as a guide as to which side of the hotel you want a room on. Overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
The staff receive great satisfaction is reading reviews that reflect their commitment to customer service and to making our guest stay one to remember.

They feedback about the pool area is of great help, will instruct the front office staff to communicate this information when we have functions at poolside in future

Thank you for the wonderful feedback back last year and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Thredbo this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wanting to complete the Mt Kosciuoszko walk, my wife and I opted for a short break here after researching many of Thredbo's accommodation options. A Flamin Hot Wotif Deal sealed the choice - a great decision! Staff were ALL very friendly, helpful and professional. The Hotel and facilities were more than ample to make us welcome and comfortable. Our room, overlooking the pool and looking straight up the Express Chairlift to the top of the mountain, was spotlessly clean and well appointed - some might say the timber walls are dated but they fit in with the locality and provide a degree of warmth and charm. The full size bath was wonderful after the big walk to the summit as was the thermal room heating as the nights got colder. The bed was comfortable and the small table and chairs provided somewhere to relax other than the bed. The meals in the Bistro were superb and reasonably priced and the (included) full buffet breakfast in the restaurant was as good as any we've had before. We also had a room service dinner which was delivered within 15 minutes and arrived just as hot as if it were served in the dining room (the hamburger was the best I think I have ever tasted, well done Chef!). The walk to the summit (daily chairlift tickets included in the package) was the highlight of the stay and something not to be missed. Overall we couldn't fault a thing and had an amazing 3 night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
The staff receive great satisfaction is reading reviews that reflect their commitment to customer service and to making our guest stay one to remember.

Love the comment about the Hambergers!!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback back last year and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Thredbo this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights with my partner over a rather warm weekend. The rooms are not air-conditioned and the windows face the afternoon sun. Despite the room having an overhead fan we found it quite stuffy in the afternoon and overnight. The curtains had to stay closed because of the heat of the sun reflecting off the roof of the restaurant below (we were on the 3rd floor). Also even when open because they wind out from the base it took a long time for cool air to circulate.

No doubt these rooms are very cozy during the winter but I absolutely would not recommend a summer visit here.

Rooms are quite small so if you are travelling wtih ski gear be prepared to be tripping over it.

If you have difficulty with stairs suggest you plan ahead with the reception for the best access point as even the ground floor requires going up stairs from reception. There is no lift and its quite a few stairs to the third floor although the view was great.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard/pool area and not over the roof of the bar i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It is very dissapointing that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, with Thredbo being a 365 day leisure destination we do run into difficulties in summer when we are in the middle of a heat wave, Thredbo has had unusally high summer temperture this year so I do appoligies for no air conditioners.

Please contact me when you are next coming to Thredbo so I can meet you personally and appoligies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tathra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We (my husband, 13yr old son & myself) stayed at the hotel in May 2012 as part of a Mothers Day Special Package that had been advertised. We have been avid skiers for many years and never actually stayed here. Initially my husband was reluctant to go but hey it was Mothers Day so he was out voted. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon in terrible weather. The front service desk staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room though small was clean, tidy and comfortable. The fire was going in the lounge/bar area and there was great entertainment provided with a guy singing on the Saturday night. We woke on the Sunday to find the hills white and it was snowing in the village. Buffet breakfast was included over in the restaurant and was very nice. We filled in our morning and then were back to the restaurant for the Mothers Day Lunch. The food, all 3 courses was fantastic and beautifully cooked, added to this was the bonus of being able to lookout the windows at the snow falling while dining. All up we had a great weekend and even my husband would be interested in going again if there was a similar package.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Mab205,

The staff receive great satisfaction is reading reviews that reflect their commitment to customer service and to making our guest stay one to remember.

Mother’s day is fast approaching this year and we would love to welcome you and your family back, Thank you for the wonderful feedback back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thredbo Alpine Hotel is right in the heart of the village. It is the one you can see looking down the mountain just metres from the base of the Chairlift. The Hotel has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. From the hotel you can either step outside to the slopes or into the bustling Village Square, parking is available at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.