We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting my review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Revisiting my review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I reviewed TAH on 1 August 2011, noting the warmth of the staff and the hotel's funky nature. I also noted the dire AV and Internet situation. The MD Andrew promised to improve the latter. He did. We returned this season to find free wifi in the bar and lounge areas - very handy! Staff still very helpful, masseuse Tineke now seems more like a family friend after almost 10 years of saving our tired muscles at the end of the dreaded Day Three, and all in all, we still love the joint. TAH is olde worlde. If you're more into the whole modern de luxe 5 star thing, stay at The Denman. But I bet we have more fun! Thanks Andrew!

Room Tip: They all face the mountain so views are great. There are no lifts so if you're a bit more mature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
FellOw_traveller49,

it is very much appreciated that you would revisit your first review, there has been a number of changes at the hotel one in particular is that Andrew has moved on and I took over at the start of the winter season, it pleases me that we have maintained the service standards and improved the WIFI.

Let me know if you are coming back this way would appreciate the change to thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
37
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had one night here on the way to Melbourne - a week after the snowseason ended.
Naturally very quiet, but that was OK.
Not everything open, but enough for us.
Room excellant, with quality fttings and a very good bed.
The free wifi and open fire near the lobby (although electric) made our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
KB,
Nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us, Unfortunately the authentic fire place was replace with gas after the fire in 2003,.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight stop on the way to Melbourne. Very comfortable room with full bath and top class toiletries supplied. Our room overlooked the chairlift to Eagles Nest Restaurant on the summit, along with glimpses of summer snow on the high peaks. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious for the very reasonable additional package price. Would definitely stay again. We were here 17 years ago for Christmas Eve and the Carols by Candlelight around the pool was a fabulous memory that has stayed with me all this time. It was a surreal experience singing Christmas Carols in summer clothes while overlooking snowcapped mountains - an Aussie White Christmas! And apparently they still have the same service each year. Well worth heading along to!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Getaway Girl,
This year the christmas carols are inside by the fire!!! althouigh we have had a hotel december so there is no snow capped mountains but the beautiful bloom of the mountain flowers.

pleas elet me mknow fi you are heading back this way would enjoy the oppertunity to meet in person
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed here with a family group for a special occasion. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make sure everything was in order. The rooms were excellent. This is an older property but it does have the character of an alpine chalet.

We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. There was plenty of things to chose from and you could order your eggs any way you liked!

The family enjoyed themselves immensely. So, a special thanks to all the staff who helped make this weekend special.

Room Tip: Enjoy the buffet breakfast in Cascades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Wing rider,
The staff take great satisfaction is reading reviews that reflect tehir commitment to customer service and to making our guest stay one to remember.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Thredbo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Older style spacious apartment right across the road from chairlifts. Great views of snowfields, easy access. Good undercover carpark included close to drying rooms. Kitchen fitted out with everything and more. Comfortable beds. Bed covers look like designed in 70s, a simple change would give apartment a more modern look. Lounge uncomfortable. Drying cupboard did not work at all, informed reception who said yes it does without even looking. Cant remember unit number but think maybe not all apartments are the same. Easy walk to everything including shuttle bus stop to Friday Flat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visiting Thredbo out of ski season is a strange experience. The place is nearly desrted and many of the shops are closed. The receptionist at the hotel explained to me that for four months they are at 100% capacity and then fall to 3%. That would expalin why I only saw one other guest in my 2 nights. I can't comment on what it would be like when full, but there are advantages to emptiness.
Unsurprisingly it was very quiet. The hotel is easy walking distance to the main chairlift and has free parking. The deserted corridors had a suggestion of "The Shining" about it. I stayed in the St Moritz suite with a view of the still snow capped mountains from the balcony. The room was somewhat darkly lit, bu the bathroom was bright. (The spa bath rather confusingly had two sets of instruction for use - one advised pressing the gold button and the other to press the black button - the actual button was white!)
The lounge downstairs included an open fire, comfy armchairs, a grand piano and free wifi access.
Meals were served in an attached restaurant/bar called "Cascades" and were very good. The Bombe Alaska was so good I had it twice. Pity the venison with chocolate was unavailable. Breakfast was supposed to be a buffet, but due to the paucity of guests I was told to order whatever hot food I liked and keep ordering until I had had enough. Highly recommended.
Should I return to Thredbo, I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Equivoco,
October and November are the quietest months of the year, you could call it a transition period from winter to summer, thank you for the feedback regarding the Spa bath, I will revisit the instructions!!

Let me know when you are next planning to visit Thredbo, would like the opportunity to catch up in person and say thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 2 nights and 2 days at the Thredbo Alpine Hotel during early August, courtesy of a generous friend. The weather was appalling during those 2 days but after an excellent buffet breakfast in the hotel dining room, I had a very pleasant time reclining and reading in the very cosy lounging area of the Hotel which offered panoramic views of the ski slopes.

I can't comment on value for money as I don't know what the typical cost of accommodation is in Thredbo. However, the hotel would have been beyond my budget as a retired person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thredbo Alpine Hotel is right in the heart of the village. It is the one you can see looking down the mountain just metres from the base of the Chairlift. The Hotel has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. From the hotel you can either step outside to the slopes or into the bustling Village Square, parking is available at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.