We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7o's style ski resort at 2011 prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“7o's style ski resort at 2011 prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very disappointing, clean facilities but in dire need of an update, no lift 3 flights of stairs to carry bags. Breakfast buffet low standard. Staff frinedly and location great will not choose to stay there again. WEas given a port a cot for our 4yr old and only could be given a roll out single on our last night there which made sleeping a nightmare!

Room Tip: book online for sheaper rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAH_GM, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear et p,

Thanks for your review. I am dissapointed that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. I am however pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, clean facilities and great location. Yes unfortunately we do not have a lift however we do employ porters and if one is not available at the time of your arrival please ask the reception staff for help and they will be sure to have the bags delivered to your room for you.

Thanks again,

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
37
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The apartment located in great position across from ski terminal and bus stop for Friday Flats, and right near shopping village so we found it ideal.
Our particular apartment had a great view of the slopes and though was pretty basic was certainly very comfortable and had everything we needed. I found it pricey but that's apparently the case for peak season in Thredbo.
Woud return and do recommend, though not for those looking for luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Segreto restaurant had excellent food , something a little different to all the other restaurants with similar menus in Thredbo. Lovely ambience. Professional service and friendly staff. Good wine list.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAH_GM, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Cate K,

Thank you for your great review of our Segreto Restaurant. Chef Jean-Michel Gerst takes great pride in serving tantilizing French inspired cuisine and the service is second to none in Thredbo. We have a fantastic Wine cellar with so much to choose from. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience.

Warm regards,

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I wanted to give our 3year old the chance of a fun couple of days at Thredbo in the snow so after much searching booked the Alpine hotel for 1 night. We had almost no choices at Thredbo because of the minimum 5 night stay requirements at most hotels in the area during this period. We paid more than $600 for a king sofa room which was akin to a 60s caravan - barely room to move in a very tired room with worn out furnishings, run-down bathroom with a jet engine for a fan, paper thin walls and 2 flights of stairs from the car park. We feel completely ripped off - for that money we could have stayed in suite at a 6 star hotel in almost any major city in the world - not a run down 2 star one. Our breakfast, which was included in the rate, was also a disappointment - a scruffy looking buffet! Yep, great convenient location and helpful pleasant staff but that's not enough at that room rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAH_GM, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear LMC467,

Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback. I am dissapointed that your experience did not meet your expectations. Thredbo is a very high demand location in winter and as such the room rates during ski season are higher comparable to most other locations in Australia. The Thredbo Alpine Hotel is actually usually the most affordable, most flexible and offers some good value deals, however obviously when you choose to stay during our peak period (August) the prices are higher throughout Thredbo. My suggestion is that if you are looking for a great deal, choose to stay early or late in the season, for example we have some great deals for Spring skiing this season with rooms for as little as $189 as well as Ski free deals.

Thanks again,

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I have only just returned from 5 days at TAH. I have stayed at the hotel before, my wife hadn't. Everything was good - bar two. First, the good. The hotel tretains that 50s charm it has always has which is wonderful. I can just imagine Charles Anton and Tony Sponar having a beer in the bar. The staff are always friendly and helpful which is very important. The rooms have never been 5 star (it's a ski resort), but other things make up for that. Location is sensational and the facilities make it easy for skiers and snowboarders to get up the mountain with a minimum of fuss. The 2 restaurants Cascades for everyday and Segretos for special are stil top notch (although I preferred the northern Italian Segretos), the masseuse Tineke is fantastic and the bar welcoming and warm. OK, now for the two let downs: first is the TV/AV facilities - an analog TV - even if flatscreen - just doesn't cut it in 2011. Get digital and access many more channels. But why not subscribe to Foxtel? Is TAH a 3 star or 4-5 star? It charges 5 star prices in the winter, and so it should have matching facilities. The 2nd thing is internet access. TAH has an Internet Room (no, really!) with slow dialup access. No Net in the rooms, no cable outlet, no WIFI anywhere. Most lodges in Thredders now have Wifi. I know TAH simulates the 50s, but no need to go that far! WIFI in all rooms should be obligatory at this price point (Andrew, I know you're out there - take note!) . Otherwise, a wonderful Thredbo institution.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAH_GM, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Fell0w_Traveller49,

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct, the hotel has so many fantastic features including the character & charm, the friendly and helpful service and great food and beverage options. In regards to the Wifi, I agree with you - we need a solution for it. I started this role in March this year and it was one of the first things I put on my to do list. I did find a solution to have wifi throughout the hotel but unfortunately we ran out of time to get the cabling etc installed before the start of the ski season in June. I hope to have it installed before the start of the next ski season. The hotel has 5 Austar channels with 2 free movie channels also as well as the usual free to air channels, and yes, reception is a problem with some channels in Thredbo (mainly channel 7 and ABC) and is something we are continuing to work on however we find that most guests are so busy enjoying the resort that TV is the last thing on their minds.

Thanks again for your review.

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife & 3 1/2 year old stayed here for 3 nights which was at the end of July 2011.
We booked an "early bird" package which included a 2 person meal in the Pub and 2 person meal the Cascade Resteraunt and breakfast each morning. We found the staff helpfull, the location perfect (right near the chair lifts and snow) and the meals excellent.

The only down for me was the cleanliness of the room........the bathroom had mould around the tiles which I reported but was not still not cleaned properly the next day; A bit of bleach spray could have sorted that very easily.

I also think some amplifiers need to be used for the TV reception rather than just leaving it as it is. I have read about this issue here a few times and nothing seems to have been done about it.

Overall we did enjoy the stay and did not have any problems with how the hotel is set up or looks, the noise wasn't too bad and the room had everything we needed - We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We chose the Alpine Hotel based on TA reviews - we were looking for one night to chill out without kids, just before the snow season kicked off. Due to the time of year we went, not much was open in the village, but with only one night this didn't matter, with the hotels retuarant and bar open, all we needed!

The hotel room we got was on the third floor, and faced the car park. We could have pgraded to a moutain facing room, would do this if we go again. The room was quite small, but very reasonable overall. Bathroom a bit dated. Checkin was polite, but as per other reviews - no one mentions that if you need to walk three flights with luggage, although there's no elevator, there is a car park up on that level we could have been directed to, since there is access to that car park from that level.

Best of all, the hotel restaurant, Cascades. We took advantage of an early seating deal they offered - if seated before 7, and ordered 2 courses, we got a free glass of wine and a % taken off the bill. The food was astounding, clearly the chef and kitchen are there to cater for a well heeled skiiing crowd, but omg I was glad to luck out. Recommend the shared tasting paste entree, with local produice as antipasto. It was seriously a pleasure, from the servivce though to the desert. (passionfruit tart - WOW). Wine list fabulous. Unfortunately breakfast was very average - buffet of usual fare kept warm in a bay marie - a shame they didn't offer a menu to match the dinner experience. I woud go and stay at this place again, just for that evening meal.

On a lighte hearted note, the hotel is full of twists, turns, small staircases - in the off season it was a little eerie, it made us think of The Shining :) Recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAH_GM, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear RachaelOz,

I am pleased to you enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was in our quietest month of the year! Executive Chef Jean-Michel Gerst has trained and worked in some of the finest hotels and restaurants in Europe, Asia & Australia including Dorchester, Four Seasons & Hilton. Chef takes great pride in the food we serve and he will be happy to hear your comments regarding dinner. We also have a very extensive winelist, there are also a number of vintage wines in our cellar that do not feature on our lists for those guests who really want something special.

Thanks for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thredbo Alpine Hotel is right in the heart of the village. It is the one you can see looking down the mountain just metres from the base of the Chairlift. The Hotel has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. From the hotel you can either step outside to the slopes or into the bustling Village Square, parking is available at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.