We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski lodge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge

Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge
4 Banjo Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ski lodge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here with a work group who booked out the whole lodge. Wonderful lounge area by the fire and rooms were more spacious than I expected. Really liked the fact that the kitchen was separate to the rooms (i.e apartment with 4 beds and 2 rooms). All rooms have a view of the mountain. Great location close to the village stairs - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a better view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Kasees is a small lodge near the top of the hill overlooking the village of Thredbo. However, it is directly above the central area of Thredbo (pub, cafe, supermarket and various other shops) so it is only a couple minutes walk down the hill and only about 5 minutes to walk back up the hill to the lodge.

Parking is very limited so chances are you will have to try your luck on the road next to the lodge. In summer, that is OK but in winter it would be very difficult. Chances are you will have to drop off your bags at the lodge and then drive to the bottom of the hill to park your car. The same situation applies to most lodges at Thredbo.

Service was very friendly and the lodge has a cosy, inviting feel to it. I'm sure many people have had enjoyable winter evenings meeting other guests in the lounge. Most of the rooms are very close to the lounge area so if people are up at midnight enjoying themselves in the winter, there may be some noise in the rooms. However, I stayed in the summer when there were not many other guests so I'm not sure what the noise might be like on a busy winter's night.

The rooms are large enough and I think all bedrooms have windows facing directly towards the mountain, so on fine winter days you would get a nice view of the bottom part of the mountain. Rooms share access to a balcony (not sure how many rooms have access to each balcony), so that could be a nice place to spend some time on a sunny winter's day.

The rooms were not modern but they were clean and satisfactory. Our room rate (in the summer) was pretty good. I'm not sure what the rates are like in the winter. I imagine it is quite a popular place in the ski season and they are probably fully booked most of the time.

The only drawback is the limited parking but that applies to most places at Thredbo and it is only a minor inconvenience on the day you arrive and the day you leave. You don't need your car while you are at Thredbo. Provided the winter rates are reasonable, which they probably are, I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed in a self contained bedroom/bedsit apartment with kitchen. This lodge is attentively run, with low key yet friendly, personable service. The rooms were clean, the kitchen well equipt, and there were many windows as well as a balcony (shared with 2 other rooms) overlooking the valley below- a great place for a glass of wine as you watch the sun go down over the mountain. There was also a nice garden and bbq available to use downstairs. There is not a huge variety of places to eat mid week in summer in Thredbo so having a kitchen-with a large fridge- was a great bonus. There is limited parking in front of the lodge, albeit a steep reverse to get to it, but this is an alpine area afterall! There are steps nearby to go down to the village directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I was impressed with the efficiency when I rang to make our booking. Everything was streamlined. We were also advised about the Kosciuszko National Park entrance fee by the staff at Kasees.

We were fortunate enough to get a car spot at the lodge (these are in very short supply and most guests have to park in the village and walk a couple of minutes up the stairs to the lodge). Ann was very helpful in showing us to our room. There were a number of great brochures around the reception area that provided good information about the area.

The room didn't have the most modern furnishings, but everything you need is there and it was clean. We knew in advance that it is quite a distance to the nearest supermarket, so we stopped off and did some food shopping at Cooma on the way from Canberra. The kitchen at Kasees had everything we needed to cook a decent meal.

We stayed off-peak in summer as we were there to do the Mt Kosciuszko walk. Being Queenslanders, we went prepared for chilly 'summer' weather, but took a day to acclimatize. When we let Ann know we were a bit cold, she provided a heater within the hour.

I would not take anything valuable and leave it in your unit as it wouldn't be that hard for someone from an adjoining unit to break in through the window via the common balcony. Don't pack a suitcase that is heavier than you are prepared to carry up and down about 15 stairs.

I have included a photo from the balcony to show what it looks like when it is cloudy. Their website shows a great photo on a clear day.

Overall, we were very happy with the accommodation. We slept very well as there was hardly any audible noise from the rest of the complex. The bed was comfortable and the service was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge

Address: 4 Banjo Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasees Apartments and Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.