We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone loves Snowgoose - and everyone's right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snowgoose Apartments

Save Saved
You added Snowgoose Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snowgoose Apartments
25 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Everyone loves Snowgoose - and everyone's right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Having read nothing but good reviews about Snowgoose Lodge, I have to confess my expectations were pretty high. My partner and I had managed to organise a three-night getaway, so this seemed an ideal opportunity to see if they were as good as their reputation suggested.

We arrived just after dark, in pouring rain. Good news #1 - as we were staying three nights, they'd already allocated a parking spot for us, under the building. No getting wet/cold while unloading the car. We were given Apartment 1A - very easy to access from the garage. Others have mentioned that this apartment doesn't have a spa bath (or a bath of any kind - just a shower). Should also add that the shower is pretty small!

If I have one TINY gripe about Snowgoose, it's this - the apartments that are just above the garage have VERY cold floors in the kitchen and bathroom. The rest is carpeted, so not an issue. Otherwise, the heating's great. Electric wall heaters in both the living area and the bedroom, and a lovely gas log fire in the living area. VERY cosy, VERY romantic, and VERY warm!!

The fittings and furnishings throughout were top-notch. A beautifully-equipped kitchen (including dishwasher), washer and dryer, very comfortable dining and lounge furnishings etc etc. One other thing to mention - and I have to confess I was a little surprised - is that the king-sized bed is actually two 'king singles' moved together. There was a noticeable ridge down the middle (which of course can be avoided by sleeping close together :-) ).

Others have mentioned the location, which can't be beaten, and the friendliness/efficiency of the staff. Nothing further to say, except they're beyond reproach.

There's a small supermarket in Thredbo for last-minute items. Not the sort of place where one would do a week's shopping - it's a bit pricey - but it does the job. I'd recommend stocking up in Jindabyne on the way through. It's only another thirty minutes to Thredbo, so any frozen items aren't likely to melt enroute.

In summary, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Snowgoose again. In fact, next time I'm planning a trip to Thredbo, I'd think twice if Snowgoose was booked out!!

Room Tip: Ground floor units can have cold kitchen/bathroom floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMI6061, Owner at Snowgoose Apartments, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Tedf,
Thankyou so much for your comments on Snowgoose Apartments. We always love to hear feedback from our guests and to try to improve on any issues that have been raised.
The size of the shower recesses are currently being addressed and a few changes have been implemented that should make them feel roomier.
All bathrooms have underfloor heating that can be controlled by the guests . Unfortunately, they do not come on automatically when the weather cools down, they are all up and running now and ready to keep you toasty warm.
Being a ski resort we have many different requests for bedding configurations, hence all of our beds are king/ splits. We are in the process of purchasing "microcloud "mattress toppers for all our king beds . We have been assurred MicroCloud™ mattress toppers will provide superb support for our guests.We look forward to your return visit so you can sample our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Loved the Snowgoose and will certainly go back! We shared a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights with friends from overseas. It was a great choice - the apartments are modern, squeaky clean and supplied with everything you need - oven, microwave, cooktop, washing machine, dryer and, best of all when it gets chilly, a gas fire. The apartment had one of the best views in Thredbo, looking directly across to Crackenback and up to Eagles Nest. Within easy walking distance of restaurants, walking paths and the express chairlift to the top of the mountain. We were there in April, so the weather wasn't too cold - beaut for walking in a pristine alpine environment.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors for the outstanding mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed as a family of four for three nights in the school holidays April 2012. What a find - beautiful modern apartment, meticulously clean and in the heart of the village. Parking was provided although being so central we didn't need to use the car at all. The furnishings and fittings were all high quality, rooms spacious with a lovely balcony looking straight out onto the mountains. The apartment also has Austar, a dvd player and second TV in the main bedroom, just in case the weather turns. But we needn't have worried - we had perfect weather and Thredbo is a great place in summer. We had a summer pass (booked with an accomodation package from Thredbo tourist centre) which gave unlimited chairlift rides, daily round of golf, tennis court hire, toboggan rides, and unlimited entry to the leisure centre (complete with water slide!). Great time to visit, still enough shops and restauants open to keep us busy, but without the crowds. Can't wait to go back, and would definately stay at Snowgoose again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My partner and I had a 4 night stay at Snowgoose Apartments in a one bedroom apartment over Easter 2012. The location is perfect being central to the village and the apartment was modern, spotless and very spacious with a great view of the mountain. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

had a fantastic time here last July with my boyfriend. The room was spotless and really modern, great size and had a fab view of the mountain.
lovely owners who were very helpful. central location. would defo recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Delighted with our spacious and sleek apartment, which was beautifully decorated and in an ideal central location right behind the Alpine Hotel complex. You could not find more obliging and helpful owners, Rachael and Michael, who made special provisions at no cost to accommodate the needs of our Japanese student who was travelling with us.
Really, the best accommodation we encountered on our travels with everything thought of.

Don't bother with the pizza restaurant in the village....indifferent owners who could not care less about service and the restaurant full of negative signs

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our three nights at Snowgoose. The central location was the absolute highlight - easy to get to the village for bars and restaurants each night and close to the valley terminal. Our 1 bedroom apartment was lovely and very spacious, no doubt due to the fact that it was set up for disabled access. Snowgoose advertises 'spa baths to most units' but unfortunately ours did not have one, we assume due to the nature of the room. We were disappointed that we were on the ground floor with a view primarily of the building in front rather than being able to see much of the mountain. We would stay at Snowgoose again given its all-round convenience and comfort, but on a higher floor to get those promised views.

Room Tip: If you would like a decent view of the mountain, avoid the room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMI6061, Owner at Snowgoose Apartments, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your review , we always welcome feedback and are pleased to be able to help other travellers with booking tips. The ground floor apartment is very popular with many guests as it has very easy access and is the most spacious one bedroom. The view from Apartment 7 is straight up the Koscuiszko Express, as are all the apartments, naturally being on the ground floor you do look up the hill, but most guests still describe the view it as "spectactular."
Unfortunately, the 1 bedroom apartments do not have spa baths, however if you call us directly we can try to accommodate your wishes.( all 2 bedroom and studio apartments have spa baths). We are always available to answer the enquiries of guests as we are live in /on site managers. So please, feel free to call and ask any questions that will ensure your stay is a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snowgoose Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowgoose Apartments

Address: 25 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet location, just 30 seconds walk from the Thredbo village restaurants, bars and cafes, Snowgoose Apartments offers modern self-contained apartments with fabulous views of the mountains and ski fields. Each apartment includes heated bathroom floors, DVD player and wall-mounted flat-screen TV with Austar. All apartments - with the exception of the studio/loft - has a balcony looking out over the ski slopes. One and two bedroom apartments have a gas log fireplace. Fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities are provided. Guests have access to a drying room for ski equipment and a ski storage room. Free on-site car parking is included for 1 and 2 bedroom apartments.The village centre is only a 2-minute walk away and Jindabyne is a 30 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Snowgoose Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowgoose Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.