We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Lago Waters Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Lago Waters Resort to your Saves list
El Lago Waters Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   41 The Entrance Road, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in The Entrance
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the ellago during June. We stayed with the extended family. The entrance is a beautiful location and the hotel well located very central. Good value for money. Although older style hotel it is very clean, rooms well equipped, beds comfortable, staff lovely. Breakfast was fantastic, really enjoyed it. I was worried about the reviews but I was very pleasantly surprised!! I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    27
    25
    37
See reviews for
40
43
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We bought a 2- night stay on scoopon and were very excited and lookin forward to stay in a resort with a pool, spa pool, sauna and breakfast included. The voucher also stated we would get a bottle of wine on arrive.
Upon arriving we didn't get a bottle of wine and the hotel seemed pretty quiet. We had a room with pool view. Took a walk around the hotel and all the advertised things, the reasons we wanted to stay there were out of order. They are working around the pool and pretty much the whole pool area is closed off. I understand maintenance needs to be done in the winter season but no one had mentioned this, not even at the check-in. The builders start at 8am in the morning and like listening to the radio. Unfortunately the walls are so thin that you will not be able to sleep.
So you get up for the continental breakfast: usually $15. We expected a bit more not just cereal and toast that didn't seem fresh. Definitely would have not payed for it had it not been included.
Very disappointed but at least the central coast itself is nice and we didn't need to stay at the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

So yes, maybe not a resort..more like an upmarket Motel (if there is such a thing). My hubby and I visited here over the weekend and found the rooms to be spacious and clean. Hot breakfast is adequate but continental expensive. $15 for cereal is a bit harsh. We found the rooms to be very clean, clean sheets, clean robes,and clean bathroom. El lago has a pool, laundry facilities, games room, Foxtel and is close to the main attractions. Bit tired but I can see this place be really good come summer time. The entrance Hotel is close to for cheaper breakfasts but other than that, Not bad. WE had an issue in our room with the bath and the problem was immediately attended too and we got another room. They have a mini fridge and, kettle milk and cookies in the rooms. I find the critics here on trip advisor bit harsh. Its not 5 star, but its not that bad. about 3 in my books.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Doesn't deserve to have resort in the name THAT IS ALL!!!!!!!!!
Dust on the bed heads, they take a 200 dollar cash bond of you then give it back without checking the room to bad if that was your spending money what is the point, doors adjoins others rooms very noisy, have no elevator and awkward layout it's way over priced and cop this one wifi $20 an hour pfft.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stay at this Resort on the 27th April 2013 and was expecting a lot more
for $153.00 per night.
We got a apartment in a older style flat complex not what I was expecting
no baloney on 2 of the units (Complex of 8) guess what we had the no baloney room 8
No Shampoo or conditioner for overnight stays only soap.
On booking confirmation it states Includes Linen pack - thats because you have to make your own beds with the Linen.
Apartment was reasonally clean.
No Coffee or Tea satchells in apartment had to chase up.
Shame I didn't check trip advisor before booking as on the website as this Resort look like a nice place to stay, Lucky I had only 1 night's booking.
I rate this property as poor because I believe that the apartment I got was definetly overrated on price.
Cheryl
Cheryl

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great deal and value for money. Fantastic location. Not quite a resort but clean and nice room. Stayed in a family room with a lovely bathroom. Pool and outdoor area is nice.
Has a lot of potential!!! Overall good family get away. Would only stay again if a cheap deal was on offer like the one we bought.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly they should get rid of the word resort fom the title. A resort conjures up grandiose places but for the price we paid of $99 per night including full breakfast we got what we expected. A motel. I was a bit taken aback by having to pay upfront a $200 bond.....never done that at any place I've been too.....but we did get it back quickly. I did think that was a bit steep however.
Not sure what happened to the other people on Tripadvisor, but our room was immaculately clean. Yes the bathroom looked tired and old but it was clean, the floor was clean, the sheets were clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed ever. When we got rid of the word resort from our mind then we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was delicious lthough the woman there needed o be a bit friendlier.
Location was fabulous. It was quiet and within easy walking distance of town and easy access to longer walks with a walking track.
We didn't use the pool but it was being utilised greatly that weekend.
My husband and I had a relaxing and enjoyable few days away and don't understand where all the real negative remarks came from. We must have been lucky.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Lago Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Lago Waters Resort

Address: 41 The Entrance Road, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Lago Waters Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Lago Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Lago Waters Hotel The Entrance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lago Waters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.