We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming exterior - great Mexican experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hernando's Hideaway Cafe

Hernando's Hideaway Cafe
Hargraves Street, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
0424746321
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in The Entrance
Restaurant details
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unassuming exterior - great Mexican experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Two words - eat here. Mexican themed decor and with wonderful service and awesome food, and a touch of fusion - the flavours really hit you.

We got the pollo taco and the eld gringo burger. Highly recommended and keen to try coffee next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Entrance, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Hide All You like.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

It took three visits before i could pen this review. I just couldn't believe anything this good could be hidden away at The Entrance so I've tried Breakfast, Brunch & Dinner before reviewing.
It certainly is well hidden, like most of North Entrance's hot spots.To find it from The Entrance, cross the bridge, Turn right down to the main street [Hutton road] & go right again for a block.
It is Mexican themed, but caters to most tastes with every selection we've made coming up absolute trumps. From their big breakfast to specialized diets & fare you can't go wrong. Follow this up with the best coffees found locally & walk it off along the beach before brunch calls you back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome little intimate cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is something that the North Entrance area has been waiting for.Great little cafe with very cool hosts.Cafe has a Mexican style feel and menu but also has traditional fare as well.Fantastic food and coffee,very friendly staff and right across the road from the beautiful North Entrance beach.make sure you try the gringo burger

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OMG ITS SO YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Best coffee in The Entrance! Smoothies, food all terrific - whole family loved it and the owners of this sweet and stylish little cafe are so lovely - great place, hidden away in The Entrance North - seek it out you won't be sorry ☕️

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This Cafe is Truly A Hidden Away Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Our first experience here was after lunch and we ordered what we believe to be probably the best fish n chips we've ever tasted. The four small but long pieces of fish were super tasty and wrapped in a beautiful batter. The serving was very generous for us leaving us very satisfied.

This happy experience made sure we came back from breakfast the next day and once again we were not disappointed. The food was exciting & sensational and the coffee fantastic. Service was happy and very friendly. You could tell the chef loved what he was creating by the attention to detail when our plates of food arrived.

We are staying at Dunleith Holiday Park in our van and this delightful little cafe is right outside the Park. So convenient to walk to get our morning coffee. It is lovely and quiet, so if you are over the noisy tourist filled cafés in The Entrance then this is where you must come to get away from the hustle and bustle.

We are coming back to Dunleith Tourist Park in a few weeks with a group of friends and we're so looking forward to taking them to experience Hernando's Hideaway Cafe.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hernando's Hideaway Cafe also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to Hernando's Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hernando's Hideaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.