We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Entrance Lake House

The Entrance Lake House
1 Oakland Ave, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
+61 2 4332 5253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 64 Restaurants in The Entrance
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: From the freshly ground coffee and home baked treats to our a-la-carte meals, High Teas, and finger foods, the emphasis at The Entrance Lake House when it comes to our food and beverages is on quality, freshness and taste - all enjoyed while savouring the ambience of The Entrance Lake House's beautifully restored interior and admiring the uninterrupted lake views. Our Chefs combine the freshest, seasonal produce (sourced locally whenever possible) with Asian inspired flavours to create mouthwatering, beautifully presented dishes that reflect our multicultural heritage and relaxed coastal lifestyle. We are fully licensed and cater to special dietary requirements and any theme to suit your special celebration, function or wedding. All menus feature our specially sourced range of quality coffees, teas and other beverages. Being fully licensed, we also boast an extensive wine list featuring a selection of local and imported reds, whites and sparkling wine varieties, beers and cocktails. If you are planning an event such as a wedding, a Christmas party, a special celebration or a corporate function, our Event Management Team will tailor a menu that perfectly aligns with your vision, your theme, your taste, your group size and your budget. Contact Us to book a table or to have a chat about how we can tailor a truly memorable event for your function, wedding or special celebration.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“High Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went to The Entrance Lake House for High Tea. There were 18 of us in our Party and we were situated in the Loft upstairs. It is a large room with views of The Entrance Lake. The food was very nice and fresh. The service was good too. I was disappointed that there wasn't a better selection with the Tea's offered ie Green Tea, Earl Grey and Black Tea.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    20
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Value On Locals Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having heard some rave reviews about The Entrance Lakehouse, my partner and I rocked in to see what all the fuss was about. Overall, we weren't disappointed with the value: a 3 course meal for $35 on 'Locals Night' was reasonable but it was the ambience and the quality of the service experience which made for a very pleasant evening. The staff were extremely friendly, professional and attentive despite the fact that there was a close to capacity crowd both downstairs and up in the 'Loft' area. I had an entrée of San Choy Bow which was reasonable followed by a main of steak which was cooked to perfection. The desert was a Kaffir Lime Meringue which was underwhelming; however, the sides we ordered included the best chips I've ever had (getting a good chip may hardly be a motivating factor for some people but accompanied by some chili salt these were extremely moorish!). Drinks menu was extensive - great range of specialty beers and ciders. Others have told us that the breakfast menu is exceptional and there is much to be made of the lakeside location. This is certainly one of the better venues to frequent on the northern end of the Coast and I know we will be back to try to the regular menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merlin076
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked 'the loft' above the restaurant for my fathers 80th birthday lunch and had 40 guests attend the party. I must say the room was spacious with a bar attached and is spectacular. The view is to die for and the meals were delicious! The owners were extremely accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Because of the number of people attending we were given a set menu with quite a few choices for entrée , main and dessert.

Do yourself a favour and visit for either breakfast, lunch or dinner and I don't think you will be dissapointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic and well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My family all had lunch today at what used to be the Thai Restaurant on the water front. The owners clearly have a lot of passion and understanding of what the modern diner is after.The restaurant has been very tastefully renovated, the menu has a good selection of meals at all price ranges, with a "Lunch Menu Special", the staff and the wine list were all fantastic and akin to the trendy Sydney venues without the price tag.

The Restaurant which over looks the lake, also has a deck area (where we chose to sit). The restaurant was packed today with happy holiday makers, but the service was timely and not rushed. We chose to have the 2 course Lunch Menu, at $35 a head- some chose Entree and Main, whilst others enjoyed a Main and Dessert. We also ordered a few bottles of wine to share- from a well designed and priced wine list.

I found the food to be tasty and innovative, and a good sized portion. The Pork belly was awesome- kudos to the chef. The main of chilli prawn linguini was spicy without blowing my head off and clearly a house made pasta- an awesome effort for the amount I witnessed going to various tables! I managed to steal a spoonful of the Chocolate Mousse with the praline and coffee cream- Oh Holy DELICIOUS!

The staff were all friendly and informative on the menu and history of the venue. Although they were very busy one staff member still managed to show my family upstairs to The Loft, what a fantastic space for a function. It is charming, not like the stuffy function rooms that most venues offer.

Best part though? THE COFFEE... okay, so they have a fantastic product to work with (Toby's Estate) but they seem to be driving the Ferrari of Coffee Machines and the barista clearly knows what she is doing. Best coffee I have had on the Coast.

Great work to the Owners/Management/Staff of The Entrance Lake House.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good, but way too expensive for small servings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Eaten here three times now.......really enjoyed the food the first two times....but went there again recently and it does feel like the quality has dropped off considerably. You are paying top dollar for tiny servings that lack the finesse of a top restuarant. Maybe the chef has changed.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Entrance Lake House also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to The Entrance Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Entrance Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.