We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed #2” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Entrance Lake House

The Entrance Lake House
1 Oakland Ave, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
+61 2 4332 5253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in The Entrance
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: From the freshly ground coffee and home baked treats to our a-la-carte meals, High Teas, and finger foods, the emphasis at The Entrance Lake House when it comes to our food and beverages is on quality, freshness and taste - all enjoyed while savouring the ambience of The Entrance Lake House's beautifully restored interior and admiring the uninterrupted lake views. Our Chefs combine the freshest, seasonal produce (sourced locally whenever possible) with Asian inspired flavours to create mouthwatering, beautifully presented dishes that reflect our multicultural heritage and relaxed coastal lifestyle. We are fully licensed and cater to special dietary requirements and any theme to suit your special celebration, function or wedding. All menus feature our specially sourced range of quality coffees, teas and other beverages. Being fully licensed, we also boast an extensive wine list featuring a selection of local and imported reds, whites and sparkling wine varieties, beers and cocktails. If you are planning an event such as a wedding, a Christmas party, a special celebration or a corporate function, our Event Management Team will tailor a menu that perfectly aligns with your vision, your theme, your taste, your group size and your budget. Contact Us to book a table or to have a chat about how we can tailor a truly memorable event for your function, wedding or special celebration.
Terrigal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed #2”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Was so excited about the visit based upon reviews and the look of the restaurant only to walk away knowing unfortunately I will not return. Arrived at 1.15, ordered by 1.30 off the 2 course set menu (main & dessert), by 2.20 I could not help but ask how far off our mains were. 2.35pm they arrived. Nice but not worth the wait of an hour. Then thinking as we had ordered dessert the same time as the main it would only be a 20 minute maximum wait - turned out still had not received by 3.30pm and we had to leave - no dessert. Not once were we approached to be apologised too for the wait. (sad face) Although dessert was taken off the bill we were not apologised too by management which I think would have been a minumum expectation after sitting there for over 2 hours and only having a main meal. If its a "long wait" that you are seeking this is the restaurant for you. Very unprofessional to seat so many diners and only have one chef on. I will not be recommending the restaurant based upon this experience here. Really disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    66
    25
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avoca Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had two great visits outside peak times when service was efficient, friendly, views wonderful and we were so happy we had recommended to visitors to our shop and friends around the coast. Those visits would have gotten 4 stars...but our latest visit was so disappointing we're not sure we'll come back.
1 hr 15 for food to be served was way too long, then the food came out one meal at a time dragging that time out to over 1 hr 30. Two dishes were completely forgotten even though we were told they were coming and the seafood chowder was so sweet it should have been a desert. It was also missing two of its main ingredients, prawns and barramundi which was why it was ordered in the first place so we ended up eating something we really didn't want but didn't want to ask for another meal because we didn't want to wait. This trip was for a birthday celebration and our birthday person was served last and her entree forgotten completely.
The saving grace was a wonderful waitress who apologised and reduced the bill...but we came for the food and a wonderful experience and it was far from that. All the food looks amazing and is presented well but we would have preferred less time on presentation and instead to have received wholesome, value for money food served in good time.
Really dissappointed we thought we had found a gem at the entrance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining at the Ennie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Entrance is one of the most underrated places in NSW: stunningly beautiful lakes + beaches, pelicans, and a nostalgic fun fair. What it has been missing is fine dining- The Lakehouse changes all that. This place is sharp: white, chic interiors with a beachy feel to suit it's geographic location. I've eaten here twice in a week- once for brunch with the kids (after a cycle around the lake) and once for a kid-free dinner. Both times I left impressed: excellent table service (rare on the coast), beautiful + tasty food, and a relaxed vibe. This is just what the Ennie needs...now watch and wait as the rest of the suburb's dining scrambles to catch up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went for breakfast, and loved it. The view, food and staff were all excellent. We would certainly go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were so impressed with the Lake House during our recent stay in The Entrance - fabulous position and beautifully renovated to make the most of the lake view
The food was really yummy with an extensive menu and great coffee
we were taken upstairs to look at a function area and where they have high teas - wonderful space for a party -
definitely worth at least one visit -

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Entrance Lake House also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
Tumbi Umbi, The Entrance
 

Been to The Entrance Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Entrance Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.