We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance to your Saves list
Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   18 Coral Street, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We arrived at The Entrance looking for a 1-2 night stay. We went to Oaks first to view what deals they had. Oaks allowed us to go up and look at the apartment before booking. We were impressed but were not willing to pay the hefty price. Waldorf did not allow us to look at the room before booking (probably for a reason) but it was cheaper, (well cheap for Australia, absure for European standards) From there we were let down.
The rooms were boring and outdated. The bathroom was horrible. Our ocean view was pathetic. We could not stay on out balcony as we were placed right above a loud vent. Were not told that level 3 would be the lowest balcony! Room was reasonably well cleaned (excluding the bathroom). We spent the whole day on the beach and around and were excited to go for a swim in what looked like a nice pool in the pictures. The pool was TINY and FREEZING! Not what we expected at all. Such a small pool on a massive terrace. The terrace has almost no seating and nothing else, no BBQ. We left the next day after an average breakfast.

Room Tip: Wouldn't reccoment The Entrance as a location and would only reccomend Waldorf if your on a budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    25
    21
    27
See reviews for
62
23
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

1- We have been told we are going to get oceain view , But the hotel in 2nd line and only the view of the back of the front line resturants which you can see the dusty roof and resturant rubish it ws awful..
2-we have been told early check in around 10 AM might be arranged , and it was made at 1:10 PM.
3-Room conditions are very bad it is not 4 stars hotel it might be 3 stars .
4-Swimming pole is very small it can handle 3 families or two maximum.
5-Resturant is like motel resturant , very small and not up to standred.
6-we were two families we booked one single room apartment and one 2 Rooms apartment , on prices $165 and $245 , it is expensive as we have found better rates in front line 4 stars apartement and have far more better views and better facilities and conditions.
7-Staff was not as friendly as expected .
Overall , I have been to lots of hotel all over Sydney , this one to my mind was the worset and I will never return back . and never recommend to a friend .

Room Tip: the higher the better but hotel is only 5 level , you will not get nice ocean view up to 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here with our son and grandson in a two bedroom apartment in December 2011, even if it was raining all the time we were there we enjoyed it. The apartment was clean and had plenty of equipment for cooking if you needed to. You get a complimentary continental breakfast for two people even though we had four in our apartment but the cost for the extra people was $5 per person. I found the staff helpful and friendly. If going to stay in this area again I would use these apartments. We booked on lastminute.com and got a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the Waldorf, Entrance, in February 2011. We had been here before in 2008 and hence cambe back. However our experience in 2011 was appalling. It seems the apartments ar not renovated for years.
Waldorf, the Entrance, claims to be 4 stars, the conditions we have experienced would not equate to even 3 stars.

When we first entered our room, the first thing we noticed was the foul smell of mould/old carpet. Then we started noticing that some cutlery was dirty, the lounge was dirty (we were disgusted to sit on it), curtains were dirty. The bathroom, had wall damage and cracks which were evidently due to the humidity. This was a hazard as my wife was pregnant and has mould allergy.

The TV remote was also dirty and was not working (batteries didn't have a cover), the TV picture was unclear.

We complained to the owner/Manager at the time, who did not offer to place us in another better room if there was any or address any of these issues, there was no apology. We took pictures as evidence.

At the end of our stay we were refunded a mere $40 from the $360 we paid for the two nights.

We were disappointed to say the least.

Michael

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This property is a bit tired and old, but in a superb location. The apartment we stayed in was big, clean and quite comfortable. The bed was okay but not great. There was a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom, and that was a great help since we had been travelling for a week. The floor was a bit dirty, but the apartment was otherwise quite clean. The bathroom fan wasn't very efficient.
All the same, the apartment served our purpose very well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The place is clean but not four star as suggested, it is three star.
DO NOT leave your car in the public parking lot
Staff were rude
The "pool" is not a swimming pool but a "splash" pool
would benefit from having celing fans in rooms and a fan in the bathroom to dissepate steam.
View was great and walking distance to water and shops.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel 2 years ago i found the rooms clean and actually enjoyable. Being a great location thought we would come back what a disapointment we got. The carpets were very dirty that we found after walking on them for 20 min our feet were black. I took plenty of photos of things that needed fixing/cleaning i forwarded them to management, he was already aware of most of these issues but his apology was not sincere at all he just said "oh i will get this sorted" i think he should of offered us money back off our weekend stay considering we payed $220 per night.

Room Tip: I have no tips i will not be holidaying there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance

Address: 18 Coral Street, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Apartments "The Entrance." We have an Apartment to suit your holiday/work needs. We have Studio, 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments available. They are fully furnished including a full laundry (Washing Machine & Dryer). All our apartments are air conditioned with 22 Foxtel channels at no extra charge. We have an outdoor Pool with a large terraced area with outdoor settings on level 4. The Coffee Shop is conveniently located on the ground floor near Reception and the front entry. A range of items are available for breakfast through the Coffee Shop at very competitive prices. A price Menu is available on request. Some packages include a basic Continental Breakfast for two at no extra charge. We are situated within walking distance to the Lake, Beaches, Restaurants, Shops and Pubs, The Wyong City Council operates a fun Water Land on the Boardwalk for the kids. It is only minutes from the Hotel and is free of charge. Fishing Spots are plentiful at The Entrance with local boat hire also available. Most Apartments have a variety of views of the local area. Ocean and Lakeview Apartments sell quickly and are on a first come first served basis so it is suggested to make your booking/s early. Pelican feeding is held every day at 3:30pm on the Boardwalk and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.