We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance

Save Saved
You added Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   89 The Entrance Road, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Citigate Sebel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in The Entrance
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The only 3 things that are good in this hotel are the Great Location, the Friendly staff and the heated pool.

When it comes to cleanness, sleeping quality, furniture and amenities, it is shocking.... probably the worse place you can ever stay at.

As for staying a night there, you would be better off staying at a caravan park or even in your car.

I don't think they have housekeeping, as the place was bad. As soon as you step into that place, you get the creepy feeling. NEVER AGAIN. We were not even comfortable to put our heads on the pillows, you could never know.

It wouldn't harm the hotel management to invest a little on the place, it is run down... and the rates are not cheep, but you would be better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate the feedback you have provided from your stay. It is most disappointing to read the room did not meet your expectations. I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness to housekeeping and have addressed these issues with the team leader.
It was fantastic you acknowledged the friendly staff and glad you were able to enjoy the outdoor heated pool. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to show this is not standard practice we are continually striving for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    77
    47
    25
    29
See reviews for
56
102
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has the right people on the front desk. Their friendly and infectious smiles were the perfect remedy after a long drive. The location was perfect and the rooms were clean and well appointed. We would recommend this hotel and we will be back for another well-earned rest. A special mention to Sandra on the front desk, she is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for providing comment from your recent stay with us at Oaks Waterfront. Your time and positive feedback is much appreciated. It was fantastic to read our friendly staff were there to welcome you upon your arrival. We look forward to your next visit to The Entrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on level 5. Room was clean and tidy. View was lovely and beds were comfortable. Was self contained and had a fridge, microwave and cooktop. Hotel was not affected by outside noise and we all had a good nights rest.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your self contained apartment on level 5. We hope to welcome you back to the Oaks Waterfront soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ocean view apartment very good now renovations have been completed...Only drawbacks are the lack of WiFi for the iPad and no Foxtel which is extremely silly in this day and age!! Front office staff extremely helpful, especially Sandra!! A great place for a mid-week break due to it's proximity from Sydney!!

Room Tip: Ocean view apartment excellent with excellent views of ocean and the Entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay at Oaks Waterfront. It was fantastic to read you found the front office staff extremely helpful throughout your stay here. I have taken your comments regarding the WiFi on board. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is a joke, $250 a night, no service, the place is filthy, and they have the cheek to charge you an extra $50 if the room is left unsatisfactory, the washing machine didn't spin so I had to hand ring my clothes, and when i rang reception she didnt care, felt like I was in the 50's, the water was luke warm in the shower, the shower and bathroom was like a hospital with a seat in the shower, I would honestly prefer to go camping than ever stay here, I honestly never wright reviews but I was so angry with the terrible service that I couldn't help it, I really just want to stop anyone else from making the same mistake and staying here, and the restaurant is the same, terrible service, all the food came out wrong, we had short straws on the side of our coffee cups that we were supposed to use as spoons, as they didn't have any spoons left which was strange as the place was empty, all I can say is don't stay here sleep in your car and get maccas

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate you providing feedback from your stay with us. It is disappointing to read of the maintenance issues which you had in this apartment. I have spoken directly to the maintenance department so we can have these issued addressed. In regards to the restaurant, they are privately owned and operate separately to the hotel but I have passed your feedback onto them. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show this is not the standard we continually strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment. We thought the room was out dated as the shower was awkward to get in and out of. Whilst in the shower we kept hitting our elbow on the pensioner hand rail which you needed to get in the shower. We could hear noises from the rooms above. Could not understand the big step to go onto the balcony. The staff were very friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback from your stay at Oaks Waterfront Resort. My apologies you found the shower difficult to step in and out off in this specific room. If you do wish to stay with us in the future please contact one of our helpful staff members who would be happy to recommend a room with a flat floor shower. It was fantastic to read you found the staff at Oaks Waterfront to be very friendly. We do hope to welcome you back to The Entrance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our third stay at the resort and have always stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment and have paid extra to have an "ocean view" . This time we were on the 5th floor on the southern corner and the outlook was magnificent. Staff were very polite and helpful. Position of the resort is great - lock up the car and walk everywhere - lots of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Pay extra to have an ocean view. Corner suites are the best - more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay with us at Oaks Waterfront. It is always pleasing to read such positive comments from guests. The staff look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your fourth stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance

Address: 89 The Entrance Road, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Citigate Sebel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Waterfront Resort idyllically located at the water’s edge, provides a wonderful escape destination for couples, families or groups with superb views of the stunning surf beach and Tuggerah Lake. Ideal for relaxed holidays and weekends away, Oaks Waterfront Resort offers a choice of studio, one and two bedroom luxury loft apartments and executive, spacious one and two bedroom fully self contained apartments, most with expansive views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance Hotel The Entrance
Oaks Waterfront The Entrance
Oaks Waterfront Hotel The Entrance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.