We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Magnificent Location and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Jinja

Bistro Jinja
12 The Entrance Road | Azzurro Blu Wharf, The Entrance, New South Wales, Australia
+61 43334999
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in The Entrance
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Australian, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Relaxed waterfront dining offering a selection of Thai, Indonesian, Vietnamese dishes together with some Australian bistro classics. Fully Licenced, BYO wines welcome (corkage fee applies)
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Consistently Magnificent Location and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have returned to The Entrance and once again (our fifth visit over the past 12 months) and have enjoyed immensely this wonderful location for an evening meal with excellent, great food and very friendly service.

We have noted the continuous changes in the 'black board' selection, and on every occasion, we have been very pleased with the quality of what we have ordered. The wine selection, whilst limited in range, is quite acceptable and the cost per glass is very reasonable.

Bistro Jinja is best enjoyed in the evening because of the outlook, ambience and experience of dining in a location where you can also enjoy watching the wildlife.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chittaway Bay, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner with family”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very disappointing. The massaman was poor to say the least. And as for the packet pork crackles on top of one of the dishes, disgusting!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

After reading Trip Advisor we were expecting good food. Coconut Prawns were Ok but the Musaman Beef was very ordinary - no real flavor and not sweet at all. My wife had the satay which was very dry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have dined at Bistro Jinja many times. It is always a pleasant experience, with it's simplicity, welcoming staff, great food with an ever changing specials board at a location that is hard to beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“View the best asset”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

After reading the great reviews I was expecting a great feed . I struggled to find something I wanted to eat not expecting it to be fully Asian or pub food choices so I ordered a masuman curry , at $24 was expecting a large amount to be able to share but when the food came although it was beautifully presented was a very small serve with a lot of rice and didn't have a lot of flavour . Another person at our table had Thai crab cakes which are always chilli hot the comment was I think they forgot to put the chilli in . The nasi goreni and pad thai looked like they were just noodles or rice without much else .The people who ordered chicken or fish dishes which were more fusion Thai seemed to like their meal and they were nicely presented . As the it's more of a cafe the menu didn't seem to suit it's surrounds and had nothing on the tables at all . I kind of wonder if its a bistro or a Thai restaurant .
On the plus side it has a lot of potential as the view is lovely sitting on the water looking out over the Entrance lake

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Jinja also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
Tumbi Umbi, The Entrance
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro Jinja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Jinja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.