We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leave sydney for this restaurant.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Jinja

Bistro Jinja
12 The Entrance Road | Azzurro Blu Wharf, The Entrance, New South Wales, Australia
+61 43334999
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in The Entrance
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Australian, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Relaxed waterfront dining offering a selection of Thai, Indonesian, Vietnamese dishes together with some Australian bistro classics. Fully Licenced, BYO wines welcome (corkage fee applies)
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“leave sydney for this restaurant.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Best restaurant asian/modern oz. No matter what you order you will love your dish. Ate there 3 nights in one weekend (and previously as well) and every choice surpassed the one before.
Lovely view, eat in or outside.
Excellent service reasonable $ for such quality!
Closes early- but every restaurant in the area does.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Always Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Viisted Bistro Jinja the other morning for a late breakfast, following previous visits here at lunch time. The breakfast menu, whilst not extensive still provided a good choice, particularly offering bacon and eggs combinations. The food was excellent and at $9 a meal it was great value.
On previous visits our lunch was of the same high standard. Once again not an extensive menu but the Asian cuisine is first class. Mains range from $20 to $25, and once again the servings are more than adequate - value for money. Highly recommend the Nasi Goreng and spring rolls.
The service is very good, prompt and efficient.
Located on the waterfront, near to the bridge - traffic noise is not a distraction.
On a hot summer's day the cool breeze is refreshing, just as this restaurant is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have visited Jinja 3-4 times and each time the food,service and ambiance was great. I highly recommend this restaurant/cafe to anyone visiting The Entrance.

Only grip I have was I wish it was open all day with a cocktail bar as it would be quite easy to spend a lazy afternoon at this great place.

Great to see new restaurants raising the bar on the Coast

Compliments to the owners!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, impressive food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were really impressed with Bistro Jinja. The waterfront location is lovely and we were given a choice of indoor or outdoor seating.
Can highly recommend the duck rice paper roll as an entree, was fresh and delicious.
Mains were generous size and value for money.
Dessert was amazing- we shared the chocolate mousse and loved it- was enough for 2 people.
Service was warm and friendly with complimentary prawn crackers and an extra serving of their plum dipping sauce because we loved it so much.
Will definitely we back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Jen & I go there regularly, the food, venue and service is excellent. Pete & Fiona have done a great job and the other staff are friendly

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Jinja also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro Jinja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Jinja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.