We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything you need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Coachman Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Coachman Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   33 Gordon Road | Long Jetty, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in The Entrance
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Has everything you need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great little place to stay for a solo or couple. Everything, I needed for a nights stay - wifi, breakfast, fridge, hairdryer, iron and an ironing board. Just perfect! A friendly welcome and farewell. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely, quiet, small motel for couples. if you enjoy cycling,
jogging or walking, the riverside walks and bike tracks with picnic areas
are right behind the motel. Resident dog, Jazzy is a real treat to
brighten your stay. The owners are aiming to please and
accommodate you. they were happy to store our bikes and lend us magazines.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0010ric, Owner at The Coachman Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Yes Finally someone gets it... (if you are looking for family accommodation, we are not that and you will find us too small for your needs) We cater to couples and single travelers who want a quiet relaxed place to relax and recharge, bring your bike or borrow ours, catch up on (relatively current) magazines and enjoy the free Foxtel, cool off in the pool, take a wander by the lake or grab a meal at one of the nearby restaurants, basically chill out. If you need something simply ask us, these are the type of experiences we hope you enjoyed whilst staying with us and please know you are most welcome anytime

Kindest regards
Hitomi, Ric and of course Jazz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed 11/1/14 and found it to be lovely, quiet, very comfortable and affordable. Our room overlooked the pool and was very clean and tidy, got the morning sun, superb to sit outside and read with a glass of cold OJ. The owners only too happy to please.The surrounds of The Lakes and a short walk to the Diggers Club was perfect for us. Would return and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0010ric, Owner at The Coachman Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are quite chuffed you enjoyed our pool view Boutique Double room
it really is a great spot to catch the early morning sun, We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, Please come back anytime
Kindest Regards
Ric, Hitomi & Jaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I recently spent a night at this property and found it to be excellent value for money. My charming room overlooked the pool and it was a lovely sunny spot for breakfast in my room. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean, and the bed was very comfortable as I live in a rural area I appreciated the quietness not far from a busy main road. I do enjoy my coffee and loved the plunger and "real" coffee provided for my use. the owner Richard suggested we eat at the local Thai restaurant and the food was excellent just a short walk from the motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0010ric, Owner at The Coachman Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank You for your Kind thoughts and review of our small Motel, we are only too happy to ensure your stay is pleasant and relaxing local knowledge is provided free of course (and sometimes it's even right). Anyway we thank you for choosing our place, Please come again soon

Ric & Hitomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found the room to be clean, and comfortable. The area is fairly quiet so our sleep was good. We had a room at the back so the breezes from the lake were nice through the night. The stairs to get up to the room were a bit narrow and had a couple of tight turns when I carried the bags up from the car, otherwise no problems.
Rick is friendly and helpful , especially with his directions to the eateries only a short walk away and to the best way to avoid a long wait at the highway for travelling north or south.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0010ric, Owner at The Coachman Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank You for your kind words, We hope you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon
Kind Regards
Ric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect choice if you are after a quiet location near The Entrance. Ask for the room at the back of the hotel as it has a view over the lake. Interior is very dated though and the bed was a bit hard for my husband. Owners very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0010ric, Owner at The Coachman Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you arrived at your destination safely. We are constantly updating the whole motel, whilst still holding to our Retro/green as possible ethos. In the last six months we have gone even greener and now produce ALL the motel's hot water from the power of the sun as well as about 50% of our electrical usage is put back into the grid, all our external lighting is low energy usage and we have FINALLY completed the massive drainage issue and water recycling earthworks, currently we are constructing the area for a solar heated indoor spa, hot rock sauna and plunge pool to be themed on our extensive travels in Japan. Our rooms are themed on classic country style which takes a lot to maintain, anyway your comments are noted and thanks again for staying
Kindest Regards
Ric & Hitomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I rang before staying to ask if I could get in a bit early as we had to get changed for a wedding at 3pm. After the lady established I was a "WotIf" customer "Oh I see you are a Wotif Customer), I was told there would be an "Extra" charge to get in before 3pm.

I was appalled to pay "inconvenience money" for an empty room but was told the owner would have to return from lunch to let me in. Duuhh what about leaving the key in the door, I had already paid for it. So he got his ten bucks inconvenience money - cheap but insulting.

Parking is at the side and cramped, don't bring a big car. The room is very dated about 1980's, feels gloomy. Dark old chipboard cupboards with the edges peeling. The cook-top is and old cast iron plates with faded tin covers. The bed had well worn grooves from overuse and should have been replaced ages ago. The bathroom is very small and cramped. If you sit on the toilet you have to splay your legs around the vanity so fit. The old plastic kettle is stained and full of sediment, should have been replaced ages ago. The polished wood floors might be a selling point for you but they make it look older and make it cold to walk on and noisy. The steps going up to the rooms are dirty and worn, no tiles.

Air conditioner is an old dark brown 80's in the wall unit and is very noisy. It vibrates that much you would never use it if you were sleeping.

Maybe I got a special "Wotif" room. Get used to it mate that's how I book Motels all around the world along with many others.

Two stars at best!

Enjoy the ten bucks - you lost a customer and I will pass my thoughts onto others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0010ric, Owner at The Coachman Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
When one makes a booking for ANYTHING online, it's SIMPLY COMMON SENSE to read the entire form, before finalizing your booking, indeed with all online sites, you must tick a box stating that you have read and understood the terms and conditions, before you can proceed to payment. All Our advertisements whether online or in print clearly state check in is from 3pm until 8pm (9pm in summer), It also states Early Check in or late Check Out may be available at extra cost. YES EXTRA COST. If you rent a boat /car or any thing and want it for a longer period it's extra cost, Book an airline ticket and see what extras you get for free. A motel unit is simply another item being rented, Our costs are worked in a similar manner to anything else that is rented and priced accordingly yet we still manage to provide many extras beyond what is required, like free plunger coffee, free wifi, free 40+ cable TV channels, free soaps and shampoo and we are happy to do so, we want you to enjoy your time with us, we provide local Knowledge so you can get to your wedding/event on-time, we changed our plans to accommodate his requests and just because it's a motel he expected us to do this for free. Read all the other reviews on here before judging us and you will see "This review is here simply because the anonymous reviewer didn't read the advertised product fully". Go to any online booking site and read our advertised packages and decide for your self. We stand beside our product and our policies, if you like us we look forward to seeing you, if you don't that's OK, have a great holiday and don't get your knickers in a twist over $10. because life is simply too short
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coachman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Motor Inn

Address: 33 Gordon Road | Long Jetty, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coachman Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Coachman Motor Inn, Long Jetty. We are located just off the Central Coast highway in “quiet” Gordon Road, so no traffic noise rumbling past your room, we are proud to offer luxurious 3 ½ Star accommodation (AAA Rated) in our B & B style motel run the old fashioned way – offering warm, friendly service and hospitality with all the comforts of home.Nestled perfectly between the picturesque Tuggerah lake and the golden sands of Central Coast’s Best beaches. Set amid lovingly tended gardens with a crystal clear pool. We are a few minutes stroll from great local restaurants, or within seconds you can be at the lake's waters edge, walking or bike riding along the 12 kilometre specially built bike path.Our accommodation is comprised of 7 individually styled rooms,located on level one, serviced daily offering everything you may need for a comfortable stay, with many personal touches you will only find in a small family run establishment. Whether you are with us for one night or a week, for business or a holiday you will find The Coachman Motor Inn is the perfect spot for you.We run an honest business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Coachman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coachman Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.