We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Terrigal
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel is in the center of Terrigal with beach view, room was spacious, clean and staff was very friendly. A great location for family get away, wedding and conference. It can get noisy during weekends due to events and bar.

Room Tip: The higher level will be better in both views and hide away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Ada C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our beachside location and surroundings.
We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments onboard as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    220
    100
    33
    18
See reviews for
126
229
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a work get away. The room was very good - clean, well equiped, modern and very good view. Food was excellent including the breakfast and the staff weer very helpfull. The conference facilities we used 0 the Boardroom, was good in regards to space but it has no windows so became cave like after 2 days.
Gym was small but ok.
Overall the stay was very good and for such a large hotel it still provided a good boutique like feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Chris L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
We are delighted to read that you were able to experience a boutique like feel at our hotel and enjoyed our facilities as part of your work get away.
Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to. We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments onboard as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.
We look forward to hosting your next work event and hope to also welcome you back for some leisure time.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly receptionist gave us an ideal room on the front corner of the building so we had a view. Great room with all amenities and facilities. Such a nice town and a beautiful place to stay.
Only negative was the charges for parking, which should be free in country towns. Beware of the parking police if you park in the street. They were having a field day!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Robyn L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It was wonderful to find that you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a great view from your room.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their friendliness.
Thank you for your recommendations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times over the years and it is still a great get away close to Sydney. Terrigal is a lovely place for walks and a few shops. We booked 2 interconnecting rooms and check in was a breeze. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a lovely outlook and we found all staff to be pleasant and friendly. We could see there were lots of different large groups staying in the hotel however we were not disturbed at all at night. Noise from music and people does come up from the bar underneath, however this didn't keep us awake at night so I presume it must close at a reasonable hour.
The only negative I have on the hotel is the cocktail style bar, the Lord Ashley Lounge. And I have found every time I stay here this bar is the only let down to the stay. We went down for a drink on the Friday night to find that the front half of the bar was cordoned off for a private function. No problem with that except that they had taken practically all the furniture from the bar area so there was nowhere to sit. All that was left was about 3 tables with chairs and 3 bar stools. As these were already taken and the place looked so sparse with no where to go with our drinks, we didn't order and left. I'd say most people had done this as other than the people who managed to score a seat, there was no one else in the bar. It made it look very empty and unwelcoming for a Friday night drink. On other occasions I have found this bar to be understaffed in the evening when you have groups of people coming down and ordering cocktails. It's a shame as this would be a nice spot for a drink if you don't want to go to the pub downstairs.
The pool area is lovely but does get noisy with families. As it is quite a contained area you can't really get away from the noise so I imagine it would be nice and peaceful for mid week stays.
The breakfast buffet is lovely, with beautiful surroundings and everything you could think to choose from.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view over the pool area and to the ocean are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Alison F
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We appreciate the detail you have provided on all aspects of your stay.
I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our beachside location and hotel facilities, in particular, the buffet breakfast.
It was disappointing to read that you encountered some disappointments in relation to our Lord Ashley Bar. This is certainly not the experience we desire for our guests.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We hope that this has not marred future opportunities for us to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Terrigal, and it was fantastic. The hotel has been refurbished, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and the staff were amazing. We had a room at the back of the hotel (so very quiet), but still had an ocean view - I think all the goes rooms do. All guest and function areas were great. The Lord Ashley Bar is really cosy. There was a wedding while we were there, being held in the atrium of the restaurant. Although we could hear the festivities, it did not make it too loud to hold a conversation. And what a spot for a wedding or special party - space for about 90 people, floor to ceiling glass overlooking Terrigal beach. Fantastic!
We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. It is a little hit or miss in that my meals were superb (scallops followed by duck), whilst my husbands salmon was overcooked. Otherwise, service and attention to detail was really good. Well done to Crown Plaza Terrigal and thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Soozinoz,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It was delightful to read that you and your husband had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the beautiful ocean view from your room.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, hotel and function facilities.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited here in early-mid September for a conference. Spectacular location, opposite the beach and right in the middle of the town shopping precinct.

Check-in was attended to in a professional and efficient manner by a friendly staff member, who explained everything necessary - where to find our room, how the car parking system worked, quick run-down on the establishment facilities etc. Check-out was also carried out in a friendly efficient manner.

Room - a good size, spectacular view overlooking the swimming pool and over the pool to the beach, comfortable and very clean. Adequate power-points for our needs.

Food - delightfully FRESH - we ate 3 meals a day here and had morning/afternoon teas as well for the duration of the conference and it was so nice to have generous quantities of very fresh food, served by friendly, helpful staff. We ate at Seasalt for breakfast and lunches, had a conference dinner in another room there and had a casual meal downstairs in the pub area. Every meal we had was plentiful, fresh and good,

Facilities: Generally high standard and well maintained. Bath/shower area starting to show a little wear and several of our companions had trouble with the electronic card-keys.

It is a pity that noise from the live band, jukebox and people in the extremely popular downstairs pub area (which is located opposite the beach and sits underneath the swimming pool installation) meant that we had to keep our balcony doors closed on both Friday night and Sunday afternoon and evening till about 11pm. Also, housekeeping was still cleaning rooms at 6pm on the Sunday night - colleagues who'd been out most of the day and wanted to return to their room to change for dinner found housekeeping had still not reached their room. If you are full or close to it, the budget should surely be able to stretch to an extra pair of hands or two to eliminate that problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear macsla255349,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
We appreciate the detail you have provided on all aspects of your stay and conference.
It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our beachside location and surroundings and the fresh food served during the conference and at our Seasalt restaurant. We also appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their helpfulness.
Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to. We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments on board as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.
We look forward to hosting your event on the next occasion and hope to also welcome you back for some leisure time.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful place to stay and i enjoyed the accomodation and would recommend staying here again but i have given this Crown Plaza 4 stars rather than 5 star rating becouse it is a pity that the Seasalt Restaurant during dinner does not have a very family friendly attitude. I am used to staying in 5 star hotels and resorts and often even more luxurious and exclusive than this one and i have never encountered this before at any other Crown Plaza. In many places i have been, my child is usually given a pack of crayons and colouring in pack to play and keep her busy. It is uncomfortable for families of young children to dine here due to the rude comment and attitude of some of the wait staff and it would be wise if management understands that it is important for good customer relations to be more family friendly and i would suggest the wait staff serving dinner in the Seasalt Restaurant be re-trained in this area. The restaurant is large enough to even seat families in one area and dressed up diners in another and that would be one possible solution to keep everyone happy. Breakfast on the other hand was very lovely and very accomodating for everyone and the quality and selection of the food was excellent. Overall other than my one complaint, this hotel was lovely. The food was delicious, the views amazing and the beds very comfortable and i would stay here again next time im in Terrigal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear SydneyBec,
It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and took pleasure in our beachside location.
I was concerned to hear, however, on this occasion that you experienced some disappointments relating to the service in our Seasalt Restaurant.
This is not the customer journey that we wish our guests to experience and I would very much appreciate it, if you could provide your details so that I can make contact with you in a personal way to discuss further.

I can be contacted at reservations.terrigal@ihg.com, I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Terrigal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.