We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Noir

Le Chat Noir
10 Kurrawyba Avenue, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
+61 2 4385 7077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,802 reviews 2,802 reviews
1,606 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 361 cities Reviews in 361 cities
1,337 helpful votes 1,337 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Living in Terrigal, we would like to have more quality restaurants but by comparison to city eateries, this is just average. Although the owners have changed, it still seems to be the same chefs and the food is just so so French. The staff are friendly and try as hard as they can but it is relatively expensive for what is ordinary food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    95
    22
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ah, nostalgie, quand tu nous tiens !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Even though we already knew our favourite restaurant had changed ownership, we were still willing to give it a go. As soon as we came in, however, we noticed that the tables and chairs had changed. Gone were the white table cloths and comfortable chairs. The food was served on square plates, in a shambolic attempt at "updating" which is about the worst thing you can do to a French eating establishment! The first bite of the lamb that I had ordered confirmed my fears: the typically French touch had been replaced with something bland and uninteresting. I felt like crying... I must say the waitress appeared to be very understanding, but I already knew this would be our last visit to Le Chat Noir, after several years of enjoying its authentic French cuisine. Adieu et vive la nostalgie !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlfieldChatsworth, Owner at Le Chat Noir, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Margrietje7175

I am sorry that you were disappointed following your recent visit to Le Chat Noir. As the new owners we have initiated some changes, including a move towards a more modern and up to date approach to the decor and menu; which has received lots of positive feedback. We would love to have you back so please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally take care of you.

Faites-vous des amis prompts à vous censurer....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Changed ownership”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been there several times when we felt like French for a change. They have recently changed ownership. They have cut way back on the menu. The escargot has changed from garlic in shells to something completely blase. The service was less than adequate. Though we were partly to blame because our picky friend was trying to find something vegetarian, it took them almost 2 hours to get our food. We will not be going back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a function at le chat noir, last minute planning on our part. We could not have found a more fitting venue If we had months to organise ourselves and count ourselves quite lucky to have found the restaurant.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food was well presented and tasted great - full of flavour, meat fell off the bone. I would have no hesitation in going there again and recommend it to others on trip advisor. My only negative was that the toilets were a bit average.

in summary: Affordable, clean, friendly, good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved the food here. The crumbed gooat's cheese entree was perfect. In summary it seemed the food was traditional French with a twist. We ate on a quiet Monday night in winter, so there wasn't much of a convivial atmosphere. While the food was outstanding, it was our waitress's first night so she was very nervous and there were a few glitches with the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Noir also viewed

Terrigal, New South Wales
Terrigal, New South Wales
 
Terrigal, New South Wales
Terrigal, New South Wales
 

Been to Le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.