We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the Small few who have a complaint about the Black Swan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Swan Waterfront Motel

Black Swan Waterfront Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Save
You added Black Swan Waterfront Motel to your Saves list
137 Bowman Street, Swansea, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swansea
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
“To the Small few who have a complaint about the Black Swan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

You shouild act like responsible adults. My husband and I have been staying at the mpotel twice a year for the past 12 years. The proprietors are lovely people, will do amnything for you at any time. The rooms are always spotless and contain everything you need. I wopu;ld reccomend this motel to anyone who is passing through Swansea.
Gwen and Bill

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thankyou for your kind words - it is a pleasure to have guests such as yourself stay at our business may guests we look forward to seeing again - people with the good manners and courtesy you show makes it easy to work in this industry - hope 2013 is kind to both of you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to the Black Swan Waterfront Motel for approx. 8years now and we stay for about 4-5 days. We have NEVER had anything but GREAT SERVICE, nothing is too small to ask of any staff member. They are always very friendley and helpful and the Motel is aways spotless, what more can you want. We will be back there this November (2012) and looking forward to our time at the Black Swan Motel.

Lorraine & Ray from Victoria

Room Tip: When booking this motel ask the friendley staff for a room on the waters edge. The views are just wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thankyou for booking again and your lovely comments - sadly people who are refused entry and have not stayed at our property are able to write reports - look forward to meeting you again and have a sage trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I laughed when I read others have found the staff to be rude here too. Simple transactions seem to result in being talked over, informed you're English isnt' good enough (I'm a native English speaker), rediculed (implying I am stupid) and treated considerably poorly (talking over me, not listening, arguementative). Having stayed in numerous motels, I've never come across such behaviour in the motel industry!
As other comments indicate, there are lots of other accom options in this area, and it's a beautiful area. Seek elsewhere if you want to relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Glad to hear the the mcfarlane eagle landed safely back in Armidale. Sad when a person uses the facilities of a property such as early checkin, waterfront, jetty, free inhouse movies, fee wifi and becomes upset and abusive to staff when they do not have the funds to pay their account. Thankfully a third party paid your account and you were able to checkout it was unfortunate that on doing so you became abusive and racial to staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the BlackSwan Waterfront Motel on Saturday Oct 2012. Until we were rudely woken after midnight by the neighbouring room. There seem to be several drunk people and when the Manager came out to request the people who were not staying at the motel leave they became very loud and aggresive. The management stayed until these people left and the police arrived then all became quiet again and we were able to return to bed. The motel is older but very well maintained and is set on a lovely bay that is from the ocean-we found the staff very helpful and were sad that they had to deal with such people as the ones in the rooms nearby to us but glad that they stopped the party-some people should not stay with the public and just go home after weddings...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Once again I apologise for the rude and offencive people that disturbed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind words - we do try to screen who stays at the motel as being a smaller B & B guest usually enjoy the peace and quite of the area - thankfully there is a "Guests Behaving Badly" site that these types can be named and shamed on. I do hope that if you are in this area again you will still enjoy a peaceful night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Never have I met more rude staff, they should not be working in the hospitality industry. The hotel was old and run down but the experience could have been a lot better if staff weren't so rude. Don't stay here if you're going to be awake after 8.30pm and do anything more than whisper or you'll be threatened with having the police called on you.
Very run down small rooms that smell until you open the door and windows for ventilation.
Plenty of other hotels nearby that are far nicer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
The Joan Ruse group who paid for 2 and ended up 5 plus infant - returning intoxicated to disrupt the other well mannered guests at 12.30AM - smoking in rooms - abusive to other guests and staff - sadly police had to be called to remove your voilent friends who on leaving before police arrived also stole property - yes this motel is not a suitable property for people who act in this manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, NSW
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Black Swan is a very well maintained older style motel and in a great location. And yes! ask for a waterfront room as, although the temps were in the low 30s while travelling during the day, we were greeted by a lovely breeze on our arrival. My husband & I last stayed here 30 years ago & we were so pleased that, although some updating has been made, the motel is still small & friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review - it is a pleasure to have guests such as yourself - hope you will be back one day to enjoy a stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deception Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just had the best time at this great motel. The operators are so friendly & it is great to go to a motel that has the old charm to it. Fantastic views of the water & usage of the outside facilities. Close to all restaurants & short walk to RSL. I would thoroughly recommend this motel for a lovely intimate break.

Room Tip: Definately go waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemacmaintenance, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind words - hope you have a good trip on your holiday and look forward to the thought that you may return to stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Swan Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Waterfront Motel

Address: 137 Bowman Street, Swansea, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water frontage in the heart of Swansea. Walking distance to all facilities in Swansea/Caves Beach. Jetty for guests use. All ground floor units. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Swan Waterfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.