We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret on south coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heads Hotel

The Heads Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shoalhaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Heads Hotel
Save
You added The Heads Hotel to your Saves list
51 River Road, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 49 Shoalhaven B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best kept secret on south coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family headed for the beach after visiting Berry and the Coolangatta winery estate, and came upon what must be one of the best kept secrets on the south coast the Heads Hotel Motel .We had a superb mixed cold and hot seafood platter, and then made enquiries about accommodation for the night. Only one room available, and stayed in the 'Flat' - which we were given at no extra cost - $120 w cooked brekky - our child certainly enjoyed the adjacent playground whilst we enjoyed the views and the friendly service. so much to do with the beach, wineries, golf course and fishing, all within 500m of the pub. brekky was fresh we were suprirsed at extensive and varied menu (esp the local organic produce!) as a tradie i've since used the hotel for a 3 day midweek stopover and wasn't disappointed. The community spirit and hospitality was still in plentiful supply. at $60 a night midweek this is absolutely great value for money. Was even invited to go fishing with one of the locals!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Four great meals, served efficiently, eaten gazing at a glorious view. A lovely surprise during a relaxing holiday drive. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The food is okay, nothing extravagent but decent pub food. Have heard some bad stories lately like some people have gone there with their kids as the have "get a kids meal free with every paying adult meal", this is advertised in a few places, but when ordering your food conditions are explained like the adults meal must be off the normal menu and the if adults meal is from the special board can not be one of the cheap meals so pretty dissapointed with this. Within walking distance to swimming beach, pool, corner store, post office, river and a minutes drive to the boat ramp. Decent parking if you have a larger boat. In a quiet location. Great for breakfast. But accommodation is on the cheap side if you are after quality accommodation i would suggest gerringong, coolangatta estate

Room Tip: Make sure it is Not the room that has the kids playground/sandpit attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

we had the room connected to the kids 'playground'.. it was a branch-filled sand pit with a dinghy in the middle.. thats all. The room was filthy when we arrived with a stale-stench smell - it seemed the room hadnt been opened for quite a while. There was sand all around the living room as well as the bathroom. There was a leak in the kitchen ceiling above the sink - the ceiling was mouldy as it had been raining for a few days prior to our arrival - the leaking water was brown in colour, so the kitchen was off limits during our stay (but to tell u the truth we wouldnt of used it anyway as it was old and out- dated, smelt and had cobwebs on the walls). Not good for families as there is absolutely nothing for the kids to do - no nearby beach to swim - totally in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast was good though - that was the only good thing i reckon. Everything here is just so old and out-dated, it needs MAJOR renovations. Don't let the photos on their website fool you peoples! Looks ARE deceiving in this case! If you really have to stay here, just make it a stopover as the rates are cheap. Otherwise, DON'T DO IT!!
As the saying goes - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We arrived late on a Friday night had to sign in and gets keys at hotel bar.
Dinner I recommend the Barramundi fillet, not the beef burger. Burger too dry, but the Barra was beaut! Beds were neat with fresh towels. Apart from some water damage on the ceiling above sink and in bathroom. Room was cozy. Some fellow guest were far too loud during the night till 4am. But, your view of a morning is more than worth your stay. Across the road is the view of the Shoalhaven River and further off the surf can be seen crashing against Seven Mile Beach.
Breakfast included in tariff choose the big breakfast or the poached eggs with bacon and toast you'll get a coffee or juice included with breakfast. Sit outside at the benches and enjoy the view.
I'd recommend to friends if they wanted somewhere cheap for a quick stay not a long stay.
Staff where very good and most accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heads Hotel

Address: 51 River Road, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Shoalhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heads Hotel is located on the picturesque Shoalhaven River, within walking distance to Seven mile Beach. Surrounded by lush walks, beaches, wineries, golf courses, and close to the shopping of Berry, it is the perfect place for families, couples and singles. Boasting 9 units and a Flat, the hotel also features a restaurant, Bottleshop, TAB, outdoor courtyard overlooking the river and 3 distinct bars. The Hotel features an award-winning weekly Saturday Fresh Local Produce Fair every Saturday morning along the front of the Hotel, as well as weekly live music, fishing competitions, trivia nights and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heads Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.