We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant

Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant
31 Addison Street, Shellharbour, New South Wales 2529, Australia
(02) 4296 3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 69 Restaurants in Shellharbour
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We went to Tang's for Mothers Day. My wife picked were she wanted to dine. We have dined at Tang's before and we were not disappointed with the choice. The staff were very friendly and courteous.The meals were delivered quickly,were very tasty and reasonably priced. We would definitely use this restraunt again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    3
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Reasonable Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The service is very good and all the wait staff are friendly. The food didn't take too long to arrive after we ordered, even though we were a larger group. The food was of reasonable proportions and was tasty. The one let down however, was the salt and pepper seafood/squid, as it was too thickly cut and the batter wasn't too nice. Other than that, it was a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good food at an affordable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Although I have been going to Tang’s for many, many years I realised that I have never written a review before.
Tang’s provides the atmosphere of most Chinese restaurants to give you the right feel when dinning. The food is very good and there is a wide range to suit most people, they also have a choice of two banquets for 4 or more people.
For some reason their specialty, Tang’s Combination, is not on their menu but it is worth asking for and trying.
Children will enjoy watching the fish and turtles swimming around their indoor fish pond.
If you want fast service then tell the waitress when you first order.

There is parking around the back of the restaurant in the council parking area. Wheelchair users will need a lot of help coming up the back driveway to the back door. You can go around the front and with some minor help get onto the front landing to the front door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was really unimpressed with the food at Tangs's. It seems strange that meals come sooooo quickly after ordering, must have it all pre-made and flavourwise it leaves a lot to be desired. I had to go through to the carpark at the back of the restaurant and found that very dirty too. I definitely would never go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
“THEY POISONED MYSELF AND MY DAUGHTER AT MY BIRTHDAY DINNER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Be Warned!! Do not eat here!!! One of the worst experiences of my life!
I went with family for my birthday and met my daughter there we live 300km apart.
Withing two hours of eating my Daughter and Myself were both violently ill, for eight hours straight and sick for the following five days
WhenI could walk again I reported them to the health Dept but that was useless. Tangs refused to accept blame or refund our meals.As a result of this my night was ruined and I suffered permanent vision damage from the poisoning. They had o fresh prawns and used frozen ones and I believe this was the offending food stuff. Diners Beware :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Shellharbour, New South Wales
Shellharbour, New South Wales
 
Shellharbour, New South Wales
Shellharbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.