We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant

Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant
31 Addison Street, Shellharbour, New South Wales 2529, Australia
(02) 4296 3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 63 Restaurants in Shellharbour
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Shellharbour, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Regular customer for almost 30 years. Most family celebrations have been held at Tangs. Good quality food and service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    2
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Always busy, great service, nice Chibese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been to this place on several occasions and have not been disappointed. The staff are all lovely and give great service, even when they are really busy. We love all the sizzling dishes and you can't go past the san chow bow as a starter to share with 3 friends. There's heaps to go around!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value home delivery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We ordered free home delivery of Tang's special deal for 2 ($36) on Saturday nght, and this was really enough to feed 4 adults comfortably. There were 2 mini spring rolls, 2 large dim sims, 2 large prawn toasts, bag full of prawn chips, generous serve of fried rice and large serve of 2 chosen main dishes. All the food was very good, still very hot when delivered - they quoted 45 minutes to deliver and food arrived exactly then so no complaints. Overall, Tangs provided us with a great meal at a very good price so would certainly consider ordering from here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oztraylya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, average to good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The moment you enter this restaurant the size and decor says ‘not your average Chinese’. There are lovely and large aquaria stocked with abundant aquatic life to amuse all and sundry, but none of the usual tacky & sparkling Chinese restaurant adornments.
I have relatives who like this restaurant a lot more than I do. The staff here is friendly and the service is good. Trouble is that in my opinion the food does always not match the rest of the offering.
Don’t get me wrong, the food is usually alright, maybe even good, but it is not as good as it could be, and therefore not in step with the rest of the offering.
In the restaurant trade there is the adage, you’re only as good as your last meal, well..... the last time I was at Tang’s I was with a group and I elected for the fish and chips.
Now fish and chips is a great dish if done properly. This dish was served with no salad, no lemon and no adornments to the plate other than a parsley leaf and a large chip out of it. Unacceptable!
The fish was crumbed and there was plenty of it, but there was also plenty of something about the crumbs that just wasn’t the full quid. If I had to guess I would put money on them being bought-in and full of nasty additives. The chips were also shop bought. Crinkly cut, lukewarm and not too crisp.
In hindsight eighteen dollars was a lot to pay for the Tang’s fish and chip offering. Next time this dish takes my fancy I’ll take myself down the road to the fish and chip shops near the harbour.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong NSW
1 review
“DISGUSTING OVER PRICED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

its been 5 years since we ordered from this restaurant and i am justified in saying should have waited longer 5 dishes and not one was remotely decent.
Fried rice if thats what you call it boiled rice a bit of chopped fried egg ONE prawn and a few frozen peas not cooked.
four other main meals the only piece of vegetable was 1 miniscule piece of green capsicum and a lot of onion.
Sizzling seafood at over $18 i would have expected a bit more seafood and a lot less onion or sauce. 2 prawns and two scallops at least i think they were scallops means for a cost of say $4 per prawn and $4 per scallop
Beef in black bean sauce was so salty that it was inedible
NEVER EVER WILL ORDER OR RECOMMEND

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Shellharbour, New South Wales
Shellharbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang's Chinese Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.