We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pack of whingers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountaindale Grand Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountaindale Grand Manor
Save
You added Fountaindale Grand Manor to your Saves list
Fountaindale Road | (Cnr Illawarra Hwy), Robertson, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a pack of whingers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

How anyone could dislike this grand old lady is beyond me. From the moment you turn into the drive, it is magical. I was skeptical after reading the reviews and wondered how bad it would be, but I LOVED it. It is very grand indeed. The reception staff are VERY friendly (I guess if you are nice, they will be nice. Have a think about that). Yes the bathrooms are original but wow, what a view from a lovely old fashioned hot shower! The bedrooms were light and airy and very comfortable. The main staircase is breathtaking, and with piped music from the 1930s and 1940s it was pure magic. The function room was lovely too along with the catering. I am coeliac and was catered for extremely well. Would I stay there again? Definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    9
    8
    27
See reviews for
21
32
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best and only good thing I can say about this place is the gardens are gorgeous. Lovely to stroll through and sit a read a book which is exactly what I did to escape the mouldy unpleasant room and unfriendly staff inside the 'grand manor'. I love an old building with original features and its own quirkiness so felt excited to be staying there. Only my excitement was short lived when I was meet with a grunt from the receptionist staff and then left unattended for way too long before being given my room key. Once in my room I could've cried. It was dark and dingy and the bathroom was manky and mouldy but after seeing the share showers reminded myself things can always be worse... Robertson itself is a lovely little town and enjoyed strolling through the lush country side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Robertson hotels

East Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

went there with friends for Christmas in July - it was freezing! no heating unless you asked for it, the open fires were totally inefficient, even when the place was full.
The people, food were great, and the accommodation was fairly basic.

Room Tip: give winter a miss..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My three adult children and their partner went their courtesy of me as a Christmas present. They are all very different and one couple vegetarian - they all loved it. The food was great , the building in its time and the people very friendly . They all went at different times

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ensuite as there are some with shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

After our amazing dinner at Fountaindale, I had to write a review. We had a table for 4 set up in front on the fire place and enjoyed a set three course meal by the chef. Every meal was beautifully presented and tasted devine. My friend said it was the best beef she ever had. The service was excellent! We will definitely go back.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely building, lots of aged character, but lets itself down with inadequate attention to detail in several respects. Common areas inside as nice and comfortable for relaxing, as as the grounds at the front. However broader grounds are not that well maintained. Big area to the left upon entry is really not much more than a field, although there is some nice mature growth around. Pool was a mess when we visited, totally unusable, water opaque with algae/slime, grass overgrown - disappointing as it was a warm weekend.

Rooms have a lot of charm, but patchy finishing in some is a minor disappointment in terms of overall appearance. Grout in our bathroom was black from age, but clean. Enamel on sink was chipped and chrome on much of the piping and taps showing significant discoloration. Just visual disappointments but things that detract from the overall image of the place.

Hot water on a Sunday morning took about 5-10 minutes to come through. No room heating only electric blankets!

Dinner was bland but filling, food lacked any special touches in terms of choice, taste and presentation. Good service though.

Wine list is quite poor, just a narrow range of basic Griffith region wines, entry level stuff, nothing special by any means (although there is one Grant Burge sparkly on offer, but $60 - ouch!). Wine is also expensive for what it is: bar prices $25-35 a bottle, retail value equivalents under $10.

Sad range of port for after dinner. Just a half used bottle of Penfolds Club port. No other port to choose from and not even a fresh bottle available on request.

When you sign for your room you have to sign acknowledging a $200 fine (!) for drinking own alcohol onsite (other than in own room, although people were allowed to drink free wine on arrival outside on request). A bit off-putting on arrival, although in fairness it is also mentioned in initial booking paperwork. Better wine list and prices or BYO option would help make for a more enjoyable stay. Service was efficient and pleasant.

Overall a charming only building let down by lack of attention to the above issues. On a package deal it's fair value but if paying normal rates and then for dinner on top, I'd be disappointed in terms of value for money.

This place has the potential to really shine if the above issues are addressed - I wish the owners well in bringing the place up to the yesteryear glory potential that's definitely there!!

Room Tip: Get one with its own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 nights with breakfast both mornings and a wonderful 3 course dinner 1 night. It was like taking a walk in the past. Carol the owner was very friendly and helpful. Yes the bathrooms are not like you have at home, but they are 90 years old. It would have been lovely to have the fireplaces lit and sit back and absorb the atmosphere in the lounge. Would love to go back and do it again in warmer weather.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountaindale Grand Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaindale Grand Manor

Address: Fountaindale Road | (Cnr Illawarra Hwy), Robertson, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Fountaindale Grand Manor Hotel Robertson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountaindale Grand Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.