We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, simple but comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Terrace Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Colonial Terrace Motor Inn to your Saves list
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
130 Adelaide St, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Sundowner Raymond Terrace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, simple but comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five stayed overnight (a total of 7 hours!) in a two room unit. Although the decor is a little dated the unit is in great condition and the bathroom had been recently renovated. Awesome water pressure in the shower!
Very clean, and the managers were friendly and efficient. We checked in after 10pm which wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in a family room on our way back from Noosa to Sydney. Arriving very late at night with 2 small sleeping children and no booking we received a warm welcome with the manager even offering to help us with our bags. We can't recommend this motel highly enough. The beds were so comfortable, the aircon brand new and very quiet. The room was incredibly clean. We have never stayed in such a clean motel with such lovely service. We enjoyed a great breakfast and again the restaurant is so very clean and the staff are so helpful and friendly. The owners are incredibly nice. We will recommend your quiet, clean and friendly property to all our loved ones. Thanks for making our short stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Suzie
I have passed on your comments to our team; such positive comments give the whole team a lift and encourages them to keep up the good work. I am pleased that you found the beds comfortable as we have just finished replacing all our beds. I also appreciated the respect and concern your family showed for our other guests, by minimizing noise on your arrival.
Thanks again for the great review .
Regards
Wayne Bamford
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed just one night to break up the trip and it was just great. The manager took a phone booking late in the day and was most helpful when we arrived. The room was clean and tidy, spacious and good value for money. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi James

Thank you for your comments , we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Wayne Bamford
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathmont, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I'd been driving most of the day and pulled off at the Raymond Terrace exit, even though we couldn't find anything in our RACV guide (turns out it's under Port Stephens!). Drove past one place that looked a little dodgy and then came across the Colonial Terrace.
And lucky we did. The staff member we dealt with was exceptionally helpful.
The room (a family room) was spacious, clean, and all that you could hope for in a room. I slept really soundly and had breakfast in the dining room, which was very reasonably priced for a continental breakfast, and I was suitable fortified for the drive to Melbourne ahead.
I recommend very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you had a good nights rest and enjoyed your breakfast . We agree with you unless you spend time doing research it is difficult to find Raymond Terrace in the AAA Travel guides . We hope that in the next issue there will be a separate listing for Raymond Terrace as it is on a major highway between Brisbane and Sydney .
But next time you stay you won't need the travel guide as you now know where we are!

Regards
Wayne Bamford
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

No accommodation available when we called in, but owners went "above and beyond" to help us find rooms further up the coast and we are very grateful for all their help. Thanks again from Scott and Karen :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A motor inn - is a motor inn .. what makes this place different is the very friendly staff and the wonderful food in the restaurant.

I chose this place because it had a restaurant and I do not have time to walk around outside to find dinner - but it was a great delight to find the food was not only very cheap - but excellent standard.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and are well laid out with digital TV .... there is Foxtel but I did not use it.

I would stay here again and would recommend the Colonial Terrace Motor Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us, it is nice to hear you had such an enjoyable experience.

We are pleased you would choose to stay with us again and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
The Colonial Terrace Motor Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terang, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great, friendly staff, who would do everything necessary to ensure a good stay. Wonderful comfortable rooms, with great showers. Easy access. Would recommend it as a great stopping place or somewhere for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Terrace Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Terrace Motor Inn

Address: 130 Adelaide St, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Sundowner Raymond Terrace)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Raymond Terrace CBD, 5 min from the Pacific Highway and 15 min from Newcastle (Williamtown) Airport, the Colonial Terrace Motor Inn is a great place to stay, work, rest and dine. Our Restaurant is open 7 days a week for Breakfast and Monday - Thursday for Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Terrace Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.