We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby dirty rundown” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motto Farm Motel

Save Saved
You added Motto Farm Motel to your Saves list
Motto Farm Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motto Farm Motel
2285 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Raymond Terrace
Gold Coast
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shabby dirty rundown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed only one night it was raining we were wet and cold travelling on a bike ,found the room to be shabby dirty .stained carpeting and the shower walls were discusting would not pull off there again .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
10
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed in a standard room... not nice at all... bathroom clean but rundown... old furniture and fittings... carpet stained/dirty... very disappointing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I had 2 good nights rest at this hotel and enjoyed the convenience of eating 'at home' (in the restaurant). My neighbours were noisy but quietened down shortly after 10pm (I think management 'had a word' to them). Would stay here again as it's cheaper than comparable nearby hotels. (Beware the hotel next door which is a dive!). Very convenient when visiting Ryans at Newcaslte(Heatherbrae) Equestrian Centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0tt0, Public Relations Manager at Motto Farm Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Hi there

Thank you for your review you were most helpful.

Please contact Eliza for your next stay and quote for Trip Advisor review for a complimentary cooked breakfast!

If there is anything we may be able to do for you we're all ears!

Kind regards
Eliza
Marketing & Event Manager
Motto Farm Motel
02 4987 1211
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel while travelling south to Sydney. We got a very tired room for $110 per night. There were lots of spare rooms available. There were tiles from the wall behind the toilet in a pile on the bathroom floor and water leaked out across the middle of the floor which we both, at some stage, slipped on. We could also hear very bad water siren when people in the other rooms showered. The aircon/heater was really noisy cutting in and out all night and kept us awake. Breakfast was 10 dollars for bad coffee, juice and toast or cereal.
The people at reception including the Manager were fine until I complained and then they were very defensive. They apologised, said they weren't aware of the problem and would get it fixed. I wonder who took the tiles off the wall in the bathroom where it leaked? Another guest perhaps.
I told them I was very unhappy with the room for $110 a night. No discount or even free brekky was offered. I advised them I would be leaving a bad report on Trip Advisor for them. They said ok if I felt I had too - and I did.
My advice would be stay anywhere else..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We found this motel on the net, and booked direct. The room was basic - clean and adequate, but had a noisy air conditioner which we could not do without - a hot night. They were heavily booked, and may have had higher quality rooms. We had planned to eat at the on-site restaurant, but it was fully reserved for a function; the staff gave us detailed directions and advice for some alternatives in Raymond Terrace - about 5km away. Staff were also helpful in getting us free access to their wireless internet. We would stay here again if were were breaking a journey in the area, but would not want to be here for an extended stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toongabbie
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

I stayed with my three year old son on the way home from Queensland as we were very tired and it was past midnight. The manager was very helpful despite being woken up. He got my son and I something to eat and drink and made us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Weather this motel has been sold or not the bug bed are certainly still there and the service is rude and unfriendly, the only way this motel makes any money is by there cheap price which is not worth it unless you take a truck load of fly spray. Food is horrible and I'm sure it was what gave me food poisoning, after eating here macca's tasted like heaven. I do not recommend this motel for anyone no matter what the managers response says. You notice that they do not respond to the rude staff as they know this is the casse so why on't they fix the problem!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motto Farm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motto Farm Motel

Address: 2285 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the Pacific Highway 3 kms north of the Hexham Bridge (Newcastle). Less than 15 minutes from the Williamtown (NCLE) Airport. Down the road from the Botanic Gardens and less than 2 minutes into the Town Centre of Raymond Terrace. 20 -25 minutes in any direction for any of the major Hunter and Port Stephens attractions. Affordable and convenient. Particularly useful for business travelers, overnight stops and families on a budget. Plenty of common area, pool and tennis area for kids. OFF Highway FREE parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Motto Farm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motto Farm Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motto Farm Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.