We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari Tents - Good Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoal Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shoal Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Shoal Bay Road | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Safari Tents - Good Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family & I just spent 4 nights in one of the Safari tents at Shoal Bay Holiday Park.

The tent itself was as clean as I would have expected from a tent, with just enough inside for a simple & relaxing stay. The bunks were great for my two kids & the queen size bed was surprisingly comfortable (sorry, when camping, you kind of expect a rubbish bed!).

We had no complaints about the park, the accommodation or the staff. All in all, it was part of a very memorable family holiday for us.

If I were to make any comments on the park though, I would suggest that the play equipment is probably due for an update & the location, despite being across from the beach, still lacks a swimming pool. I think these things would only add to the quality of this place & make it more competitive when being looked at alongside something a bit more modern.

Also, a great thing we wanted to share for the benefit of others looking into staying in the Safari tents, there are many types of bird wildlife that hang around this area, we were hand-feeding grass parrots, rosellas & even kookaburras & were surprised to find a green tree frog sitting on the light outside our tent after a night of heavy rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review Mrs W2008, lots of families enjoy the Safari tents for a unique camping experience. We are continually working on our program of future updates at Shoal Bay Holiday Park and will take onboard your suggestions. The recently added Ensuite Sites have been a huge hit as part of this redevelopment program.

Best Regards,

Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We were on a road trip and stopped in Shoal Bay for the weekend. Unfortunately Neilson Bay etc is extremely popular on good weather weekends and we were down to 2 choices. So if you are travelling to this destination on a summer weekend, suggest you book in advance.
Great location across from the beach and down from the shops.
A 2 bedroom villa was $220. Would be better value if there were more than 3 people staying
The beds were comfortable and the facilities were great. Everything was clean and tidy. And there is a little play park for little kids.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Amanda,

Thanks for your review I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I thought you might be interested to know that we do offer discounted rates for 3 night weekend packages and often have special promoted prices and offers on our Facebook Page and through our enewsletter (which you can sign up for on our website www.beachsideholidays.com.au ). We hope to see you in beautiful Shoal Bay again soon.

Best Regards

Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My friends and I (6 families in total) have stayed and loved the safari bungalows at Shoal Bay Holiday Park. This year will be our 3rd year, but our recent experience (the week prior to our stay) has tainted our holiday. We rebook every year before we leave to guarantee our stay for the following year. For 3 years we have been charged $100 deposit and are told the rates for next year are not set as yet and may go up slightly. No issues, totally get inflation. The first year we paid approx $80 a night, exceptional value! The last year we paid $85 a night, no problem $5 increase a night, bargain! Upon enquiry this year about the cost (we had to call, no courtesy call made to any of the families) we were told that it would be $139 per night! Yes that is not a typo, they have increased the price by $54 a night. How can you justify such a rise, no new facilities, maintenance on bungalow which they needed. When challenged over the increase we have been told prices aren't set by the park? Obviously we are not happy about such an increase and after complaining they have reduced the price to $115 a night but still no justification for the increase. Interestingly the prices for the safari bungalows were not on the website 4days ago when this occurred, but have now been returned showing the new prices. All I can say Shoal Bay is this is poor form by your company. Very sneaky and most certainly not customer friendly. If you were professional and called us when you found out about the increases things might have been different. Considering your staff member who took the phone call commented that "we were surprised at the high increases when they came through", and still nobody called!! It certainly does not make for a happy holiday and unfortunately it will be our last to this location for these 6 families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Shoal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mischelle, Thank you for your review and once again we appologise for not having notified you far enough in advance in relation to the price rise for the Safari Tents. After many years with little or no increase in rates we did this year increase our pricing in line with market demand and other accommodation rates. These very popular Safari tents are highly sort after and almost fully booked already on the weekends between now and Easter 2014 as they still provide a very good value getaway proposition for families and groups at the new pricing level. We are working towards signing off our rates further in advance to eliminate future issues and have reiterated with our customer service team the policy of confirming pricing for our customers in advance of their stay. We trust you have had a wonderful week in sunny Shoal Bay and do hope to see you return for another visit down the track,

Best Regards Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Shoal Bay Holiday Park. We found with the bay just across the way, we made for many opportunities for the kids to simply play around on the sand and dip their toes in the water. At night we found we were very relaxed in our quiet cabin that was both spacious and clean, with a great television, plenty of tea and coffee and a great outlook across the park. We'll certainly be back and will invite our friends to join us.

Room Tip: A cabin with a view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 5 in one of the outrigger cabins. While the location was lovely and quiet, there just wasn't enough for kids here. I don't know if its because we are used to staying in places with pools, gyms and playgrounds or we maybe stayed at the wrong time of year, but something was lacking. The staff on check in were nice enough, no problems. The cabin itself was average, what you would expect from a caravan park. Clean, well maintained with a well stocked kitchen. Not much to report on the grounds as there wasn't much there besides cabins, tents and caravans. Borrowed a basketball to use at their court, they need to buy ones that bounce. We didn't use amenities so i cant comment on that. The beds weren't very comfortable and the pillows were awful in my opinion but clean linen is provided. The fold out sofa was broken which resulted in a crooked sleep for one of us. I know this sounds negative, we still had a nice enough stay but I like to be thorough when reviewing. This park is directly across the road to a beautiful beach with white sand and clear water with no waves. The shops are close by, but you'll only find an IGA supermarket, a couple of cafes and a newsagent. If we stayed in port Stephens again, we would stay 5 mins drive away in Nelson Bay, as we spent most of our time there. The marina is really lovely with good shops, tours and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a villa, beautiful. Beach is across the road and eatries are a short stroll. The villa was big, clean, and fit 6 people with a sofa lounge. Very nice and great value. Very nice for a caravan park. Gated entry (you have to have a card to swipe in) I didn't see the swimming pool (stayed in Winter and it rained our entire stay) but the people we saw were all friendly. Beautiful balcony if only the rain stayed away and we were able to enjoy that! Close to Fingal Bay and Nelson Bay. Next time I am in Port Stephens I will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stay in a villa!! Try and get the three night special deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Such a lovely safe place to stay. So close to shops, clubs & across the road from a lovely beach. Great for singles, friends, family or retirees. Very clean & modern facilities & such a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Our children & grandchildren will be coming here for the rest of our available holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoal Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Holiday Park

Address: Shoal Bay Road | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoal Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Holiday Park is directly opposite one of the most beautiful beaches on the east coast of Australia. The gentle, aquamarine waters & clean white sand of Shoal Bay provide a perfect swimming beach that the kids will love and within just two minutes walk, you'll find the beachside village of Shoal Bay with cafes, shops, restaurants & clubs. Facilities include:* half size tennis / basketball court* conference room* camp kitchen* games room* playground* disabled assisted living cabin* BBQs* guest laundry* school holiday activities program* powered sites* luxury one and two bedroom cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shoal Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Holiday Park South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoal Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.