We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, except for the cockroach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Francis Drake Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Francis Drake Inn to your Saves list
Sir Francis Drake Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2259 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Port Stephens
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Adequate, except for the cockroach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight stopover during our drive from Sydney to Brisbane. We chose it because of it's Trip Advisor rating. The good: 1. Large, spacious room with ample storage 2. Large spacious bathroom with ample shower. 3. Room appeared to be clean. The ugly: The large can of bug spray in the closet was the first clue that they have a bug problem. Sure enough there was a stink bug in the bathroom shortly after our arrival. The next morning my husband was greeted in the bathroom by a large cockroach (see photo.) Other than the extra "guests", this is an adequate, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
21
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at this motel for a few days while visiting family, we were amazed at how huge the rooms were and felt that it was quite a waste of space. All over the rooms were clean and comfortable, there was a wedding taking place on the weekend we were there and we were apprehensive about noise, but we were not disrupted at all, apart from being unable to use the restaurant on the Saturday night. My one big complaint about the place though is the fact that the reception staff were not as friendly as they could have been.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue mountains, new south wales
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I booked a room late on Saturday 5th May in an attempt to meet up with my elderly parents at Raymond Terrace on Sunday 6th May. A medical emergency occurred within the family overnight on Sat 5th preventing our trip. We called the reservation centre during advertised hours - it was closed - and advised the motel on Sunday morning at 8am when the office opened that we were unable to make the trip due to a health emergency.
The motel advised that due to the booking rules they were unable to make a refund as did the booking centre (who offered a membership and some points in a much appreciated gesture).
The management of this motel have removed themselves from any reasonable involvement in our community by hiding behind electronic rules to maximise unearned income. This is, in my opinion a most unfortunate development accompanying web bookings and is, as with this establishment used entirely to their benefit.
BEWARE of this ATTITUDE when dealing with this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was looking for a hotel on the Pacific Highway for an overnight stop on the way to Sydney and was very pleasantly surprised by the Sir Francis Drake inn. My room was HUGE with space to spare. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and well appointed, the property nicely maintained and the desk staff was friendly. I have no hesitation is recommending the Sir Francis Drake if you need a hotel near Raymond Terrace

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatswood, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I would say the most practical place to stay if your are going to Williamtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here on our way from Melbourne to Ballina. Don't think Raymond Terrace is on anyone's radar any more but it is a good half way point for us. This motel has seen better days and is perhaps a bit too pricey for what is offered but it is a nice place, with huge rooms, each looking out into a very big garden area where the pool is. Bed is comfortable and linen nice. It is clean and quiet and has a nice atmosphere and seems to be the best on offer in this sleepy little town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Having arrived here in the late hours of the night, We were pleasently surprised with the rooms which were provided to us : They were Huge! They were suites and extremly comfortable. Though it was quite late at night, the owners provided us a few beers to wash down before we shut down for the night.
There was ample space for parking, and the lunch at the restaurent was also great both in quality and quantity. The rooms overlooked a large and beautiful garden.
All in a very pleasent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Francis Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Francis Drake Inn

Address: 2259 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Francis Drake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Francis Drake - Heatherbrae is situated on the Pacific Highway just south of Raymond Terrace, and only 1.5 hours north of Sydney. We are are the best 3.5 Star AAA Rated hotel for miles, and we are conveniently located for our Corporate travellers. We are located only a 10 minute drive from Newcastle Airport and we are a fantastic base for leisure guests exploring the region. Our 40 rooms are among the largest motel rooms in NSW. All rooms are ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sir Francis Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Francis Drake Inn South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Francis Drake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.