We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soldiers Point Marina

Soldiers Point Marina
Sunset Boulevarde | Soldiers Point, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
02 4982 7445
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Marinas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soldiers Point Marina provides the perfect hub for exploring the magnificent waterways and hinterland of Port Stephens—a region covering nearly 1,000 square kilometres of scenic diversity, mild weather and extensive tourist facilities.Totally rebuilt to world-class standards, the marina offers the boatowner a state-of-the-art base, with a quality of services and facilities rarely seen on the eastern seaboard.The Marina is managed in an environmentally sensitive fashion, with a management team which recognises its responsibility in conserving this pristine environment for future generations.
nz
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Located adjacent to soldiers point holiday park. There are a few restaurants on the marina and a local club next door. Also a tennis court over the road. Small beach, fishing area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Manager at Soldiers Point Marina, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you mummydearest1 for your comments. I would like to note just for the record this lady is not my mother. Our marina dose boast to have some of the best restaurants in the area, upstairs The Point Restaurant and downstairs The Deck Café and Waterfront Bar. Please come and try them out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top Marina facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A regular stop for us when we are cruising the fabulous waters of Port Stephens. Best facilities of any Marina we have berthed at, luxurious amenities, morning newspapers, coffee, frozen margaritas in the afternoon all delivered to your boat (in season), car available to visit shops for supplies. 2 restaurants. Some marine repairs available. Very friendly and helpful shore crew. Flexible attitude to days in and days out. Only disadvantage is that the otherwise protected Marina has no sea wall and is exposed to a southerly, which can and did, blow during our stay. Definitely will return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Manager at Soldiers Point Marina, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks Nigel for your comments we really appreciate your thoughts and wish we could have a sea wall also but unfortunately at our site this is not permissible. We look forward to seeing you again at Soldiers Point soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked our boat into Soldiers Point Marina for 7 nights over New Year 2013 while we stayed in the Soldiers Point Holiday Park directly above the Marina. The staff at the Marina were
fantastic, so friendly and willing to help. The Fireworks on NYE were fantastic, we will look forward to going back next year. Thank you Darryl and your Marina staff for a wonderful carefree holiday.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Manager at Soldiers Point Marina, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks Debra for your feedback - we love feedback it's such a valuable tool. We do hope to see you at the marina soon.

Many thanks Darrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Boat hire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent morning hiring a small runabout to go fishing from soldiers point. The boat was modern, comfortable and clean. The owner / staff were helpful and friendly in arranging the boat and getting us going with advise and maps.

We enjoyed coffee on the deck afterwards and will be back next time we are in the area

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Manager at Soldiers Point Marina, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you Andrew for leaving feedback, I will pass your comments onto the owners of Soldiers Point Boat Hire, I know they will be thrilled with such nice things said about the staff.

Kind Regards
Darrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We got the timing just right...it wasn't busy; it was very clean & the water was crystal-clear. Watch out for cars on Seaview Crescent as they can come hooning around the corner; regardless of the drivers, the location was tranquil. [Remind me again - why am I telling anyone about this?]. Fabulous.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soldiers Point Marina also viewed

Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Soldiers Point Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soldiers Point Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.