We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Stephens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens
Save
You added Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens to your Saves list
104 Salamander Way Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Port Stephens B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

my boyfriend took me away for a surprise weekend to port stephens. we stayed 2 nights at abacus in march. the host was friendly and helpful giving us tips of where to visit. the accomodation is in the grounds of the house but sheltered from the main road (you need a car as the walk into town would be a mission, not sure about buses?) so you are overlooking a pretty garden. the room is spacious and modern- TV, DVD, ipod dock, power shower plus a huge bed. the room was immaculate and tidied/restocked including fresh roses while we were out- lovely welcome back after a long day exploring. the breakfast is already stocked in the room, but not the usual miserable cold breakfast instead croissants, fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, toast, cheese, crackers- easily enough for a midnight snack if you arrive late! plus a coffee maker- for the barrista in all of us. we would definately recommend staying there and will be back.
ps:if you go to port stephens try red nedz pies they are immense- we have considered driving there to get another from sydney!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

joeltayed at Abacus accommodation in Port Stephens for three days. The rooms were welcoming, clean and very comfortable. There were a lot of personal touches to the room which set it apart from other places we've stayed at so far. These ranged from a well stocked fridge (no charges for items consumed) to the toiletries in the bathroom which aren't found in your typical hotel.

The location was good and a short drive to the beaches, marina and a large supermarket and shopping centre is located even closer.

The seafood at the marina is fresh as you'd expect but the restaurants do shut early during the time we were there.

I wouldn't hesitate staying at Abacus again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we escaped the "heat wave" in Sydney and find this accomodation on last minute.com.au
We had a beautifull room, fully stocked fridge with high quality breakfast and a lovely host Bryan.
Thank you, you have a wonderfull place, will see u nex time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we had a wonderful stay here between Christmas and New Year; couldn't be more impressed with the quality of the lovely cottage at the back and our unit within that. the bathroom was fantastic and everything was impeccably clean and fresh, in room breakfast in fridge and facilities are awesome, Bryan was absolutely lovely to us and we wouldn't hesitate to return in the future. its also a great location central to many port stephens places to go and nice golf course and the biggest shops in town are also nearby. highly recommended we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: we were in the rose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent room. Very comfortable. Great breakfast. Very friendly hosts.
No hesitation in recommending this B&B for work travel or holidays. Much better quality and value than any hotel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I travel a huge amount for work and the highlight of my time away from home is always staying at Abacus. Bryan and Tanya are fantastic hosts – welcoming and considerate beyond the call of duty.
The room is spacious, airy and always immaculate. The bed and bathroom have beautiful quality linen. Actually it is the most comfortable bed of any hotel I have stayed in – there are five star hotels that could learn a thing or two from this room!
The breakfast is more than generous and is in the room already so no need to be disturbed in the morning.
All the facilities are brand new and top of the range with a huge TV, DVD player and separate Bathroom and Loo.
Honestly I can’t speak highly enough of the Abacus – my only worry is that it will become so popular it will be all booked up when I want to stay there!!!
This is the kind of spot you may want to secure a booking way in advance – you’ll be sorry if you miss out!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally equiped and positioned - no difference between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens

Address: 104 Salamander Way Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens is a new purpose built B&B style accommodation. The accommodation building is 30 metres from the main house which provides all guests with their own private and secure entry. There are no steps or stairs therefore access is user friendly. All rooms are 40 square metres in area and have separate toilets, robes and large shower areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens South Pacific - Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abacus Accommodation Port Stephens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.