We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Save Saved
You added Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Port Stephens
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we stayed here, with family it was really good. The kids were in the pool 24/7 because it wasn't deep, great sized & very clean. The rooms were exceptional and I absolutely loved staying there. The whole place was just amazing and very welcoming. The staff were so kind and helpful to anyone who needed help. When we ate at the little restraunt it was really good & the staff were polite. It was easy for us to watch the kids in the pool since we had a wonderful deck to sunbathe on. The spa & gym were great! Lots of people enjoyed the day spa and the gym workouts in the morning, I would definitely go back anytime and my 6 days there with family was fantastic. I recommend everyone to go their when they are need of a luxury break from busy lives. The tropical holiday resort was really nice & I can't wait to go back next time!!!! Close by to shopping centre & a few take away food outlets. quick drive to close by beaches too.Totally recommended.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect for anyone, so book one now!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that your family had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday and could make full use of the resort facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    179
    78
    32
    28
See reviews for
131
171
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Call me naive but I can not recall a single four star hotel charging a deposit when you check into a room. That makes me think instantly of young bogan territory. And then, no soda machine exists! We arrived middle of night and our first morning sight out the windows were the huge commercial beds r us complex outside.... And I pictured being close to the water. I did a very poor job of selecting a hotel for this little two day driving adventure, so be aware this place is nowhere. The room was however very nice, newish, comfy even with leaky shower. I say pay the same thing and be closer to the action in Nelson Bay or Shoal Bay. Not Salamander Bay. And not this redneck chain. What was I thinking.... They didn't even have WiFi.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay room deposit, and wait a week after you leave to have it returned to your credit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Many hotels do not advise when a bond is held on a credit card, however as a courtesy to our guests we ensure that this is advised and also noted when making a reservation. We do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Unfortunately this style of apartment does not guarantee a view of the lagoon pool. Where possible our staff offer guests the option to upgrade to lagoon view or swimout rooms, however due to high occupancy in school holidays, on this occassion were unable to do so. We do also offer wi-fi within reception for a small fee. It is great to hear that you found the apartment comfortable. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very clean, excellent facilities, very busy but private and very little noise. Decent sized rooms and lovely balcony. We had a swimout room which had direct access out onto the lovely lagoon style pool which was the highlight of the resort. Would have loved to have stayed longer to take advantage of the facilities - tennis courts, gym etc. Only complaint is that it is maybe a little far from the beach - not in walking distance but saying that I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again because it is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and hope you will be able to make full use of all the resort facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights room great shower good place clean amazing pool. Location close to shops and not to far from oceans but not in walking distance. Reception staff could have shown a bit more interest but overall would stay again great value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear you found the room and resort facilities well appointed. I would like to apologise that our reception staff were not engaging, as we always strive to provide excellent customer service. We hope you will choose Oaks Pacific Blue Resort when next visiting Port Stephens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the Oaks resort salamanda bay the weekend of 20/9/13 ,absolutely great weekend ,we were right beside bar /dinning area and pool ,great food ,fantastic breakfast and good price [new chef and staff] if this was a tennis tournament it would be the grand slam of slams ,recommend it to anybody

Col Smith

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your lovely comments and glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable weekend away. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the lagoon, great view and beautiful room with all the amenities you need, friendly staff, nice restaurant on site with good meals, beautiful pool but pitty it wasn't heated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and resort facilities. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Pacific Blue again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked 2 identical rooms for 2 couples online for same nights, same amount of money. Very surprised that we got 2 completely different rooms. Our room 24 was in the hotel section, king size bed The bathroom is very very small shower and very small toilet area. I am not a big person but that was ridiculous, separate bath. The TV matched the bathroom, very small wall mounted and no access to any free to air channel nine stations. The balcony, I use that word loosely, opens on to the ring road that guests use to access the rest of the place, no fence at all so if you have kids don't stay in the part, next to a speed hump so a double bonus. The other room 242B was upstairs overlooking the moat style pool very light and airy with heaps of room and a large TV. My tip if you are booking here is clarify type of room.
Very limited breakfast choice. A little café style eatery near reception with basic choice. No restaurant / bar open on site. This may differ in busier periods. A 10 minute drive into Nelson Bay gives a lot of choices for food.

Room Tip: Don't book into the Hotel section, Book a room on the pool / moat that goes through the middle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to supply us with feedback on your stay here at Oaks Pacific Blue. My apologies if there was any misunderstanding regarding the studio and studio lagoon room. We do during quieter month’s often complimentary upgrade some of our bookings to allow our guests the experience of other room types to those booked and this may have been the case here. The restaurant will be open for full trading in the coming weeks. I hope to see you again here at Oaks Pacific Blue and please feel free to call the hotel direct to ensure you secure the best room type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Address: 265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Stephens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located approximately two and a half hours north of Sydney and ideally situated to enjoy everything that beautiful Port Stephens has to offer, is the stunning Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. Oaks Pacific Blue Resort offers a choice of contemporary accommodation which includes studio, one and two bedroom apartments - some with swim-outs, along with spacious two and three bedroom townhouses with private plunge pools. For couples or singles you may prefer a premium hotel room. Please Note: from June 10th to Late August 2014 the Lagoon Pool and Spas will be unavailable to guests due to vital maintenance works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay Hotel Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.