We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot for quick family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay to your Saves list
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Port Stephens
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for quick family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights mid week with our 3 young children and we had a fantastic time. The pool itself is amazing huge wrap around about 480m in length and only about chest deep all the way around. Rooms were very well furnished and lovely balcony view over the pool. Close proximity to Nelson Bay and cute shopping centre within walking distance of the resort. On site restaurant great, we could not fault amenities or staff. For those families with young children, ensure you book a 2 bedder apt itself and not interconnecting. At the time of booking, we requested a 2 bed apt and upon arrival, were assigned a 1 bed + studio which had two separate entries. Half our family was split up each night as we couldn't leave the kids alone in an apartment by themselves. Make sure you clarify this at time of booking as it will cause disruption if there are no 2 bed apts available upon arrival. That aside, we will def return for another quick getaway.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback and I am pleased to see that you found our amenities more than satisfactory for your stay and that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I regret to hear of the issue with our dual key apartments and you are quite correct in your recommendation to families with young children that they be accommodated in our 2 bed lagoon apartments or alternatively was also have 3 bed plunge pool apartments that are ideal for families. We look forward to your next visit with us and wish you another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    234
    96
    38
    36
See reviews for
161
236
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had the studio swim out room. We arrived at 1am Sat, the reception was very welcoming (24/7 open!). They gave us a 11am check out (given the low season) which was awesome, so no rushing!
The room was very clean, beautiful view, too bad the lagoon was freezing...but the spa and steam room was very nice! definitely want to come during summer! Luved my mini getaway...was an extremely relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind review regarding your stay at Oaks Pacific Blue. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback as we do strive at all times to deliver a high standard of guest services. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My mom and I visited Nelson Bay very briefly in early June.
I had booked the Oaks resort as other reviews illustrated it was decent, rates attractive in the off season and within minutes (driving) of the main hub - Nelson Bay.

Turns out it is very well located. Right opposite the Salamander shopping centre and pretty much 5 minutes cruisey drive from Nelson Bay marina.

I had booked a 1 bedroom studio but on check in we were upgraded to a Studio Lagoon (2 twin beds pushed together) and double french-ish doors opening out towards the pool.
Price difference between this and the standard studio is not much.

The room was simple but equipped with the very necessary tea/coffee/kettle, bar fridge (not stocked) and a few bits of cutlery and crockery.

There was a digital TV, CD and DVD system to make use of - lots of wires hanging out everywhere, but otherwise functional.
Bedding was standard. Would have been nice to haul out a spare blanked/duvet that had its linen cover. The one we had living in our cupboard was bare and looking a little seedy.

The bathroom - really roomy but sadly such a small shower. Our shower door wouldn't close flush so we had a fair bit of water pooling around on the floor. Not overly fussed, but those who wish to keep their feet, post shower, while still making use of the bathroom - lay down lots of towels.
Small hair products were provided as well as soap.
Hair dryer locked into the wall worked fine - albeit on a very weak power base.

Overall the room was clean, didn't notice individual climate controls and the place was quiet.
Convenient to be able to park right outside out front door too!

Come Summer, anyone staying here will no doubt enjoy the very loooonnggg pool.

For those seeing small accommodations with more of an intimate and boutique feel - this place is probably not for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your stay. I am glad to see you found our rates affordable and location and amenities to your liking. We have rectified the issue with the shower door not closing properly and the untidy wires. I would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose the resort aware of its location as it is a short drive outside of Nelson Bay although is very conviently close to a shopping complex which is great for self catering. Check in was prompt and we were given a map to our room. We had chosen a 1 bed swimout room and were we delighted with the location of the room in the resort. The layout was spacious and the balcony opened out straight onto the pool- which is amazing and goes all the way round the resort in a big loop.

Pros- nice spacious room, spa bath (in 1 bed swimout), well equipped kitchen, nicely set out resort, extended check out.

Cons- spa bath was broken on check in (although very quickly mended by maintenance) kitchen floor was very greasy and despite several requests it took 2 days to clean, stained upholstery throughout the apartment- sofa, chair cushions, chair in bedroom made the room look quite uninviting, tea and coffee provided- although no milk?! not even mini pots, terribly designed pans - the handles heat up and no oven gloves provided.

We enjoyed our stay in the resort. It was reasonably quiet which we liked. I think it could get very busy in summer and consequently not be so secluded and private which was an attraction to us for a peaceful getaway.

Currently there is no cafe or restaurant on site- it didnt bother us but seems a shame and I hope the space gets filled to be enjoyed in the summer months.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your stay. I am pleased to see you found our resort to your liking and conveniently located and set out. I am glad to see that my maintenance team was able to rectify the issue with your spa pump in a timely manner. I have spoken with my House keeping manager about the issue with your floor and the need for timely rectification and I do hope this did not impact on your stay too greatly. All our units do come with milk supplied on check in available in the fridge. I will pass your comments regarding the pot handles on to our suppliers for their consideration. Thank you again for you feedback, we hope you enjoy your next stay with Oaks and we expect our restaurant and coffee shop to re-open in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just spent 3 very comfortable nights in this resort,the room was very clean the linen was high quality and use of a microwave oven was a bonus.The resort is very convenient to major attractions also a large shopping centre.
We would recommend this resort for anyone planning a trip to the Port Stephens area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay with us at Oaks Pacific Blue. I it pleasing to see you found our standards high as we do strive to maintain all our rooms at a high standard for all our guests. We look forward to your next visit and wish you a pleasant stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stay 1 night with Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay. Room was few doors away from the main lobby. Was a brief stay as needed to go Port Stephens early in the morning. Rooms was huge and equipped with shower+bathtub, micro oven, water boiler, iron, fridge, dining table, sofa area, balcony seating facing the swimming pool, mutli-channel tv and a good comfortable bed. Swimming pool is extended throughout the resort as I noticed there were cottage-style accommodation too suitable for weekend stays. Believed the resort is nearby certain supermarkets and lots of fastfood restaurant. Wifi is payable at a costly price but othersie, it is pretty worthed the stay if you are looking to relax away from work. A pity I couldn't have more time to spend in the resort and around it.

Room Tip: Nearby the lobby as easy access out of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for you feedback on your stay with us at Oaks Pacific Blue. I am pleased to see you found our accommodation and facilities satisfactory and yes we do have other types of accommodation suitable for couples, families etc for longer stays. Regrettably much of the Salamander Bay area does not have ADSL2 or NBN as yet so costs for internet are still relatively high. We do hope these will come down in the future as infrastructure in the area is upgraded. We look forward to having you as our guest again and hope you can enjoy a leisurely stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here long weekend and arrived late to find a warm and welcoming one bedroom apartment on th ground floor opening out to the pool which was a lovely surprise.

The room itself comes with everything you need to make a sime meal, have a long spa bath, or relax in front of the flat screen tv.

I suggest if you do decide to cook, and that would be the point of staying in a self contained apartment, that you either bring your condiments and bits and pieces with you or at least check the drawers before heading to the shops. You don't want to be caught out without something important like salt.

We had a dinner one night at the restaurant which was pretty empty later in the evening. Service there was lacking but we ate decent food.

As for the area there is a shopping mall accross the road and what i love about Port Stephens are the beaches and dunes. Do a quad bike tour with Quad Bike Kings if you can afford it. I highly recommend it regardless of the cost!

Theres not much else to do in winter so be prepared to come with things to occupy your self, bath salts, book and movies. I would sugges that for the price, some finishing touches like nicer bath products and spa bath salts and candles would be nice. Maybe even a complimentary wine on arrival will go a long way to keep people happy, especially during slower seasons.

All in all a lovely stay, if only it was more affordable!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our room and facilities more than adequate. Port Stephens has much to offer and it is great to see you enjoyed some of wonderful activities. I wish you an equally pleasant stay on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Address: 265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Stephens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located approximately two and a half hours north of Sydney and ideally situated to enjoy everything that beautiful Port Stephens has to offer, is the stunning Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. Oaks Pacific Blue Resort offers a choice of contemporary accommodation which includes studio, one and two bedroom apartments - some with swim-outs, along with spacious two and three bedroom townhouses with private plunge pools. For couples or singles you may prefer a premium hotel room. Please Note: from June 10th to Late August 2014 the Lagoon Pool and Spas will be unavailable to guests due to vital maintenance works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay Hotel Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.