We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay to your Saves list
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Port Stephens
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun Family Holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and I stayed at Pacific Blue in January 2012- overall we did have a great family vacation. My kids loved the pool and never wanted to get out, although it was freezing. We did go during the school holiday period and it was full of families which was great - as our kids made friends with other regulars. Spoke with many regular guests who come back every year. It was a short drive to the marina- with a nice choice of restaurants for families and couples. The only complaint I can make was the fact the larger size bed is 2 single beds pushed together.Also when I arrived to check in , only then did they tell me I had to pay the deposit of $150 which was not discussed earlier - so i had to drive around looking for a local bank that was open on a Saturday to get the extra money . We also had the room booked over looking the pool from the upper lever but when we got there we had a little pool view from our room on the bottom floor- that was disappointing! Also the little court yards out for each unit were not very private , luckily we had a corner room - otherwise we would have had people walking past our back door all hours.
We ate every night at Nelson Bay Marina and finished our night with delicious gelato ice cream =)
We are going back again in Feb 2013 and I cannot wait. We will be using a voucher so I hope we get the room that has been booked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is regrettable to hear of the issues surrounding the matter of the $150 Security bond. Unfortunately this is a standard across all Oaks properties and the details of this are made available on website booking sites and also on confirmation email that we send out to guests upon reservation. Our apologies if this was not made clear to you via these various methods when you made your booking. We selected this type of bed to allow our guest the option of either king or twin options when arranging their holiday with us. May we recommend our 2 bed lagoon units for your future stay as this type of unit comes with a king bed only in the master bedroom and king or twin beds in the second bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    234
    96
    38
    36
See reviews for
161
237
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The resort it self is very nice but the housekeeping is not up to standard. When we arrived the room was very nice and clean. The next day when we arrived back after a day of sightseeing we had a rude shock with the way the room was made up. The floor in the bathromm had not been touched, the carpet was not touched and the bed was only pulled up and left untidy. I have never complained to management but this time I did. Management informed me that they had to check what rate we were paying. It appears as to what rate you are paying as to what service you receive. I was informed that we were entitled to a full makeover everyday so we must have paid the right rate. Then wanted to sent a housekeeper to our room then but I said leave it until tomorrow. The next day we arrived back around 12noon and the room had not been touched. It appears that the room was cleaned after we left at 1pm and arrived back at 2.30pm. Once again what a rude shock we had. After being promised a full service not much had been done. No bathroom clean again. The bed was properly made but the cushions were left on the floor. Vey hygienic!! The carpet had not been touched again. When checking out the receptionist just took the key and said thank you, no smile, thank you for staying with us or please come again. Absolutely nothing. We will never return or recommend this resort to any of our friends. We have travelled quite extensively around the world and our rooms have always been cleaned to our satisfaction before lunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks you for your feedback regarding Oaks Pacific Blue. It is regrettable to hear of the disappointing service you received during your stay. The Hotel Manager has met with all housekeeping staff regarding this matter and reminded them of the importance of attention to detail and guest satisfaction no matter how busy the day may be, and we will be monitoring our servicing standards to ensure any recurrence of such issues. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

i stayed here for a month, the apartment itself was lovely - everything you need to feel at home.

i have no specific complaints about this accomodation as i didn't pay for it - it was part of a relocation package - however if i had paid i think there would be a long list of niggly complaints - i think for what it was its overpriced. (i have stayed in far nicer places for much less than the advertised prices!!)
the complex is good - everything you need, gym/pool/shopping centre a few minutes walk away etc - however, when i stayed (outside of season) the bar/restaurant never seemed to be open, and the pool was far too cold to make the most of it.
however, i can imagine that in the summer season this place is great ...

you also have to pay extra to have your room cleaned. and you have to strip your bed and leave the sheets to be replaced by 10am. i found this to be totally pointless as the apartment i was in was totally set up for self service, washer/vacuum etc etc. as i was on my own and cleaning up after myself there wasnt anything for the housekeeping to do - yet i still somehow got charged a $20 cleaning fine after i checked out, not sure quite how they figured that but i couldnt be bothered with the hassle of challenging it.

when i got there the washing machine and tv was broken - it took about a week and a half for both to be fixed/replaced.

plenty to do locally but i think i would have struggled without my car.

((also - not my specific experience but thought i'd share it - the apartments are not particularly toddler friendly - my friends with a 1 year old were staying at the same time in a similar laidout apartment and they really struggled to keep it child friendly!))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay. Whilst we are encouraged by your comments on the layout and location of our lovely resort, we must express our disappointment at the issues you encountered during your stay. Oaks manages the majority of the units within the property some of the units at the resort are managed privately by parties other than Oaks, and in this case it seems you have indeed rented one of those units not under our care. Whilst these units are not subject to the standards to which Oaks aspire we will be forwarding this matter on to the various management agents that manage the other units here in within the complex for their action. We hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself,hubby and two kids just returned from a week here. We stayed in a privately owned apartment which was beautiful.Our apartment was located adjacent to the pool with a gate for easy access which was perfect. We loved the pool even though it was freezing. In fact we loved everything about the place except the rudeness of the staff. We could not believe how unfriendly they all were. Nobody would greet us not even with a smile. When we asked a couple of questions we were given an abrupt answer. As for the restaurant well we have never been anywhere where the service and staff were so bad.The prices are not cheap but the standard certainly is.How can a resort such as this employ staff that obviously are not experienced and don't care about clients. it's a shame as from what I have heard and read it seems to be a constant downfall. Why aren't staff being trained or dealt with on how to treat valuable customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment in a great location and you could take advantage of pool being so close to your room. It is disappointing to read of your experience with the level of service you received at both reception and the restaurant. If you would like to discuss any matters with us further you can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Its a nice place, not bad a for a visit or one or two nights stay. Would be most suitable if you have a group but its slightly overpriced for the amenities and the staff are rude and unhelpful. There are lots of things to do around the place..

Room Tip: choose the one towards the pool not on the side of road ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, we certainly appreciate your feedback and will take your points onboard. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights for my wife's birthday. Did a special trip to the resort that morning to leave 4 yellow roses - 1 to be delivered to the room each day - receptionist thought I was a delivery person, laughed at me when I said I was staying there. Our bathroom was not cleaned once in the 4 days. I had to call reception every afternoon to have the bed made even stood with the staff person and had to show him how to make it properly, had the staff supervisor to the room to show her what a poor job her staff did. The rose that was to be delivered on Saturday never appeared. Special Note: No double, Queen or King beds - they just have two single beds pushed together, kills your back - Top Resort - I think not, overpriced for what you get. Guess I should say pool is nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We are concerned to read of your experiences while staying with us and would like to opportunity to discuss the matters with you further. You can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We hope to rectify any matters and welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband booked this accommodation as a surprise for me, and from the beginning it was clear that the staff couldn't care less about the occasion we were celebrating- our honeymoon. We arrived to the reception area extremely excited, and as we went to check in not one congratulatory word was offered... We then went to the accommodation to find that the 'complimentary' champagne and chocolates were there, but had been charged to our stay. We would walk in and out of the reception area with not one staff member smiling at us, asking how the stay was or anything. The only time a staff member was helpful was the bloke who works the overnight shift, who at 11pm, told us about the area, places to go, and directions.
The big one for us that also put a huge dampener on things was the fact that they closed the restaurant and bar at 4.30pm, which meant travelling to Nelson Bay just for a simple drink. When we inquired about this the staff member was that rude it was almost shocking, giving no explanation at all and not offering even the simplest of apologies.
The entire pool area is also glass free, so for guests who stayed in the accommodation with the swim out option, there was no way to sip a cocktail while lounging around the pool, as the pool covers the entire perimeter of the resort. I understand safety, but why would you spend extra money on a swim out option to have someone dictate exactly what you can do around it, especially with something that does not harm anyone?
I would not recommend staying here at all, purely because the only thing it has to offer is an unheated pool and a nice room.
This experience has completely put a storm cloud of disappointment over our honeymoon and we will be writing a letter of complaint ASAP.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate you commenting on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is disappointing to read of your experiences and we would like to opportunity to discuss the matters with you further. You can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We hope to rectify the matter and have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Address: 265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Stephens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located approximately two and a half hours north of Sydney and ideally situated to enjoy everything that beautiful Port Stephens has to offer, is the stunning Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. Oaks Pacific Blue Resort offers a choice of contemporary accommodation which includes studio, one and two bedroom apartments - some with swim-outs, along with spacious two and three bedroom townhouses with private plunge pools. For couples or singles you may prefer a premium hotel room. Please Note: from June 10th to Late August 2014 the Lagoon Pool and Spas will be unavailable to guests due to vital maintenance works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay Hotel Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.