We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay to your Saves list
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Port Stephens
THANE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel seems just out of a picture with its long winding pool around the hotel. The reception had to actually give me a map of their hotel so as to help one locate their rooms & it was really necessary. The staff was a little curt in answering to questions regarding the rooms, they asked us to just refer the map...
Overall the experience was really good as you could spend the whole day just gazing at or being in the pool....
A must stay in Port Stephens...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is wonderful to read that you found our resort a must stay and were able to enjoy the pool area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    206
    83
    37
    34
See reviews for
148
202
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. Our stay was lovely and the property beautiful.Our room was imaculate and spacious. We had a very nice night at the restaurant although it was a little expensive.
However there was one issue that cannot go unsaid.
Whilst checking in at reception I was appauled when I could hear swearing, laughing and shouting coming from behind the reception area in an office. I was obviously taken back by this and the receptionist checking me was very embarrassed, turning to the other receptionists that did not know what to do either. She walked over and pulled the door shut. When I commented on the foul language the young lady apologised perfusely.

When speaking with another guest on checkout, that had checked in not long after me she informed me that she had overheard the staff speaking and it was the MANAGERS behaving that way. I was going to take the managers number to report the behaviour but it seems pointless.
I would stay at Oaks Pacific Blue again it is just a shame that such a beautiful resort is run by such foul mouthed managment.

Room Tip: Swim up room is amazing but maybe avoid crowded spa areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It was very concerning to read your comments in relation to the conversations occurring in a back office area. It is certainly not acceptable practice for any staff to use inappropriate language and certainly not to disrupt or make guests uncomfortable in their conduct. Please accept our apologies for this behaviour and be assured we will address this concern directly with management at the property and their supervisors. We are however pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very pleasant & professional check in.
Great room at a great rate.
Will definately be booking here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We are pleased you had a great room and were able to get a great rate. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a one bedroom swim out apartment which was great. it was spacious with a great kitchen and laundry services. the spa bath was amazing but the bed was very hard

Location was good as it it only a 7 minute drive to the marina, across the road was a bowling alley and video eazy. A 2 minute drive was a shopping centre that had everything.

Staff was okay. The swim out was pretty amazing. There are 2 spas that close at 930pm which was great. the pool is only 0.9 deep though. The man made beach isn't really a beach- it is just a grassy area.

the only downside to the resort was The restaurant. It was very limited in the menu, the food was terrible and it was pricy. It was very disappointing.

Also there is very limited delivery options so we got auzzie pizzas which was great

Overall it was good. We were a young couple and we came before the school holidays .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is great to read that you enjoyed your swimout apartment and found it spacious. We are pleased you found the location convenient and you were able to enjoy the spa and our pool. I will pass your comments in regards to the restaurant onto the owners for their immediate attention. The restaurant onsite is not owned by Oaks Hotels and Resorts however we appreciate this reflects directly on our brand. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed at this resort, first time in a studio lagoon room in August 2011 and I returned this August but stayed in a one bedroom apartment.
The room was beautiful, very clean and tidy, huge king bed and views over looking the pool..
Parking was a bit of an issue and it also rained this weekend so it was a bugger to get to and from the car in the rain.
I was very impressed with the modern features in the kitchen and living and the wonderful spa bath, the staff are also very kind and obliging and I will definitely be staying again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is wonderful to read that on a second occasion we have been able to impress you with our resort. We are pleased to read that you were happy with your 1 Bedroom apartment and found the room to be clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in a 2 bedroom lagoon apartment. Fabulous!! Very clean, modern decor, good lichen facilities, a genuine separate bath (not often seen in apartments anymore) pool was lively and clean, tennis courts great, spa lovely. No complaints here. We will definitely be back for a family weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment clean, modern with good facilities. Its great to read you will be back with your family to enjoy our resort facilities again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Martha. Vic
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in a pool side room and found it very comfortable and clean. Heater worked beautifully for those cooler nights and the resort was extremely well maintained. Staff were very helpful when we were asking about whale and dolphin cruises and gave us directions to shopping and marinas. Would love to come back in summer and use the pool which the Resort is built around. We were very happy with our stay and actually slept well as the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Room with swimout would be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is wonderful to read that you found our resort to be comfortable, clean and well maintained. We are pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and that you found the beds in your apartment to be comfy. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Address: 265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Stephens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located approximately two and a half hours north of Sydney and ideally situated to enjoy everything that beautiful Port Stephens has to offer, is the stunning Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. Oaks Pacific Blue Resort offers a choice of contemporary accommodation which includes studio, one and two bedroom apartments - some with swim-outs, along with spacious two and three bedroom townhouses with private plunge pools. For couples or singles you may prefer a premium hotel room. Please Note: from June 10th to Late August 2014 the Lagoon Pool and Spas will be unavailable to guests due to vital maintenance works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay Hotel Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.