We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oaks Pacific Blue Resort - Salamander Bay ** Exceptional**” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay to your Saves list
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Port Stephens
Palmwoods
1 review
“Oaks Pacific Blue Resort - Salamander Bay ** Exceptional**”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very pleasant & professional check in.
Great room at a great rate.
Will definately be booking here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We are pleased you had a great room and were able to get a great rate. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    234
    96
    38
    36
See reviews for
161
236
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a one bedroom swim out apartment which was great. it was spacious with a great kitchen and laundry services. the spa bath was amazing but the bed was very hard

Location was good as it it only a 7 minute drive to the marina, across the road was a bowling alley and video eazy. A 2 minute drive was a shopping centre that had everything.

Staff was okay. The swim out was pretty amazing. There are 2 spas that close at 930pm which was great. the pool is only 0.9 deep though. The man made beach isn't really a beach- it is just a grassy area.

the only downside to the resort was The restaurant. It was very limited in the menu, the food was terrible and it was pricy. It was very disappointing.

Also there is very limited delivery options so we got auzzie pizzas which was great

Overall it was good. We were a young couple and we came before the school holidays .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is great to read that you enjoyed your swimout apartment and found it spacious. We are pleased you found the location convenient and you were able to enjoy the spa and our pool. I will pass your comments in regards to the restaurant onto the owners for their immediate attention. The restaurant onsite is not owned by Oaks Hotels and Resorts however we appreciate this reflects directly on our brand. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed at this resort, first time in a studio lagoon room in August 2011 and I returned this August but stayed in a one bedroom apartment.
The room was beautiful, very clean and tidy, huge king bed and views over looking the pool..
Parking was a bit of an issue and it also rained this weekend so it was a bugger to get to and from the car in the rain.
I was very impressed with the modern features in the kitchen and living and the wonderful spa bath, the staff are also very kind and obliging and I will definitely be staying again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is wonderful to read that on a second occasion we have been able to impress you with our resort. We are pleased to read that you were happy with your 1 Bedroom apartment and found the room to be clean and tidy. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in a 2 bedroom lagoon apartment. Fabulous!! Very clean, modern decor, good lichen facilities, a genuine separate bath (not often seen in apartments anymore) pool was lively and clean, tennis courts great, spa lovely. No complaints here. We will definitely be back for a family weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment clean, modern with good facilities. Its great to read you will be back with your family to enjoy our resort facilities again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Martha. Vic
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in a pool side room and found it very comfortable and clean. Heater worked beautifully for those cooler nights and the resort was extremely well maintained. Staff were very helpful when we were asking about whale and dolphin cruises and gave us directions to shopping and marinas. Would love to come back in summer and use the pool which the Resort is built around. We were very happy with our stay and actually slept well as the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Room with swimout would be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is wonderful to read that you found our resort to be comfortable, clean and well maintained. We are pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and that you found the beds in your apartment to be comfy. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night. We found our room to be good and of good value. The pros stop there. Checking in was very awkward with the receptionist welcoming me strangely 3/4 of the way through paperwork etc. as if it was rehersed or something. $150 bond is quite steep. Dinner very expensive for what you get. 1/2 the wine menu was not available. The actual menu was smaller than that on the website. Service was slow and the food was more like cafateria style food. Checkout took ages even as there was no line up. Lack of room/local area info/booklet in the room - thought this was quite strange. Staff seemed unorganised and I am not sure how they cope during the peak season. All staff were dressed professionally however this just turned out to be a facade. I rang to see if we had to make a booking for dinner and was told 'definately' however when we arrived there were only four other people in the restaurant. There is a lack of signs - should not have to try four doors before finding one that opens to the restaurant. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologise for the confusion in regards to the bond for your room. A security bond is required from all guests on arrival at each of our properties. This is processed as a credit card pre-authorisation, the bank places a hold on funds. Depending on the card issuer this will automatically release within 10 working days. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is explained by our reservations team and further information can be found on our reservation confirmation letters and guest registration cards. We apologise if this was not communicated to you correctly. I will pass your comments in regards to the restaurant onto the National Food and Beverage Team who will consult with the operators of the restaurant facility. We will also review our staff training on front desk taking on board your comments that you felt they were lacking in service areas. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment for a long week end . The rooms were comfortable and reasonably clean . The foyer walls were heavily marked and in need of paint . Functional kitchen and two bathrooms which was great for a family with teenagers . We had a swim out apartment which was great as the resort has a circular lagoon pool, which the kids loved . The resort is about 5 min drive to the beach . The resort is located across from a shopping center which is handy . There is a bar and resturant if you want to stay in .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to be comfortable and well suited to your needs. We are pleased you and your family were able to enjoy the lagoon pool and your swim out apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay

Address: 265 Sandy Point Road | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Stephens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located approximately two and a half hours north of Sydney and ideally situated to enjoy everything that beautiful Port Stephens has to offer, is the stunning Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. Oaks Pacific Blue Resort offers a choice of contemporary accommodation which includes studio, one and two bedroom apartments - some with swim-outs, along with spacious two and three bedroom townhouses with private plunge pools. For couples or singles you may prefer a premium hotel room. Please Note: from June 10th to Late August 2014 the Lagoon Pool and Spas will be unavailable to guests due to vital maintenance works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay Hotel Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Port Stephens
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.