We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with kids of all ages!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Stephens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park
Save
You added BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park to your Saves list
122 Soldiers Point Road | Soldiers Point, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great for families with kids of all ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here with our 7 month old daughter for a week and had a great time! (Even though we had poor weather). We found ourselves making use of the indoor pool with baby water park and the BBQ area with complimentary herb garden daily.
Other great features of the park are it's pool with water slide, half sized tennis courts, trampolines, kids indoor jungle gym/ball pit, DVD library, kids bike track, helpful staff, tropical style gardens and proximity to salamander bay shops (about 10 min drive to main shopping centre).
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
65
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kellyville, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a great place to stay. Nice clean sites, well defined.
Staff very friendly and professional. Nothing too much trouble for them.
Great local knowledge.
The park is aimed at young families but, at 50 plus with no young ones with us, out of school holidays it was fantastic.
The people that write negative comments must be very hard to please.
Thanks guys. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Really nice and neat park,stroll to club next door,fishing jetty across the road.This is the most expensive park we have stayed in at $109 per night for a smallish powered site it is to expensive!....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Firstly I would just to state I have raised these issues with the park, at the time of staying.

We were warned on arrival, this place is families or older people, and that our age (27 &24) are known for being trouble makers. I quickly assured them we don't fit THEIR stereotype.

Overall we enjoyed the facilities at the park, the were generally clean.

It seems like a great place, if your your of retirement age or if you have new born babys.

Why do I say that. Because you can make absolutely no noise, be nowhere, do nothing, at sunset.

The park is patrol by security and he will happily tell you to turn your music off, even if it's coming from your phone (can't be all that loud)

We had friends come to visit us for dinner on the second afternoon, much to our suprise, they were rudely told to leave as we were not allowed visitor, unless they paid $8 fee per person.

When we explained they were only here for dinner, we were once again told they had to leave as the park closed at 5pm and visitors are not welcome after then.

So as you would imagine, we packed our site up and seeked a refund and left.

Would never stay here again for the simple reason of staffing.

They were rude from the first minute up until the last minute when we left.

Very big dissapointment.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna E, Owner at BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi JO87SH...
We must first admit that we're not surprised to see your comments, and that we expected this to happen. Our staff do not go out of their way to be rude, or to cause confrontation, or to upset our guests holidays. They do however, enforce park policies in order to ensure that ALL of our guests have the same opportunity for an enjoyable holiday. You were politely informed on arrival that our park is not a party park, and that the overwhelming majority of our guests are families with young children, and that the policies we have in place are to ensure their comfort and enjoyment. The numerous issues you raise in your review are a result of the type of holiday you were looking for, which didn't fit with the type of holiday we provide. Unfortunately, a refund and your groups departure, was the best solution for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Great tent site. The pool was excellent. Our children particularly enjoyed the waterslide. The bathroom facilities were excellent. My Only criticism would be that they would benefit from twice-daily cleaning. Position over the road from the beach was great. Our children enjoyed the kids' club. It was a short drive to Nelson Bay and Shoal Beach etc. Numerous other beaches walking and driving distance.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A great place for families with lots of amusements for the kids. The facilities are great, they even have kids club activities during school holidays. The thing that really lets the park down is the cleanliness. Bathrooms are unisex and were never cleaned. The things we seen in there - we never want to see again. Urine on the floors and faeces smeared over walls - that remained there for 3+ days, and was still there when we left. They provide mops and buckets in each cubicle, I guess in the hope that you will clean the amenities yourself. There were even teenage boys hiding behind doors and under benches, playing in the toilets. The pool was also never clean, when we left it was so murky and cloudy that you couldn't see the bottom. The sides were covered in sludge that people had started writing their names and messages in with sticks. The pool slide is great, if you can stand "what lies at the bottom". The pool is too small to accommodate such a large number of people. Such a shame as the park itself is fantastic if you can look past the toilets and the pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna E, Owner at BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Deb,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience in our park. We are very sorry to hear we've failed to meet your expectations, and disappointed that you found our facilities not up to scratch. We are a small family run business, and we genuinely pride ourselves on providing clean, well maintained and modern facilities for the enjoyment of our guests, and although we admit we're far from perfect, we believe we do a very good job overall. We would like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the concerns you raised in your review, in an effort to provide some comfort to yourself and other readers. Our amenities block is brand new, with state of the art bathrooms, which are designed to be 'family friendly'. They are checked and spot cleaned every morning and afternoon, and given a full 'top to bottom' clean in the middle of the day, without exception. We agree, that during your stay we had an issue with somebody deliberately and maliciously urinating on the floors in the bathrooms and leaving a filthy mess for us to clean up, but they are public bathrooms, and some people are just 'wrong'! We did our best to deal with this problem as regularly as we could, and we are glad to say that it is no longer happening, it was a short term issue. As for faeces smeared on the walls for 3+ days, we outright dispute that claim. No business owner in their right mind would spend as much time, effort and money as we have to create such fantastic bathrooms for the use of our guests, only to ruin the impact by leaving that sort of mess unattended to, it just doesn't make sense. If the amenities were never cleaned as you say, and the mess was that unbearable, why did you not make your concerns known to the office or a member of staff, so we could deal with it there and then? There is a sign in the bathrooms encouraging guests to tell us immediately if they are in need of attention, as it is our wish that they be clean and presentable at all times. I have no doubt we could have resolved your concerns had you made us aware of them. Finally, we would agree that the swimming pool is too small for the load in our peak time of year, even though we have two of them. On long stretches of hot, sunny days, with very heavy usage, the water can and does go murky. But we can reassure you that the filters never turn off, and that the automated chemical dosage maintains the chlorine at the correct levels for hygiene, at all times. When the pressure on the pool eases a bit, water clarity will return. Again, we can only apologise for failing to provide you with the holiday experience you expected during your stay. For anyone reading this review, who is concerned about these comments, please be assured we take all these issues seriously, and the vast majority of our guests tell us they love the experience we provide. We would encourage you to have a walk around our park, and inspect all the facilities and accommodation at any time of the year, and if for any reason, you are dissatisfied or unhappy with what you see, we will refund 100% of your money within one hour of check in. For any reason. That's our guarantee, because we believe in the quality of our product, and we want your holiday to be 'risk free'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Was great a place to stay with two kids under 3 the indoor pool was great and the outdoor toddler pool was good also. The indoor soft play area was good and only improvement I could ask is the outdoor play area get some shade cloth or trees around it as on warm day was too hot to touch so couldn't use.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park

Address: 122 Soldiers Point Road | Soldiers Point, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Soldiers Point Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.