We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding! The most wonderful night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Restaurant

The Point Restaurant
1/21 Soldiers Point Marina Sunset Boulevard Soldiers Point | Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
+61 2 4984 7111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 146 Restaurants in Port Stephens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wedding! The most wonderful night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Recently my husband and I hosted our Wedding Reception at The Point.

From day one, our interactions with Julie and The Point staff were first class! She was attentive down to the finest detail, personable, professional, organised and above all kind and warm hearted. During our search for a venue we came across many vendors who really were not interested in us, just our event. I never once felt like that with Julie or her team.

The Venue:
A beautiful restaurant space, with the most spectacular view of the sun set over Port Stephens. All guests were able to enjoy this view, as seating is arranged both inside and outside on the balcony. The space was perfect for our 95 guests, including enough room to move between tables and on the dance floor.

The Food:
Almost every guest we have spoken to has commented on the quality of the food, the generous portion sizes and beautiful presentation. I enjoyed the prawn entree and the salmon main, and both meals were cooked to perfection. During the tasting process, we were also able to sample dishes from the a-la-carte menu, of which were just as delicious.

The Service:
The wait staff were wonderful. They were attentive and very professional and all well groomed, they knew which guests were drinking which wine and no glass was left empty for long. Meals were served and cleared in a orderly fashion and guests were not waiting long for

I highly recommend this venue for a Wedding Reception, and as a beautiful location for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    39
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I had a small family wedding on the weekend at Nelson Bay and had our post wedding dinner at The Point Restaurant. Despite having only a small number of people in our party, from my first contact with Julie at the restaurant, she made us feel as though our booking was as important as if we were planning a large wedding reception with them, assisting us to design an evening that would be special for us and our guests, including a two course al-la-carte menu and drinks/nibbles on the deck whilst watching the sunset. On the day, The Point Restaurant did not disappoint, and after drinks and nibbles on the deck watching the sunset, we were treated to a beautiful two course dinner. The food was amazing and the service absolutely spot on. Nothing was too much trouble and our families all commented on the beautiful food, location and service. I would highly recommend The Point Restaurant to anyone who is visiting the Port Stephens area and would like to thank Julie and her team for making our wedding dinner so special on Saturday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

In order to celebrate a special birthday we decided to watch the magnificent sunset while dining at The Point Restaurant. We were totally impressed with the magnificent view of the sunset, the atmosphere of the restaurant, the great service, the reasonably pried wine list and the exceptional food. Our plan was to enjoy the sunset so when booking we requested a window table; this turned out to be several metres from the waters edge and we had to look over other tables to view the sunset. However, our disappointment was short-lived as we viewed the magnificent sunset with little difficulty. The tables were set apart so that conversation at one table didn't intrude on the privacy of surrounding tables. As we dined on Easter Saturday night the restaurant was busy and the staff had been working long hours during the Easter period. This probably accounted for the fact that our fish of the day was slightly dry, but the accompaniments for the main course were superb. Both entrees and both desserts were possibly the best we have tasted anywhere in the world. We look forward to returning to The Point and, weather permitting, will book a balcony table. We enjoyed celebrating the birthday in style. Thanks for a very memorable experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place has a great view from the deck at sunset. We has Oysters and the Fish of the day and they were excellent. The main was so well presented & a decent size that there was no need to order mains. The place allows BYO for a $3.50 per person corkage which is reasonable. The service is friendly and very efficient. I would recommend this place as it is is well run and the location is one of the best we have found in this part of the coast. A great find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great view, wonderful food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple, had the pleasure of dining at The Point on the 20th of March. We arrived in time to enjoy the lovely sunset. The staff were very friendly and professional and provided a wonderful service. The food was amazing. We were determined to enjoy some great seafood whilst staying at Port Stephens and The Point did not disappoint. We can highly recommend the Platter for Two. It was not cheap but was very good value for money (the scallops in both the entree and main were very yummy). If you are in the area do yourself a favour and enjoy some great food, views and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Restaurant also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Anna Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to The Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.