We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Strokes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Ridge Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Ridge Retreat to your Saves list
Colonial Ridge Retreat
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   4 Fleet Street | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Different Strokes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just amazing the difference between some peoples experiences. We loved it. Spacious accommodation which is not new but very clean, and better than some 4 star places we have stayed. We had a coupon as well, played tennis, and golf, and reception was open on the weekend but not all day. It is very quiet and the staff very helpful. I spoke to a gentleman cleaning the pool and asked about the duck problem. He pointed to a couple of ducks surrounded by ducklings and children feeding them. I was told the ducks were a protected species and fly in and the kids feed them. The pool was clean and we enjoyed a swim. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the high set cottages if stairs are not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    31
    12
    20
See reviews for
36
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked with a coupon for 2 nights, travelled 5 hours to get there , took one look and went else where for accommodation, our cottage was smelly, it was pouring rain someone was in our car park which was still a long way from our cottage, would have got our belongings drenched if we tried to take it there. There was no smoking on the premises at all, which we were unaware of, I don't smoke but husband likes one. No views, staff a bit rude and not helpful, could not get any money back , will try through coupon, they said probably not, I did tell them my dad had just died and it was my husbands birthday and they said nothing, I left and cried.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked through a coupon for two nights.Booked for the weekend and there was no one in recepetion on the weekend.Monday to Friday 9 to 5. Had to pick up our keys from the 'safe'.Could not redeem our golf coupons that entitled us to a game of golf at the near by course or play tennis on the premises due to there being no-one at the reception; and then told it was our fault.Pool had duck poo all around the edges so no swimming for us.Room size was decent and thats about it.
We were here with our extended family and we were not impressed.
If you are coming to this area im sure there are a lot better options than this.
We will not be back.

Room Tip: Look for different accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

From the lovely federation green buildings to the basic motel style furniture and fittings not much has changed here since it was built. Decor is very tired and the bed was hard. The mattress didn't match the base. Only positive was large rooms. Pool was a public health nightmare as it was used by ducks. Duck poo never cleaned up from around the pool. No oven, dishwasher and very few cooking utensils Duck poo floating in the pool. Yuk. Nice quiet part of Port Stephens but budget basic accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

After reading the last review, we were not expecting a lot as we too purchased a discount coupon for 2 nights accommodation at this retreat.
Upon arrival, we caught the person from reception just in time as reception closes early on the weekend - a bit strange given that it should be the busiest on weekends? Anyway, we were given the keys and told where our cottage was.
Upon opening the door, we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the place and it was very clean (no sign of cockroaches). The furnishings were quite dated but the beds were comfy and the kids really liked their room.
Bedroom configuration was 1 queen and 2 singles. I really liked how the bathroom was interconnected between the 2 rooms. Good for a family, not sure if it's so good for a couple !
The kitchen was well equipped and the cottage had its own washing machine and dryer.
The TV only had channel 7 for some reason - but we didn't need to watch it too much as we were out most of the time.
Air con was new and worked fine.
The cottage we stayed at may have been a newer one as we have noticed the other cottages around the site were maybe not as new (older air cons etc)
We also had a glimpse of the bay which was lovely.
Salamander Bay is a lovely spot - nice and quiet and close to Nelson Bay where most of the restaurants are.
We had a look at the pool and thought it needed some maintenance (ie ducks were swimming in the pool and lots of debris in it)
Overall, I would recommend this place for families with kids because the cottages were so large and provided everything we needed for self catering.

Room Tip: Bay view cottages have the best view but may have an upgrade cost. See if you can get one of the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked this through a coupon advertising luxury resort with free continental breakfast daily. It was a freezing cold run down cabin complete with cockroaches and one antiquated air conditioner in the living area with no remote, no heating in bedrooms. The breakfast was a cardboard box with 8 slices of bread and some jams next to a rusty toaster. It was not replenished during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

To celebrate a special birthday, my wife and I stayed in cabins with 2 other couples. Each couple had a cabin to ourselves, but they are huge in size and having 2 bedrooms, can easily handle 4 + persons. The lounge area was a bit dated but very comfortable, and the air conditioning worked well in the cold weather. Kitchen was full size and had all the requirements other than an oven. Bathroom was very clean and tidy, and the bed was quite comfortable. The Retreat is located close to the pub and bowling club, and the Salamander Bay shopping centre is only a 5 minute drive away. I recommend the Colonial Ridge Retreat to families and groups of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin high in the retreat for water views from the long verandahs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Ridge Retreat

Address: 4 Fleet Street | Salamander Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Ridge Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Ridge Retreat South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Ridge Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.