We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly - I dont think so!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments

Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments to your Saves list
Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Shoal Bay Rd & Harwood Ave | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Coolum
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly - I dont think so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The accommodation was advertised as having 2 pet friendly apartments. We were travelling with 2 small dogs, 2 adults and a teenager. Im not sure what exactly which part was pet friendly or how this apartment would differ from any other. It had a tiled outdoor small patio and a gate through which you had to take the dogs out onto the street to the toilet. We asked for directions to the beach, and walked the dogs down there only to find that there were no dogs allowed on the beach or in the adjacent parkland. It might have been nice to know that before we walked all the way down there. So then we decided to go have some fish and chips and sit somewhere so the dogs could stretch their legs. Every single piece of grass, picnic table, bench and beach we went to there were signs to say no dogs allowed. In summary I guess if you have pets Shoal Bay in general is not the place to visit!!!! The apartment was clean and the staff were nice but I would definitely not classify it as Pet Friendly especially for the extra price!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBCA, Grant & Shelley - Managers at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
We do advertise our complex as having 2 pet friendly apartments. These apartments differ from our others in that they are situated on the ground floor with gate access off a balcony to a grassed area. We pride ourselves on the fact that these are the only differences to our other apartments. As having animals ourselves we know what it is like to book a 'pet friendly' apartment only to find that you are in a small, run down room at the back corner of the property. Our pet friendly apartments have exactly the same fixtures and fittings as all of our other aparments. We now offer 3 rooms as pet friendly and all of these have direct access to a fully enclosed shared grassed area that the dogs are free to play in.

We are sad to hear that you didnt find anywhere where you were able to enjoy your holiday with your pets, however if asked we would have been able to suggest ample beaches that allow dogs to run off the lead and the majority of cafes at Shoal Bay do not mind a dog sitting under the table whilst the owners enjoy a hot breakfast or relaxing lunch. Our pet friendly apartments are always the first ones to book out and we have never before had a guest say that they didnt think Shoal Bay was a Pet Friendly area. All it would take was a morning walk to see the amount of locals that have pets and enjoy them as part of their daily life.

We are very glad to hear that your apartment was clean and you were happy with the service you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Me and my partner went away for romantic weekend and we could not have found a better place to stay. Not to talk about the beautiful Shoal Bay.

Very well priced (even though a information centre in Nelson Bay - $120 per night per room; it is cheaper if you book directly with the Beachclub by 5 or 10 dollars.) Walking distance to Shoal Bay, very quick car trip to Nelson Bay. If you don't mind to walk a bit, it is the place to go. Nice a quite. Even though it is right by the road.
The apartment was clean (i really liked that), very very well equipped. We cooked quite a bit and found all the things we needed. Also it had the TV and DVD etc

One of the things we liked the most was Grant and Shelley. Our most common sentence was "Let's ask Grant". Whatever we did not know we asked and Grant answered. He was like a little Ports Stephens encyclopedia. Including how not to get seasick and what time is the sunset. They were friendly, helpful and fun.

We look forward to going there again, we have no reason to look for anything else. Our experience with the Beachclub was awesome. We give it 5 out 5 for everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed at Shoal Bay Beach Club Apts over w/kend and had great time. The hosts Grant & Shelley are very courteous & helpful. RSL club nearby and Nelson Bay for dolphin/whale watching plus the modern apts with well equipped facilities including the large entertainment room for hire made our stay a pleasant & memorable one. Highly recommended place of stay if visiting Ports Stephen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I booked a beachclub entertainer room (the biggest size unit). It's new building 3 story with lift, room etc are new too. It's short drive (5 mins) to nelson bay or shoal bay town centre. If you need something you need drive to the towns to buy. It is because this hotel is located at quiet area (surrounding residential area). We found the toilet is a bit small other than that are good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Website: http://www.shoalbaybeachclub.com.au/

We booked a 1 bedroom Starfish apartment at a price of $140 per night, the weekend before Christmas. We found it cheaper going to them directly for the booking as other accommodation sites were quoting $180 per night. They were a little difficult to reach by phone but very prompt via email. I suspect its owner/manager and the couple who we had dealings with were great. They were very accommodation, friendly and helpful.

The building is only a few years old and has lift access. The room was a self contained apartment, with full kitchen and laundry. Furniture was modern and looked very new. We had a lovely view from our balcony of bushland. They have a small pool and a gym with several pieces of equipment. The rooms also had a plasma TV & DVD player. There is no cable TV but the free to air is digital. They do have a selection of free DVDs on offer. While we were only there for 3 days it would be very comfortable for a week+.

This place is in a great location. Its only a short walk (3min) to the beach through a bush reserve. Shoal Bay is probably a 10 minute walk and Nelson Bay is only a short drive away.

We were also looking at the Shoal Bay Resort but were turned off by its high prices and potential crowds/noise associated with a complex of this size. After going for a walk around here, we were glad we chose where we did.

  • Liked — Room amenities & location
  • Disliked — To be picky, no cable TV
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments

Address: Cnr Shoal Bay Rd & Harwood Ave | Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Beach Club offers modern stylish one and two bedroom fully self contained luxury apartments. Catering for your every holiday need these apartments are beautifully appointed with the latest equipment to ensure your stay is both memorable and completely relaxing. Shoal Bay Beach Club apartments are ideally positioned conveniently between Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay, located just 200m from the north end of Shoal Bay beach set just behind Anzac Park reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments South Pacific/Port Stephens, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoal Bay Beach Club Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.