We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A helpful tip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Picton Valley Motel

Picton Valley Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Picton Valley Motel to your Saves list
Picton Valley Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1665 Remembrance Dr, Picton, New South Wales 2571, Australia (Formerly White Waratah Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Picton
Picton, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A helpful tip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I live near Picton, and have watched this seemingly attractive motel become a health hazard over the last 15 years. Desperate to find accomodation for 30 members of a club I belong to who were coming to see me I booked them into this cockroach riddled dump last year. The members were polite but left me in no doubt about the place. This year, when the club came again I discovered the Bargo Country Motel - basic, cheap, but spotlessly clean with newly overhauled bathrooms only 15 minutes down the road. I strongly advise any readers of this review to go to Bargo......or anywhere....

Room Tip: Go to Bargo Motor Inn - or Camden - or anywhere....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    11
    5
    18
See reviews for
12
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

Other than repeating all the other reviews on this place I'll just use point form;
Dirty
Musty
Broken
Smelly
Etc etc.

It's a pity because it's in such a nice location, and many many years ago you can tell it was once a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Unfortunately we had booked and paid for our room well before reading the reviews from others and had no choice but to stay (night of Christmas Day after visiting family). No-one in reception - all communication was by the office phone. The carpet was not only very stained but obviously had not been vacuumed for some time. Dirty teacups. Walls unpatched and soiled. Our bathroom was horrible: paint OFF walls, dirt ON walls, dirty and cracked handbasin, tissue-thin towels, dirty and broken flyscreen. We did not have a shower at any time as we did not want to disturb the insects in the shower drain and walls. Neglected gardens outside. At least the sheets were clean!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We found the place comfortable and clean, easy access to Picton and Surrounds, really not sure what some of the other comments on here were referring to... The lady at reception was lovely and very helpfull, everything in the room was fine and working as it should be,
we will stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is my first ever review on a hotel stay, which hopefully reflects my feelings on this place.

1st impression - beautiful gardens and landscaping, rooms look modern and tidy from the outside.

* Reception - checked in at 6:30. automatic check in - which wouldn't work. picked up phone to call for assistance and spoke to a barely coherent woman on the phone. (took about 10 minutes to have her understand my name!). In the end or room key was under the door mat!

* Room - carpets severly stained, very dusty, there was little bed linen (1 blanket total),tiny fridge looked about 30 years old, air conditioner fell apart when we tried to turn on, light in bathroom out, very dirty bathroom (dirt washed off the tiles in shower when water was on them), leaking hot tap (which was so bad that my husband was burnt), phone in room not working and when reception was notified they said "you didnt tell us you wanted to use the phone"

These people need to spend some money on maintenance on the rooms! It is in a beautiful location and is a nice property, and is such a pity to write a review like this as this is the only hotel in Picton that i know of.

Room Tip: dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Do yourself a favour travel a further 10-15 up the road and have a choice of some great affordable accommodation. Don't stop here. I don't like to run a place down so I choose not to write our experience here. But if you feel you wish to stay please check out your room. Switches fittings working, water running as it is tank based, facilities cleaned. You can overlook stains on furniture fabrics. Or is that just an indication?

Anyone with some money to invest? Could be a great project, loads of potential with the right owners and management team.

My last thought .... It certainly no longer is the 41/2 star on the plaque advertised. Gym is a storage room for tools and the restaurant looks very closed. My rating is .... don't stay.

Room Tip: I choose not to place the photos of our room and buildings on display. :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour NSW
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Wish I had read these reports before deciding to stay here. No cockroaches, but lots of flies greeted us.
Very run down, neglected, uncared for. Such a shame as the rooms are spacious, good size bathroom, but dirty.
The bathroom had huge cracks all down the shower wall, plus a big jagged piece broken off the soap dish.
Not even a teaspoon to stir the tea!!
3 light bulbs missing, so we had to keep moving them about so we could see.
No chair at the desk, had to poach some from outside we could sit down and eat.
Said it was booked out, but barely anyone here and certainly no one in reception. A barely coherent person on the phone when we booked in.

Room Tip: Don't come here unless there is absolutely no where else to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Picton Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Valley Motel

Address: 1665 Remembrance Dr, Picton, New South Wales 2571, Australia (Formerly White Waratah Retreat)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Valley Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Picton Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picton Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.