We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guthega Alpine Hotel

Guthega Alpine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guthega Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Guthega Alpine Hotel
Guthega, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Spectacular location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow!!! Having stayed here close to 10 years ago I'd almost forgotten about this place but back in Perisher for a weekend this year we skied in for lunch. This place has come along way from my last visit and the views and location still cannot be beaten. Compared to the over priced, very average lunch on offer at any of the Perisher owned eateries this place wins hand down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    4
    16
See reviews for
12
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had lunch here 10 years ago and decided we would like to stay at this European style hotel/lodge and are now completely hooked. It was the first time our 2 young children had seen snow. My 5 year old is now checking the snow cams on the ipad every morning wanting to go back. Nick & Jenny made us all feel welcome and we had such a great stay.

The room was warm,clean and comfortable, with everything required after a day out in the snow/skiing. The view out of the window was magic, with the snow falling on the mountain, what a setting The meals were plentiful and tasty, with a personal touch The fire was a place to relax in the afternoon/evening and discuss our days adventures. I felt very at home and relaxed with the fact that the children were very safe wondering around the lodge, visiting the TV room and making friends.

Nick helped us plan our days activities with lots of suggestions to keep the children entertained. They all had a ball tobogganing down the driveway after the huge snow dump. The staff are all friendly and helpful, they obviously enjoy working at Guthega Alpine Inn.

On our last evening it SNOWED, approx. 25-30cm and as this was the first big snowfall our cars were parked near the hotel. Nick and Jenny helped us get down the mountain and Nick took us all the way to Kosciusko Road intersection which was very generous as he had already done the run earlier that day for other guests.. We had a 4 WD thus no chains, but with road tyres on it was still very scary.( I will take chains next time just in case...).

I would highly recommend a stay here if you are used to staying in more boutique style accommodation, with more personal style of service. We will be back...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menzie2
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the guthega alpine inn in November while attending a yoga retreat (which was a wonderful experience). When I read some of the reviews on trip-advisor I was dreading staying at the accommodation to the extent that I didn't tell my somewhat unwilling partner how horrible the hotel was likely to be. I was greatly relieved to find modest but clean accommodation with beautiful views, surprisingly good food and very friendly helpful service. I don't know whether the hotel has changed hands again but we found the owners to be friendly, helpful and pleasant - nothing at all like some of the reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I visited the Guthega Hotel for lunch after skiing over from Blue Cow. While the food wasn't cheap it was no more expensive than the resort charges, and it was much better quality. The service was friendly and the views out over the main range were beautiful. It was nice to be away from the crowds and average food at the main resort restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our first trip to the Australian Alps could have ended in disaster, if we didn't have help from the very kind Guthega Alpine Inn staff. We had a problem with our snow chains on the way to Guthega and got stuck in the middle of the road, but everything was sorted out because Nick promptly came to help us, and in the next day, he even offered to go all the way to Jindabyne to have the snow chains changed for us. In addition to this big gesture of kindness, the staff was very welcoming and provided us a really pleasant stay. The Guthega Alpine Inn has a warm atmosphere, great food and stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stay here on our annual boys ski trip every year. Nick and Jenny provide us with great service and really make sure we are comfortable. As house guests we even have lounges by the fire and bar seating reserved for us when we come in from skiing which is a very nice touch and much apprieciated.

If we need a hand with tuning our gear Nick is always very keen to help.

Stay here and you WILL be looked after!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A week at the Guthega Alpine Inn was sensational - so close to the T-Bar - warm boots to put on every morning after a wonderful breakfast that was swift and served by attentive, friendly staff. Upon return, it was great to reminisce with Nick and Jenny about the exhilaration of skiing the mountain. Saturday afternoon live entertainment was akin to any great bar in Canberra. Evenings by the fireside, in deep conversation with other guests, whose professional backgrounds made it an intellectual feast, which complemented Jenny's culinary skills - the 3 course dinner varied every night and the kitchen was only to happy to adapt according to my requests. My room had a spectacular view and was fitted with all one could wish for after a full day's skiing. I would not stay anywhere else. Fantastic hosts, well-trained staff, a wine list clearly selected for quality and an ambience reminiscent of Europe. Thank you Nick and Jenny - I will be a regular returnee and you have my whole hearted recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for a bath - it is bliss after a full day on the mountain! The views are awesome whereever you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guthega Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guthega Alpine Hotel

Address: Guthega, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guthega Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guthega Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.