We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kooloora Ski Lodge Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kooloora Ski Lodge Accommodation
Perisher Village, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights..... Previous weekend visit we stayed elsewhere..... Found Kooloora online and thought we'd give it a go.......completely won us over. Great staff!!! Great accomodation!!! FABULOUS meals!!!!! The distance from the lifts is not an issue with the arvo transfers..... Loved it so much we're heading back for a spring trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Beautiful views, great on snow accomodation with friendly helpful staff and great tasty food. Unfortunatleyseveral family that let their kids run rampid and act ferrel in the afternoons and at mealtimes made it very uncomfortable. There excuse "we are on holidays"....well so were the rest of the guests!

I would stay again, but will check on how many kids are there first. I felt like I was in a preschool on 2 nights and hibernated to my room as lounge area was over run and noisy. Even then kids ran up and down hallways knocking on doors.

My last night was better as the ferrel kids had left. Rooms were beautiful .......

PS: I am a parent and felt that this was unexecptable behaviour and was disrecpectful to other guests and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

A small group of us stayed here mid season in 2011, Having never been to the snow, and having not found a lot of info on the lodge I was pretty nervous about whether it would be good accom. We were very pleasantly surprised. I can't say enough about the friendly staff, Matt and Jacquie are awesome, very friendly and Matt is a wicked cook. Our room was in the new wing and very nicely decorated,everything was new and clean. Great showers, and very comfy beds. TV could have had a greater range of channels but really your there for the snow, who watches TV. Food was more than impressive. From Thai noodle salad, to delicious soups, curries, steak, amazing honey mustard chicken breast, and a chocolate cake that would make max Brenner mouth water, all dinners were three courses, and brekky was always good. Occasionally taking requests (we got pancakes :-P). It is a little bit of a walk to the lifts, but its all down hill so skiing or snowboarding down is a breeze, and there was a free transfer back to the lodge after 4pm. only downsize is there isn't a bar at the lodge, but bring your own grog and u can have your own, less expensive bar. your veranda is one giant fridge so no worry about keeping your rums or beers cold. The drying room was very efficient, coats, boots gloves were always completely dry by morning (however don't spend long in there as the overwhelming foot stench kinda knocks you as u open the door ) we had a small group of 4 but met a lovely couple who stayed at the lodge at the same time. as its not a massive lodge , and dinner is served as a group it was very easy to make friends. One night all at the comedy club down the road and your all the best of mates ahaha couldn't recommend this place enough will definitely be booking in for the 2012 season.

Room Tip: all are as good as the rest, we stayed downstairs and in the new wing and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Kooloora is one of the more competitively-priced places to stay at Perisher. Positives include very clean, new decor, smart bathrooms with excellent showers and a friendly manager ever prepared to summon up Hans's Oversnow to take you to the centre of the resort.
But it isn't entirely cosy. The dining/sitting area has bright overhead lighting and a fake fire and is dominated by an enormous television that always seems to be on (but, a big disappointment to the political junkies among us, it allowed access to many crap channels but oddly not to the mainstream Australian channels, or Sky, the BBC etc - the same was true of the televisions in the bedrooms) . The bad acoustics in the dining area also made it very very noisy at dinner. The building was also invariably overheated while we were there and it was impossible to correct this by opening doors onto the dining area verandah (permanently locked).
A generous cooked breakfast was a positive (as long as you turned up between 8 and 8.30). Dinner required attendance by 6.30pm, a bit early for us. The food was not bad the first night (spring rolls followed by curry) but a bit disappointing the following (tomato soup that tasted like tomato paste, pork chops and lots of pureed pumpkin). And you might avoid stacks on the slopes, but you won't avoid them on your plate - what's the explanation for this bizarre, unappetising way of serving food? Not licensed so byo the only option.
Good luck to the managers who seem to be doing well. But if you can afford it, try somewhere more charming like the Eiger Chalet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kooloora Ski Lodge Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooloora Ski Lodge Accommodation

Address: Perisher Village, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty lodging in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at Kooloora Lodge is brand new, right down the crockery, cutlery and soft furnishing. You’re just 800m from the lifts and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and dinner. You will need to make your own way down to Perisher but we’ll look after you from there.There are a variety of room configurations available and linen is provided. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, individual heat control and external opening windows. Great for hikers, mountainbikers and anglers alike, Mounties members enjoy special rates and accommodation deals at Kooloora Lodge. Call us today to make your booking for a holiday of a lifetime. But you’d better be quick, beds are filling fast and we’re expecting an awesome season this year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooloora Ski Lodge Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kooloora Ski Lodge Accommodation to your Saves list