We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi, I'm here for the snow. But inbetween...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Rider Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ski Rider Hotel to your Saves list
Ski Rider Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kosciuszko Road | Wilsons Valley, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Deal
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Muswellbrook, Australia
1 review
“Hi, I'm here for the snow. But inbetween...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staff very friendly and extremely helpful, especially when i lost my vehicle keys on the ski fields and had to organise a replacement set to be sent from 8 hrs away at short notice. Organised to have them posted and when the keys arrived SkiRider even shuttled them to the slopes so that i could spend my final day boarding instead of wasting time to and fro.
As a boarder with minimal experience, Ross from the ski shop was very helpful with equipment selection and troubleshooting, aswel as some handy tips and encouragement.
As a vegetarian (without informing staff mind you), the food offered did not lack variety or options. We never left hungry. This was contrary to what we were led to believe from poor reviews on-line or people we met whilst on the slopes who believed otherwise.

Thanks heaps, good trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass on your thanks to our staff who helped with your lost car keys, also to Ross in our Ski Hire department.
It is fantastic that you enjoyed our vegetarian options even though you did not inform our kitchen that you were vegetarian. Please note, that we cater to all special dietary requirements and a dietary requirement form should be completed upon check in.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a really good choice for the budget-conscious skier or boarder, since it's good quality at a good price, and easy access to the Perisher resort ski fields [Perisher, Blue Cow and Guthega]. The free shuttle bus makes the short trip to and from the Perisher Centre up to 9 times a day.
At the hotel, staff are very friendly and helpful. Accommodation is clean and comfortable, with tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms. For guests checking in early or wanting one last ski before departure [after check-out] there are good-sized change areas with showers and towels.
Internet access is extremely patchy, however, as the hotel location seems to be in a 'black spot'.
There are 2 bars and dining rooms, and evening entertainment usually provided - for those not too tired from the skiing... Food is plentiful, and special dietary needs catered to without fuss. They do not, however, supply lunch. But with all the food outlets and shops available a short shuttle bus ride away at the Perisher Centre, I can't regard that as a problem.
Ski Rider has a well-equipped and -staffed ski hire shop on site.
Because it's such good value for money, S/R is very popular with school groups, so check the dates and aim to avoid those busiest times!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a building, to avoid the noise of guests returning late to their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Ski Rider.
Thank you for mentioning the presence of some school groups. As a courtesy to guests our policy is to advise you of school groups, at the time you make your booking. We also endeavour to accomodate groups away from other guests staying in the hotel.
We apologise for the sometimes 'patchy' internet access. Ski Rider is located in a valley and we find that this combined with inclement weather can interfere with access. We are continually monitoring the situation to endeavour to improve access for the future.
It sounds as though you were able to utilise all our facilities and had a positive experience whilst you were here.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 for my very first snow trip. We were in a 2 share. This is basic but clean accomodation. If all you want is somewhere to sleep after a long day skiing then this is perfect. This is not a place to hang out during the day at all. No tv, bar fridge or hotel luxuries like a sauna etc, and very limited phone reception (Telstra). You have to stand out the front of the hotel in the cold to get any internet signal and make a phone call.So just be prepared to only use your phone at Jindabyne or Perisher really. We ate in the dining room for breakfast and dinner. There are no lunch options at this hotel so just be prepared. This didnt bother us as we were on the slopes all day. So much food! You will not go hungry. Breakfast is the bacon and egg type deal. You form a line and just point out what you want like you would at a bistro. Dinner was different everynight with a soup, main and dessert. We had roast dinners, parmas, pasta, slow cooked ribs, pavlova etc. Would not recommend this place for a vegetarian, the vegetables were disgusting!!! frozen veges in the micorwave basically, they tasted like dirty water. The rest of the food is nice though and plentiful. Get in early for dinner or you miss out on all the options and have to have whatever is left. By early i mean 6pm...come 7pm youll have limited choices.
It snowed at this hotel this year and was beautiful!

Room Tip: We were in room 60, closest to the main building so didnt have a long cold walk to breaky and dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you Josie. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ski Rider and we love the fact that it snowed while you were here.
It's great to hear that you were so impressed with the meals served at Ski Rider, however we are concerned that you did not enjoy the vegetables. We will look into why the choices, when you were here, did not include fresh vegetables. Vegetarians are catered for and the feedback we receive is very positive.
It is wonderful that your first snow trip was so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again at Ski Rider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great spot to stay! This was our first experience at staying at the ski rider and we were suitably impressed. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was some of the best we have experienced at a ski chalet. We had the intention of dining in the grill a couple of nights during our stay and then switching over and trying out the 3-course dining room fare. We were so impressed with the quality of the meals and the atmosphere of the grill/bar area that we could not bring ourselves to change. The room was warm with comfortable beds and a small but adequate bathroom. (better than I expected for the price) We drove ourselves up to the perisher carpark in our 4WD but the shuttle bus was available if required. The ski hire was very handy and the staff helpful. We have stayed at a few places on snow at Perisher but would definitely be booking back into the Ski Rider for our next trip!

Room Tip: We found the back rooms best as our two little boys could play in the snow and trees in the afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Ski Rider. Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this positive review which will assist others in making decisions regarding their snow holiday.
We hope to see the Simkins Family again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you're looking to visit the Australian snow fields without spendings thousands on accommodation then Ski Rider is the place! Its only a short 15 minute bus ride to Perisher, and Ski Rider offers a complementary shuttle bus to take you there and back. I've recently returned from my 4th year visiting Ski Rider, and each year i've received fantastic service from all the staff. Though the rooms are quite basic; bed, toilet, shower and heater (to dry all your snow gear), its perfect for what you need. The grill (buffet dinner) is fantastic! You have 5 or 6 different meats, fish or poultry you can choose from, which you cook yourself. Reasonably priced drinks, and a great atmosphere!
ps. choose carefully when you visits, try for outside school holidays, as ski rider does accommodate a lot of school kids. Also id suggest to bring a laptop (to watch a movie at night) and some chocolate :D

Excellent place to stay while visiting perisher, I look forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wonderful to hear you had another great time at Ski Rider and that we'll be seeing you again next year. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff especially the chefs to ensure our team keep up the good work. Good tip about staying outside of school holidays too if you're not bringing your own kids on a winter holiday. For all our guests that will be staying during future school holidays, we'll let you know at the time of booking if any groups are here at the same time and do our best to accommodate you in rooms separate from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A great place at the snow. Rooms good size for drying ski gear and still plenty of area to move around. Bathroom compact but sufficient and plenty of warm water.Tea and coffee in room was much appreciated. Dining room provided ample good food. Live entertainment for the keen. Staff friendly and very helpful. Thank goodness for the shuttle. No driving in that bad weather but still plenty of skiing with out the concern of getting off the mountain.
Ski hire and ski passes are available which is so convenient being organised before you get on the mountain.
We have a national park pass so the fee for car did not concern us. Don't forget the chains!! There is none at ski rider. Plenty of free parking. Be sure to park with room around you as you may need to put chains on to get out.
Have stayed here three times and will be back. So convenient for a great skiing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services and facilities helped maximise your on-snow time. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Good mention about the snow chains too. We don't hire them here at Ski Rider as motorists are required by law to carry them upon entry into the National Park. Thanks for the advice to other potential guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything from the exceptionally friendly and enthusiastic staff to the free shuttle up to perisher was perfect for our first experience in the snowy mountains. The onsite ski hire was fantastic and made everything so easy. The food was average but kept our tummies full after a day on the slopes. The rooms had no television but we got used to that and quickly became "pool" experts in the games room. I have to say the bedding wasnt the most comfortable and there was nothing special about the room but it did the job and we would definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have easiest access to the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are glad to read that we were able to help make your first trip to the Snowies such a memorable one. We do try to make everyone's stay as easy and comfortable as possible and have taken onboard your comments about the bedding and meals.
Can't wait to have you back again and we look forward to making your next stay even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ski Rider Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Rider Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Road | Wilsons Valley, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Rider Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 11kms from Perisher. Free parking and Free guest shuttle to lifts. Stay close to the snow without paying on-snow prices. Delicious meals, warm comfortable rooms, Free entertainment & onsite hire. Luggage holding facilities and change rooms with hot showers available for before check in or after check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ski Rider Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Rider Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.